Bobbi Brown • Nude Eye Palette • Palettes

rated 4.1(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 12/27/2013 10:41:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in a swap (so can't comment on the price) and was very happy when it came in the mail as it just looked so wearable. However, actually trying each of the shadows left a different impression.

Just like other Bobbi Brown eyeshadows, all of these shadows are well pigmented and silky feeling, and apply easily with minimal fallout. The color range is ok (good, but not spectacular) for my NC15 skin tone with neutral undertones, but I would have preferred something other than a black (Caviar) shadow in this palette as black can be too harsh, a dark brown would have been more useful to me. I don't actually use the Caviar eyeshadow but I can see how it works with all the other colors in the palette.

Pebble is a gorgeous metallic silvery taupe, this color is the one I wear the most out of all of them. Quite sheer, but that's the way I like my shimmery eyeshadows. I will actually try to find this as a single eyeshadow in the BB range when this runs out.

Navajo looked like the perfect pale nude matte highlight in the pan but went on almost invisibly with no color showing up on me at all. I guess that since it is such a similar color to my skin that I would need a paler color for a highlight. I do like this as a base for darker shadows though, it makes them glide on without any patchiness but it is not something that I would try to find a dupe of once it has gone.

Beige Linen is a pale gold metallic shadow (in some lights it almost looks like it has a yellow tint to it). Looks great when worn with a brightly colored eyeliner but a little too yellowy for my skin.

Chino is a great cool toned matte taupe shadow but I hardly wear this as it tends to look too dark on my deep set eyes (I prefer a shimmery taupe to make my eyes look brighter).

Maple Sugar is beautifully shimmery and pigmented warm gold color. This color is slightly too warm for my skintone though which is a disappointment.

I wouldn't buy this particular palette again (it is discontinued I believe) as I tend to stick with just a couple of the shadows and they will be used up faster than the others. I do love the interchangeable packaging though, so I can still use this palette for blushes or other eyeshadows when traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 11/2/2010 1:58:00 AM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is now available at CCO's, and felt the need to review also for those looking to make a possible evil-bay purchase on this. If I could give this a 3.5, I would but the below explanation is more appropriate.

Overall, love it for the replaceable palette packaging and the duo's offered. Shade-wise, it's overall flattering but as others have mentioned, some of the shimmer and metallic finishes lack pigment.

Navajo (matte)-great cool/ash undertoned lid primer. Brightens without making me appear ghastly.

Pebble(metallic)-silver/ash shimmer, more shimmer particle than pigment particle. You have to load this on to get it to show up, even then it's very subtle. If you really loaded this up over a heavy base for the eve this could be nice for a soft-silver shimmer

Chino (matte)-flat, slightly dull matte ash brown, as the name implies. decent for deepening the crease but my coloring is too peachy-warm for this to work, that said brings out the green in my eyes nicely if it does not flatter the rest of my coloring.

Beige Linen (shimmer)- nice yellow shimmer wash, very subtle.

Maple Sugar (metallic)-low pigment overall but pretty gold shimmer. Again, need to load it on, better suited for evening.

Caviar (matte)- deep blackish-brown, works nicely for a soft dark liner when used with a wet brush, but the fall-out is strong, so if you're going to line your eyes, make sure you save the rest of your makeup for afterwards. I prefer LM's Nior e/s over this and there is considerably less fall out.

BB's dark e/s's are intended to be used as a liner and do not blend out as easily as other line's of dark e/s. Her dark shadows often apply as a sheered out version of a cake, lacking the overall intensity of a cake, but coming along with the annoying fall-out of a shadow used wet but without the nice ability to blend and smoke out the line as with a traditional powder. That said, her shadows wear nicely without too much fading, when used over a base, and are near perfect for the subtle yet just enough layering on the lower lashline without looking too harsh or having the color migrate. Her shadows are some of the longest wearing products I've used for the lower lashline, without the unflattering, ageing harshness of most pencils/gels when used beneath.

I've purchased this twice, simply because I love how interchangable this palette is and the fact that while I'm not in love with all the shades, each duo has a great shade and workable 2nd shade.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crdimalla on 8/11/2010 11:02:00 PM more reviews by crdimalla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Each of these colors will be compatible with every skin tone and eye color. Each is very high quality, smooth and highly pigmented. I'm used to using a bit of water on my shadow brushes to help eyeshadow adhere to my eyelids and the brush, and was initially frustrated that that didn't appear to work with the ultrafine consistency of these eyeshadows. But I soon realized that water was not needed, these go on just fine perfectly dry and blend even better that way. I bet these would be great with a little primer.

The two lightest colors make great brow bone highlighters and overall lid bases. The solid brown is a perfect neutral base to add a touch of the caviar shade in the crease...it's really beautiful.

My favorite tones of clothing are neutrals, pale peaches, navy, black, and shades of gray and this palette worked wonderfully with those colors. My only qualm is that its very easy to overuse the darkest colors and make your eye area appear streaky.

