Illamasqua • Rich Liquid foundation • Liquid

rated 3.6(142 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sarahmedeiros on 2/24/2015 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sarahmedeiros

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy Grail, batman. I am in love. First off: I will help all of you having issues with the application. I think I have mastered it over the last few weeks.
This foundation is the fullest coverage foundation on the planet. It has a dry formula, unlike Kat Von D, so it looks like skin and not paint. The colors range everywhere from lightest fair (100) basically white, to the darkest of dark skins. I use 120, the shade is perfect. I have combo skin for reference, and have tons of acne scars and pores. This made them DISAPPEAR. I kid you not, disappear. For 53 dollars, it better...but besides the point. Here's how I apply:
First off, I use a good, but not sticky, moisturizer. I mix my sensitive skin equate cream with aloe vera, and let it dry. Then I go in with a dry primer (by dry I mean matte, however, if you have dry skin I recommend using a regular primer). I use Rimmel stay matte primer, and let it dry for about 5 minutes. Now usually I use the beauty blender for all my foundations but this one is different, thick and dry. I use my fingers! Just squeeze a bit out, allow your finger to warm it up, then begin slowly applying around the face, pushing it into any pores or scars. You won't need much, and I swear you won't need concealer either. I set this with my stay matte Rimmel powder, which keeps it matte for about 4 hours, then I touch up with blotting papers. The result will FLOOR you. Your skin will look flawless and insanely perfect, and as long as you don't use too much, it will never look cakey.
The package is very hygienic with a small tube at the end, and a bottle of this stuff should last you a year or more, and that's if you only use this foundation. So really, the price is worth it.
I will continue to rebuy this unless my skin suddenly becomes very oily, as I believe if you are insanely oily it may melt a bit or look unnatural. I still suggest trying it though, as it is incredible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Makeuphalo on 2/24/2015 4:22:00 AM more reviews by Makeuphalo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm always after a full coverage foundation that stays matte and doesn't slide off my face throughout the day and also doesn't aggrivate my acne prone skin. Although this foundation is a VERY full coverage foundation it doesn't stay matte for long and seems to slide off my face after about 5 hours wear. I use the illamasqua primer (matte) which I love and I wouldn't change but this still doesn't stop the foundation from becoming shiny (wet looking) or sliding off. This foundation would probably suit those who aren't too oily and is looking for a full coverage foundation to wear for short periods. This foundation does last but won't look like anything you put on at the beginning of the day about 8 hours later. I do wear this foundation from about 6.30am to around 5.30pm and it does last but it looks shiny, oily, wet and seems to suck up any of my other makeup such as my contour.
My routine for this foundation is the same everyday and I apply with a flat top foundation brush and buff into the skin. I found buffing this foundation in was the best way as a normal foundation brush or a beauty blender didn't even it out and it went majorly patchy. My Mac Pro long wear concealer works well this foundation and I set with a no7 translucent powder which again works well with this foundation. The finish I have is matte and looks flawless when first applied but as I've mentioned within the first hour will look wet looking and after a few hours will start sliding off.

Pros of foundation -
High/full coverage
Covers acne well without colour correction
Looks flawless when first applied
The colour selection is BRILLIANT
Works well with primers
Comes in an easy squeeze plastic tube bottle
Does not aggrivate acne prone skin

Cons -
Quite difficult to apply
Becomes oily almost instantly
Feels thick and cakey
Needs a concealer and powder to provide a complete finished look
Sticky and transferable onto almost
EVERYTHING
Will not last all day or have the same look/effect by the end of the day
Slides of oily skin types
Not a long wear foundation
Personally find it too expensive for the quality of the product

A good comparison to this foundation is Estée lauder double wear however this foundation aggravates my acne but has a better finish, stays on all day and sits better on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Multipassleeloo on 10/16/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by Multipassleeloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The quality of this foundation initially surprised me due to how minimal it looks while giving long-lasting, full coverage. I have never used a western foundation that covers this well while looking incredibly minimal (the closest I've found before this was medium). Although it was $48 it feels more like $30 for the amount you get in the bottle as you only need a small amount. Less is more with this foundation, any more and it will be like face-paint.

