L'Oreal • Clean Artiste • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 3.8(60 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sdavis42 on 8/25/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by sdavis42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

literally burns my eyelids

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlawedAngel on 7/9/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by FlawedAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't use the word lightly, but this is really an identical dupe to Lancôme's famous Bi-Facil eye makeup remover. Both products are oil free, have the same look, feel and scent. Oh and they are both made by the same company (L'Oreal). I used to buy Lancôme makeup sometimes just to get the GWP Bi-Facils actually. Anyway, I have purchased this for years and it always easily removes my eye makeup with a gentle press of a cotton round. No burning or stinging, no tugging and repeated swiping necessary. I love that the oil free formula does not leave my eyes with an irritating oil residue (I'm aware that some people really love oil for cleansing and m/u remover, but I find it really bothers my eyes). The scent (a faint rose fragrance), is a hallmark of the identical Lancôme product. If you don't like it, you definitely won't like this! However, I actually like the fragrance and find it quite pleasant and mild, which is odd because fragrance in skincare is usually a migraine inducing no-no for me. One note, I don't wear heavy eye makeup: never waterproof mascara, no heavy liners etc or dark e/s shades. I noticed this product got a few poor ratings here, and I think that's way. This eye m/u remover could be problematic for those who do use heavier/darker eye m/u than I. But it is great for light eye m/u, and at about $7.00 for a 4 oz bottle, it is wallet friendly. Also, the CVS version of this is identical to the L'Oreal, often comes in larger bottles and is even cheaper. Will happily continue to repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarah_417 on 3/12/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product works well for me. It isn't the best at removing waterproof mascara though. A trick I learned on youtube helped me to use this product though.
To remove waterproof mascara, saturate a cotton round with the remover. With a closed eye, hold the saturated round against your lid, allowing the product to "break up" the mascara. I usually hold it there for 15-20 seconds per eye. (longer for stubborn mascaras like Benefit's They're Real) Then gently pat the eye area.
Using this technique has really helped me with this product.

I do like how this leaves skin feeling clean. Other products I have tried leave a greasy feeling to my skin that can be difficult to rinse off.

Although, I do prefer the Maybelline clean express makeup wipes. (they are pricier in the long run though) Price wise, the L'oreal works well. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KathieL on 3/6/2014 6:30:00 PM more reviews by KathieL

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff. Given that I love the LancĂ´me version and they are the parent company, the formulation must not be that far off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 osumom on 10/5/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by osumom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Horrible at removing waterproof mascaras. I seriously can't understand how this gets any positive reviews unless I bought there's a bad lot going around right now. Even with rubbing and rubbing mascara will not remove. Causing wrinkles trying to remove!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foryoursmile on 9/6/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by foryoursmile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have the little green bottle of this, which is made for waterproof makeup. This is a fairly easy cleaner to use, simply shake up the bottle (to fuse the different components or some such), dab some one a cotton ball, hold over eye region for a few seconds and wipe your makeup off. Despite the title, for waterproof mascara and long-lasting eyeliner this takes a little more scrubbing to take totally off. I have been using this remover for the past few months daily and am only a little more than halfway through the bottle, so despite its size this has been lasting me. I dislike the "childproof" medicine bottle-like cap, where you have to push down and twist to open. I feel that that was an unnecessary element. The big CVS bottle I;ve had before this was just a normal twistoff cap, and that suited me just fine, not like the product leaked any with it.

But this is a nice non-irritating remover and I would consider repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 csquared87 on 7/28/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by csquared87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Worst makeup remover I've ever used. I usually use the Neutrogena wipes but ran out. My roommate had this and let me use it but I might of well used soap and water. To get off mascara and eyeliner you would literally need to use half the bottle. Not to mention you basically have to scrub your eye lids. I will never use it again or recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lauraasti on 7/4/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Lauraasti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Eh, wasn't for me. Stung my eyes a lot and I had to really rub it on my eyes, and it still didn't get everything off. I found myself using a tissue afterwards to finish what it didn't do. Not bad for spot-fixing with a Q-tip though. The wide mouth of the bottle also allows too much product to come out at once, in my opinion. I finished the bottle and quickly moved on to another brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatrionaShadowleaf on 6/13/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by CatrionaShadowleaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I finally finished a bottle of this product after a couple years and I need to go find another. It's perfect for spot-fixing with a q-tip and doesn't sting my eyes. It's not moisturising, so it doesn't make my eyelids feel any better, but they don't really feel worse either. It cleans everything off with no troubles. The only problem with it is if it knocks over with the lid loose or off, you pretty much have to go get a new bottle. It has a wide mouth and it'll just start gushing out.

It IS hard to find for some reason. After my misstep with Almay's I'm going to try harder, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ohh2pretty on 3/18/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Ohh2pretty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The BEST eye makeup remover at ANY price! This stuff removes my stubborn long-wearing Stila eyeliner in just a couple of sweeps of a cotton ball. Believe me, when I say I have tried removers ranging in price from $4.00 to $32.00...This is the BEST hands down. No messy residue, no stinging, rinses clean. I love, love, love it. As a person who uses a lot of liquid liner (winged effect) as well as lining my bottom lid with an Urban Decay kohl liner and tons of mascara nearly everyday- I know what I'm talking about. I gave minus one lippy for the packaging- I like a smaller spout (like on Rimmel) because if you tip this over- its gone. Otherwise, this product will not disappoint.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Makeup Remover products