Dior Escale a Pondichery

4.0

15 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/6/2012 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My signature perfume, and a must for those who like well balanced grown up fresh scents.

The opening has a distinct citric note, which would be cardamom and coriander, or in other words lemony, but without the acid shapness.

The body is mainly green tea (not black, it is slightly tangy and lacks the smokey quality black tea has), suave and well blended into the fragrance, as it doesn't stand out too sharply.

The last notes are a discreet jasmine floral, which in me does not show itself sweet nor powdery .

For comparison, it does remind me of Eau a thé vert (green tea) by Bulgari (which i also love) with the tangyness toned down and a spiced citrus opening.

On me it is longlasting (8+ hours) ad nice smelling till the end. It's perfect for warm climates (i live in dry midwestern Brazil), outdoors and casual places (or workplaces) as it is elegant and discreet.

Adittionaly, although my husband finds this scent to be very sexy (giggles) I guess it would not be considered so by most, as it is not an überfeminine nor a sultry fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/14/2011 2:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Out of the 3 Escales, this is the one I wanted at first. I was completely in love with the black tea note in the perfume. Its unique, or maybe I have not smelled a perfume before with a black tea note in it. Its like a little part of India... for summer (for winter I'd suggest chanel nr 22 - with the incense note, it smells like India).
I love this spicy fresh tea smell - i really like this perfume! I would not wear it every day, but I do like it alot and will keep enjoying it on those days I feel like it until it runs out (too bad its limited edition). I will use mine sparingly :)


on 9/25/2011 7:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using it the entire summer and now into autumn as well. I always thought that lighter scents weren't my thing but when I sprayed it at a store and went back home I couldn't stop sniffing my hand. It is light at first but as it opens up it starts smelling wood-y and flower-y. I am really bad at explaining fragrances. I love this scent and will keep purchasing it and rotating with other fragrances. But I just know that I will keep coming back to it. And the bottle is classy. It works for me


on 12/7/2010 8:48:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to test Escale a Pondichery "cold" without any preconceived
notions. My mpression of it from start to finish was a light clean
cherry and rose, having similarities to Kelly Caleche in the light clean
rose. I can perceive the citrus and tea but only after others have
mentioned them. Delightful fragrance, ideal for warm weather but
very wearable all year around.


on 8/9/2010 10:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I find this to be a very classy, competent fragrance. I find the freshness of it youthful. It is quite spicy but not overwhelmingly so. There is a heavy citrus base to it and I normally detest citrus scents, but this one is well balanced and tempered by the other notes. I did not smell the tea. I mean I seriously smelled absolutely no tea. Another reviewer stated the same thing, so perhaps that note is more apparent with a certain skin chemistry. Almost immediately, it reminded me of a lemony version of Chance by Chanel. It was as if someone removed some of the florals from Chance and infused it with a lemon scent, that's Escale a Pondichery. Pink pepper meets lemon. This is summer scent material for sure, elegant yet not offensive. The edt is light and lasted about half a day. The throw was decent. I prefer to only be smelled when people are standing close to me, not a mile away! This fragrance has a pleasing subtlety when it comes to that. This was a gift, and I'm not sure I would've bought this for myself. In terms of fragrance, I'm more of a "soft & creamy" girl. This perfume is " fresh & spicy". It's gorgeous, but not me. I would however recommend this to anyone that enjoys citrus fragrances.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2010 6:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a lovely, light and breezy scent for hot summer months. Citrus notes mixed with tea. Despite the name, there is really nothing in the fragrance that puts one in the mind of exotic locales. It's quite elegant and sparkling and although it could never be number one in my mind, there is certainly a time and place for it. The bottle is absolutely lovely; they did a good job on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2010 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely. Lovely. Lovely.
Black tea is so wonderful to smell, I could wear this on any sunshine day. I call this the Eau Sauvage for women. This is no frilly dress fragrance. I will look forward to the Escales Marquises coming this summer:)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2010 1:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this fragrance at the same time as Hermes Un Jardan Sur Le Nil and I like both of them but I think I like the Hermes scent better. But I do like this scent. I can definitely smell the tea in it and it is really fresh and clean smelling. I think it will be a great scent for summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2010 7:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I stopped at the Dior counter because I had been very curious about this scent. I stopped and sprayed this on one arm and, just for good measure, Portofino on the other as I had never given it a proper test run. I loved this when I first sprayed it. It had a gorgeous earl grey tea smell. However, I gave it a few minutes to settle in and it turned into a yucky spicy mess. Surprisingly, I ended up loving the Portofino and went back for a bottle an hour later. L'Occitane Bergamot Tea has a similar tea note without the spiciness and I much prefer it to Escale a Pondichery.


on 12/29/2009 6:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This reminds me of Bulgari's Eau Parfumee au The Rouge. It is a similar idea of "tea". However, I don't find any of them to be a truthful interpretation of tea which is a pity. It is a pleasant scent though, soft and not without sophistication. On me it is citrus on a base of "tea idea". I find the citrus elements really well-done but the fake tea disturbs me.
EDIT (2010/02/11): I have to upgrade it from 3 to 4 - I am contemplating buying a bottle. I have grown to find it a very pleasant citrus - tea combo, I'd like to wear it once the weather gets hot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1363 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top