Sonia Kashuk • Dramatically Defining Long Wear Gel Liner • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sarahjuang on 7/24/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Sarahjuang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is an ok gel liner but I think the Elf gel liner and the Mac fluidline are much better. This gel liner is semi-pigmented, flakes a little and is not a very smooth application. I find that I have to go over the line multiple times to get a full black line on my lid and it is not the most long wearing eyeliner I have used. The eyeliner is not very soft and can be difficult at times to have a smooth application. I gave this a 3 because it has some small problems but are easily fixable. I would not buy this product again because I think you get more out of the Elf gel liners or the Mac gel liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 4/28/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first purchased this I loved it. I have Ebony and it is a dark black color that is beautiful. The formula was great and easy to work with. But I've had this for two months and it is getting thick and hard to work with. I've tried mixing with a brush, I've tried smaller brushes, but I can't make it work. So much has been wasted I don't think I'd buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 10/9/2012 1:35:00 PM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this eyeliner. Gel/cream eyeliners are my favorite and I have used lots of brands. This one really let me down. It streaks and flakes. The consistency is not as smooth as MAC Fluidline and it takes longer to dry down.

The wear time is below average for a gel...3-4 hours, tops.

I would not bother trying this again.

Edit: Tried this one more time to be sure...had terrible reaction. Eyes watered and felt sticky and irritated all day.
This is NOT the eyeliner for sensitive eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sofia9714 on 10/2/2012 12:14:00 PM more reviews by sofia9714

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall I did not like this product. It didn't just take a while to dry, it didn't dry at all. if I touch my eyes at all, or they get a little watery, the eyeliner slides right off. It smudges badly and is difficult to apply. The packaging is cute, but I don't think the product is worth it, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itzmarylicious on 7/24/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by itzmarylicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a great dupe for Bobbi Brown's gel eye liner without the high price! I bought this 3x and loved it all 3x. It produces the same results and staying power. Nothing bad to say about this. I agree with the previous reviewer, this one didn't dry out as fast as the Bobbi Brown version. So that is even a bigger plus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 STsalim on 7/8/2012 3:03:00 PM more reviews by STsalim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this liner over a year ago and it still hasn't completely dried out! I think the key to keeping gel liners pliable is closing them as soon as you've gotten the product onto your brush and sealing them tightly. The liner was under $10 at my local Target so the price was fine. However, the liner was not as inky black as I would have hoped. In all this liner was a good buy, lasted a long time but did not provide the color payoff I was looking for. I will be trying the Maybelline gel liner to compare. However, I would not discourage others from trying this liner. I've previously used Bobbi Brown's gel liner and found that it dried out far faster than the Sonia Kashuk version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thathoneydip on 4/20/2012 10:27:00 AM more reviews by thathoneydip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i am a gel/cream liner fanatic. ive been using the type of liner ever since i discovered it probably 5 years ago. what can i say? i fell in love. So, since then, ive tried numerous different gel/cream liners. i decided to give the sonia kashuk one a try, so i purchased it in ebony. This one is pretty good. i wouldnt wear it for extended long wear just because it flakes off after a period of time. but it would hold up for me up to 5hours no problem. its not as creamy as others, but workable. the fact that it stays the same consistency ( not drying out ) definitely makes up for it. ive had mine for i'd say about 5 months now, i used to use it every other day because i was using my estee lauder one, which is much more creamier and longer lasting. i bought both at the same time. used it both as much ( estee lauder's gel liner is pretty pricey, almost $20 i believe. so i tried to salvage lol ) however, my estee lauder one has dried out now, being almost half a year since ive purchased. the sonia kashuk one has pulled away from the sides a little, but overall it is STILL the same consistency. So definitely give it props for that. Color pay off is pretty good. would i repurchase again for 8.99 ? ( at target ) eh.. maybe not. i'd rather invest in a few more dollars and purchase the clinique one instead. THAT gel liner lasted me about a year without drying out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xosugar on 8/10/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by xosugar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the worst gel eyeliner I have ever tried. It smudges, which is a problem I never have with L'Oreal's gel eyeliner. I normally don't have a problem with my eyeliner smearing all over the place, my skin is normal and occasionally gets a little dry. Not a fan of this product AT ALL. It's not as black as the L'Oreal one either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 justemmabemma on 7/16/2011 3:26:00 PM more reviews by justemmabemma

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i have this liner in 'charcoal gray' or something like that, lol. i apply it with my sk bent liner brush.

this a mehh product for me. . . yes, the liner is opaque...a nice rich gray.

BUT.. by the end of the day i looked in the mirror & was shocked to find that my eyeliner has almost completely faded away! i was left with gray flakes here and there. i don't know why this happened (i used udpp that day).

so if youre looking for a liner that isnt necessarily longwearing (even tho its called a long-wearing gel liner?) and is opaque, that you might like this. otherwise i don't reccomend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IheartTooFaced77 on 5/16/2011 3:26:00 PM more reviews by IheartTooFaced77

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

My best friend and I went shopping at Target, I went to the SK isle and I was looking at the blushes, and the brushes. I was just browsing and seen the gel eyeliners. I hate liquid eyeliner, I always have used a pencil for lower and upper lashline [including waterline and tightline]. Well I asked him should I get a blush or eyeliner, his response was 'You can barely see blush get the black eyeliner, it's sexy' O.o
Anyway I tried it as soon as I got home and MAN! It was amazing!
And it has been ever since! I even had a cry with it on and it didn't move! Today I took a nap with it on, and when I woke up it didn't smear, smudge, run down, anything! I even put it on my waterline [I know, bad] and when I woke up it didn't go off! It's been on for 5 hours and it hasn't moved! Will be repurchasing again! [BTW, I use the bent eyeliner brush from SK to apply this with]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonia Kashuk products

More Eyeliner products