I've noticed reviews about how dry and hard it is to spread and I'm going to counter these. This is a second-skin foundation, not a moisturizer. It doesn't matter if your skin is smooth or not use a proper base. I have dry skin and occasionally get breakouts and I have had no problems with this foundation when using bases. If you have this foundation and it's not working with your base, using a base with Aloe Vera gel instead of a moisturizer could help.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Loskareta on 10/8/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by Loskareta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is everything to me! It is full coverage but it looks natural! Not like the Mac foundations they look bad on the skin ! But u must put a full moisturizer before u apply it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rozenacht on 8/7/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by rozenacht

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this for stage makeup. It's really thick and gives you perfect skin. I would not recommend using it for a date or clubbing as after a good night kiss it was on my date's face even though I continually repowder through out the night. You will look a bit shiney if you have oily skin so be prepared to repowder but overall a great foundation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 snottra on 6/21/2014 1:45:00 PM more reviews by snottra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Color (115) was amazing, matched my very fair skin great. Consistency was interesting, almost like caulk, but blended in very well, and not much is needed.
The bad thing is that it does not stay on the skin. I have oily skin and the foundation just melts away after just a few hours. It is supposed to work on every skintype, but no, not oily skin.
Also, expensive for not staying on skin.

Swatches here: http://ninairojiro.blogspot.se/2013/12/review-illamasqua-rich-liquid.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 europeansoul on 3/21/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by europeansoul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is seriously a terrible foundation. I bought it because it had a great shade range and 115 is a fantastic color for my slighly-lighter-than-NC15 pale skin. It's really terrible if you have any dry patches as those will only look worse and this stuff is impossible to apply! I used my fingers just so I could warm it up and it still ended up looking patchy. I couldn't bring myself to wear it out because just applying was impossible.

That said, there are some pros to this foundation and they're the reason it doesn't get the absolute LOWEST review from me. It makes for a FANTASTIC concealer. If I apply it very lightly over blemishes or under my eyes, it stays put and really does the job! As an under-eye concealer, it brightens my face and this stuff (even as a foundation) goes a looooong way, so I'm pretty sure I have enough "concealer" to last me two lifetimes. Frankly, I'm just happy I found a use for it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dollfaceexx on 3/8/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by dollfaceexx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my FAVOURITE foundation.
I have always used Revlon Colourstay as I have very red cheeks and nothing except the colour stay would hide them, but I find Illamasqua's Rich Liquid has a much better coverage and stays on longer.
Illamasqua in Australia have since lowered their prices, so at $35 I love it.

PROS:
It is really thick and heavy, but does stay on all day/night, doesn't come off when I sweat in summer, and doesn't make my skin break out.
I apply it with a flat foundation brush then blend it into my skin with just a fluffy brush and it looks perfect.
Im not sure why people are saying its not good for dry skin and goes "patchy", as my skin is extremely dry; But with a moisturiser and a good primer (napoleon autopilot is my fave) I don't get any dry patches.
Also the actual size of the product and the amount of foundation inside is quite amazing, one tube of this foundation lasts me literally a good 4-5 months with every day use, as a little goes a long way.

Only CON is that you have to squeeze it out of the tube. So when i can't squeeze any more out and think its empty, i cut it open and empty it into a small container and will get another 1 or 3 weeks use from it.

:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 brionyw on 2/17/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by brionyw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

One of the worst foundations I have ever bought. It's over priced, terrible on your skin and doesn't even last that long. My skin is quite dry, but I use a lot of moisturizing products and is usually not noticeable until I used this foundation. It caked around all the dry patches on my face, making it look far worse than it was and then after about an hour or two of wear, my skin looked terrible worse than it would have been without makeup.

The only good thing was the colour matched well to my pale, pinky complection, but otherwise it's a horrible product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissAne on 2/6/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by MissAne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the worst foundation I have ever used! It's so difficult to apply as it's so thick I tried with a brush, blender it wouldn't move! ( and I did apply a moisturiser and primer before applying.) due to having dry skin it made my dry patches stand out making my skin look awful. And not just that I reacted to this foundation as it gave me eczema on my cheek! And iv never had eczema before ever anywhere lol If you dry skin I would not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Liquid products