* On a side note: This palette is perfect for those who wear a broad range of tones and colors. However, if like me you prefer to wear darker neutrals in matte finishes you may be put off by how few of these shades you can use. I'm rating this on the pretense that anyone can use these shades and they are good quality with plenty of variety.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 2/7/2010 10:33:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this palette. It is the reason I started wearing Bobbi Brown make-up. I have since purchased almost everything in her line and I have never received so many compliments. Her style is in keeping with Philosophy's "make-up optional" goal - it looks like you, only better. This kit is a great place to start. I love her "look" of a nude or natural eye with a definitive stroke of eyeliner on the upper lid, and these colours are perfect for that, and I really like using eye shadow to line my eyes. Caviar is perfect for this, wet or dry, and it works with the warm and the cool shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vittoriak on 2/3/2010 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Vittoriak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually quite a disappointment. I expect more from Bobbi Brown, to be honest! Half of the palette is junk. The shimmerwash and metallic ones are just nothing but glitters. I mean, they add a tiny little bit of sparkle on the lids before I finish my eyes, and they just barely show. Even the shimmerwash one is as horrible. These three shades are not pigmented at all and there is quite a bit of fall out.

Only half of the palette is actually decent, and those are the three matte shades (Navajo/the white one, Chino/the grey one and Caviar/the black one.). Navajo can be used as a nice and subtle brow highlight at times when you don't want anything shimmery on your face at all. Chino is an absolutely wonderful crease colour, deepens the eyes nicely. And caviar is a pretty black colour that can be used as a liner and shadow.

It's a major waste of money. After all, half of it is useless and it is far from cheap.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leung on 10/12/2009 1:04:00 AM more reviews by leung

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love love love this! It goes with any skin tone and with any thing I wear daily. Its a no-brainer for lazy days where you want to do quick makeup. It is an essential daily palette. Easy to lug around! Good for work as it is low-key and natural!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kristalove on 10/8/2009 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Kristalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

first off... this is my very first nude eye palette from BB!!

i love it. i was looking for some natural nude looks but didn't know where to start (and was too lazy to drive to the nearest BB counter). Anyways, I find myself using this everyday and have definitely put a dent in these eyeshadows. navajo doesn't really show up at all on me, so i pack it on to highlight my brow. i don't use the caviar ink eyeshadow as an eyeliner, i use a little bit to fill in my brows. i haven't experienced fall out with the shimmer shades when i apply it properly.. i have swept the shimmer eyeshadow on as opposed to "prodding" it lightly into my eyelids. sweeping=fall out. it stays on all day, and i LOVE the shade, chino. it is a perfect subtle crease color for me. i build it up to intensify my look for night-time outings.

oh and i also love the fact that it comes in a customizable 3 pan palette. i

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drexalia on 9/22/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by drexalia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I actually returned this. It just didn't have much pigment (except for the darkest shade, which is great, but it nearly all my BB palettes). Also, the shimmery shades were blah to me- fallout and just shimmer, no real color. I have since bought the new holiday palette w/ the two shadow quads and pot rouge and I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coolbabe377 on 9/22/2009 10:26:00 PM more reviews by coolbabe377

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I know what youíre thinking. This palette came out months ago, and hereís this person just getting around to reviewing it. Itís so 15 minutes ago!

I have reviewed this eye palette twice on different sites, but when it comes to MUA, I want my reviews to be especially helpful. Iím sometimes slow and painfully thorough, but Iíve noticed that a lot of the reviews I wrote right after purchasing no longer applied once I had really test driven the product. This palette is very important, because it is the first to use the exchangeable palette system with smaller shadows, the colors are really unique for a nude palette, and letís face itÖ$60 is a lot in this economy. I wanted to see what I used and what I didnít really care for. Happily, I had some negative misconceptions when I first purchased it.

Iím proud to say that nearly every well has a sizable dent in it. This is a first for me with powder anything (except my BB bronzer and light yellow powder) The shade I found to be the most ďBobbiĒ, and the most boring, Chino, has the largest dent because itís such a neutral and yet such a flattering shadow. I also use it for brow powder. I take this palette out almost every day even when Iím doing a completely different look. I use the Caviar eye shadow for eyeliner more days than not. I thought Caviar would be boring too. It is so NOT. It defines my eyes and yet looks natural. I apply a very fine line and then smoke it out or use it lightly (very lightly) in the crease. FinallyÖa black I can wear. I love Navajo as a base, and use it as a highlighter even when Iím wearing Cream Eye Shadow. Linen shimmer goes with EVERYTHING and keeps my eye shadow from being boring. I dip my brush into one of the metallics (Pebble or Maple Sugar) when I want to give a cool/frosty or a warm/sugary accent to my makeup. Every eye shadow in this palette is a winner. Thereís not a dud in the bunch.

I really think Iím finally going to hit the bottom of the well on most of these shadows. Thatís how much theyíre used, and thatís money well spent:)

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 schneeballe on 9/14/2009 12:18:00 AM more reviews by schneeballe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this product and I generally do love Bobbi Brown palettes. I found that many of the colors really didn't show up on me at all. The light shimmery colors looked nice in the pan but were more chalky than silky. Little particles of glitter were all over my cheeks after I applied and bothered my contact lenses somewhat throughout the day. I like chino (the matte, medium shade) but like MAC Aria just as much and find it has more color pay off. Just had to work too much for anything to show up then clean up all of the glitter off my face. I am taking it back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Palettes products