Make Up For Ever • Aqua Smoky Lash - Extra Black • Mascara

rated 3.3(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Becky12 on 9/10/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Becky12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am a waterproof mascara junkie and thus far, this stuff has been pretty great. I didn't have smudging issues or flaking and it withstood the "washing my face with warm water and rubbing my eyes" test just fine. I haven't taken it swimming yet, but I'm mostly concerned with it withstanding my watery eyes and me taking my contacts in and out. I put both this and Maybelline Falsies Waterproof (my current norm) on to compare for a day and I thought this not only looked better, but actually had just a bit better staying power. It would have gotten five lippies if it had been a little less stiff (not crunchy, just stiff), but that doesn't bother me and I'll buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MarissaRae on 7/22/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by MarissaRae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

While this mascara provided volume for my lashes, it did not last very long. It smudges very easily and is not something you want to wear in the Arizona heat or anywhere that has heat and humidity. I was very disappointed in this mascara.
Not only did the volume not stay and the mascara smudge, I ended up allergic to the mascara as well. I know that is not the product's fault, but I would not recommend this for someone with sensitive eyes.
I will not be purchasing this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amyharun on 7/5/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by amyharun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was so disappointed, it looks good after application, and sadly it transfers to your under eye after an hour or so. I tried twice and both times it flakes. Its also very thick and it smudges. Cheap drug store mascaras does better job than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fnspam on 6/4/2013 8:38:00 PM more reviews by fnspam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this on my birthday shopping spree at Sephora on 5/29 ESPECIALLY for a swim party on 6/2. Was all excited and didn't even mind the 2 days before when it was such a gloppy pain to apply cause I KNEW it would be totally waterproof. I'm old and scraggly now and I really wanted new waterproof eye products for this event so I "would feel pretty". I was SO mad when I got out of the pool and looked in the mirror and saw a big horrible mess.
This stuff might be water resistant and last through a photo shoot or wedding or a good cry... but it is NOT waterproof and will not last through a swim.The liquid eyeliner was bad too. For the price I paid... I AM LIVID. I'm going back to drugstore brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enchantedlullaby87 on 4/30/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by enchantedlullaby87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I have a very oily eye area and full medium length lashes. This mascara hold a curl like no other. It does not clump and it volumizes with out that spidery effect. For me it was my lashes but better! This mascara is black as can be and adds drama. It may not work as well for someone with sparse lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 2/10/2013 7:28:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At first I liked this mascara. It has a huge, fluffy brush, and looks super rich and black. It volumizes like crazy. Unfortunately, it flakes a bit, and after a month or so of opening it, it now clumps, even on the first coat. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cev on 1/29/2013 10:48:00 PM more reviews by cev

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This was recommended for me at Sephora as a long lasting mascara. I do not recommend this for anyone with oily skin. Within 2 hours, all the mascara smeared off of my lashes and gave me the dreaded raccoon eyes. I tried again with a mattifying foundation applied around my eyes prior to applying mascara. It made the mascara last maybe an hour longer. I will say that the mascara did go on with no clumping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teukbook on 11/15/2012 1:31:00 AM more reviews by teukbook

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I know mascara has a short shelf life and usually isn't something to spend on, but I lovelovelove MUFE's mascara. I have not very visible lashes and MUFE makes them skyscraper long and seriously volumizes them. I don't even have to curl them and they are total bombshell lashes. The formula is wetter than drugstore brands (which just don't work for me) and the brush is great for separating my lashes. Also, I have very sensitive eyes and most other mascaras irritate them but not MUFE. I've used a lot of drugstore and higher-end mascaras and this is my favorite. The original Smoky Lash formula is great too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tinyvessels on 11/14/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by tinyvessels

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

my lashes are noticeably longer after applying the first coat.

It isn't *super* black. It's a good everyday mascara if you're looking for a "natural" look. Unfortunately, you can only apply a couple coats before your lashes start becoming spider lashes :(

at the end of the day, it still smudges a little under my eye/in the corner. it's also pretty easy to take off
i like it enough to keep using it, but I wouldn't buy it again for $23.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 candace4125 on 9/27/2012 2:47:00 PM more reviews by candace4125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is okay, nothing special. The makeup artist at Sephora convinced me to get this mascara over a YSL one I have been wanting.

Pros:
*Lengthens eyelashes
*Does not smear or smudge
*Very black

Cons:
*Makes eyelashes straight, adds no curl
* Very difficult to remove
*Cheap packaging

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Mascara products