Sally Hansen • Nail Art Pen • Polishes

rated 2.0(47 reviews)

Average Rating.2.0
Would buy this product again.21%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 tbabi on 4/20/2013 12:01:00 AM more reviews by tbabi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the same experience with these nail art pens others here do.

I bought the black and white ones from Wal-mart hoping that it would be easy to do cute designs with. It's easy to do designs but the white one is see through you have to do many coats to get it to show up. Once you finish your design and you put a top coat over it as directed, it smudges all over. I tried giving it time to dry but it doesn't help either.

I don't know what to do with them. I just have them sitting around. I'm gonna try them again and see what happens.. perhaps try different top coats I don't know. The idea is awesome but I think it's the water-based thing that makes it bad.

Don't purchase this. Save your money cuz they are quite expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beckaaayyy on 11/16/2012 12:31:00 AM more reviews by beckaaayyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought these in black and white with high expectations considering they were about $10 each, and boy was I disappointed. Keep in mind that these are water based; i didn't know that at the time of purchase. They go on pretty smooth, but as soon as you put a top coat on it smears the living daylights out of the design, making all of your detailed work totally pointless. To add to that, the white has to be gone over a few times because it does't come out opaque. I definitely WAS NOT impressed with these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lil_Mamma_001 on 11/15/2012 11:41:00 PM more reviews by Lil_Mamma_001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I always seen this in the store. I'd look at it every time but would always pass it up. I finally decided to stop torturing myself and got the one in black. I was super excited when I seen the pen like applicator and had really high hopes for it. The first time i tried it my base coat was dry and I applied the designs on every nail and went to bed hoping it would hopefully dry overnight. I woke up with the designs smudged all over the nail, me and probably the sheets too. What a disappointment.

The second time I had put a clear coat over it a few mins after applying the desings with the pen and the clear coat nearly took it all off.

I also notice that this bleeds or feathers. When I think of nail art pen I think of something similar tothe consistency of polish, maybe a hair thinner for better art design application. But the Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen is not really runny but just more like ink. Not the consistency of polish where it actually dries. I like the little applicator but these nail pens are a complete fail.

They retial at Walmart for $7 USD. A little expensive for the size and quality. I wouldnt recommend this to a friend, much less an enemy. The only way I'd repurchase is iff they changed the entire formulation and came way down on the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Hxcookie on 7/17/2012 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Hxcookie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought one of these in white and its practically see through on any color nail polish, doesn't come off easy, requires shaking (VIGOROUS) and it's messy when it does come off, And goes on weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TeresaAnn on 6/24/2012 12:20:00 PM more reviews by TeresaAnn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product doesn't stream together smoothly in lines, it bubbles up and clumps together. I feel like an idiot because I bought 2 of these at the same time. Save your money--stick to dotting tools & toothpicks. I wish I could post pictures of how miserably it failed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AllThingsGirly11 on 6/24/2012 1:11:00 AM more reviews by AllThingsGirly11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Black    

I was SO excited to buy this product, and now I am just sad :(. It's a great idea, but doesn't work so well. The first time I used it, I had to press down so hard to get anything out that I was leaving indents in my nail polish. That was a bummer, had to repaint my nail. So I put it away for a little while and just about an hour ago I decided to paint my toe nails and I found the white pen I had gotten. I drew some pretty flowers and polka dots- super cute. I let the white dry and then went to apply the shiny top coat....flowers?! what flowers???? The top coat completely obliterated my flowers and polka dots. But I figure hey, I'll just dip the damn pen in actual white nail polish and tada, problem solved, money a liiiittle less wasted. Won't be buying anymore of these any time soon though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jitney on 6/22/2012 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Jitney

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pen in black. The polish was watery and runny, like ink from a fountain pen. I understand making the polish thinner so that it's easier to draw intricate designs with, but this is just ridiculous. This product is NOT for nail art newbies - it's inky and runs all over your nail - no matter how careful you are. Regardless of my negative first-time experience, I gave it another try on a friend. That's when the entire pen oozed black ink all over my legs, hands, and nails. I had to soak my limbs in 100% acetone. This is the worst product for nail art - stick to the traditional nail polish and fine tip brush method.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bubblykid1998 on 6/17/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by bubblykid1998

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this nail art pen (gold) to start of my my first nail design. The formula was pretty good except the pen itself was disturbing. After the first time of use, I had to press the bottle lightly upon the tip and it leaked a huge dallop of polish on my nail. The size would be probably the amount of polish a regular nail polish brush would hold when it is directly taken out of the bottle without being swiped. That is a lot and it ruined my skin plus the design underneath. It wasn't worth the 10 CAD I payed for it. Overall, it was an semi-okay product from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 orangetwigletss on 6/1/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by orangetwigletss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i got this on an impulse- i wanted it in white for easy french tips, but i didn't realize until after i opened it that it was silver. i wish the packaging was more specific about the color, because i had to come up with a different use for the pen. the product is easy to use and actually works pretty well, at least for the first few hours. i used a base coat, a coat of black polish, and a top coat, but the silver was almost all gone by the morning. all in all, i'm pretty disappointed with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nkar23 on 5/31/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by nkar23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this in the white specifically for french mani/pedi's and it worked well for that purpose. it looks way better on toes bc its easier to control. i can never do my left hand !!! it looks bad. i need more practice. it's a good product though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products