Dolce & Gabbana • Perfect Finish Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 4.2(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proflady on 2/18/2014 12:23:00 AM more reviews by proflady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am on my second compact of this powder foundation. Yes, I finished one and bought another, something I never do. It is THAT INCREDIBLE. The best powder foundation that I have ever tried, and I generally dislike powder foundations. Ivory, the lightest shade, is a perfect match for my NW10 skin. I have dry skin with combo areas and some shine on my chin and nose. Most powder foundations cake or look unnatural on my skin, but not this one. It is smooth and supernaturally not powdery, and so it gives a gorgeous finish. However, what I love most is its versatility. I can buff it into my skin and spray with rosewater or a setting spray for a very natural look. Perfection. I can apply with a damp sponge for heavier coverage. I can use it to set sheer foundations, and it makes pores disappear and evens everything out. By far my very favorite use is as a setting powder for concealer. This may sound like a less exciting way to use it, but it sets undereye concealer in an almost magical way for me, adding a little coverage, smoothing and evening everything, and keeping my concealer in place all day. I also use it to set the concealer around my nose or on other small areas, and my skin stays perfect all day! A genius product. There is already a dip in my new compact, and I can't imagine that I won't replace this every time I run out.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acorn22 on 9/22/2013 3:01:00 AM more reviews by acorn22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am seriously in love with this foundation powder. Like a reviewer below I also use this wet for the most beautiful finish I have ever achieved from a foundation powder - and yes I've used many from Laura Mercier to Chantecaille. I have a little spray bottle which I fill with Evian water. To use I just spray my kabuki brush (one by Chanel but my Real Techniques buffing brush also works well) with the water then dab the brush into the powder and buff merrily into my skin. Wait a couple seconds for the Evian to fully evaporate and voila I'm left with skin I wish I was naturally blessed with. Redness, post blemish marks and unevenness are erased and the compliments on my 'lovely' skin roll in. I use the shade Warm 100 (I'm roughly around a MAC NC20-25 neutral to warm undertones). Love the convenience of this powder for travelling. Couple of things to keep in mind though - moisturise well (especially if you are in any way dry) and only use powder blush, bronzer and highlighter over this (cream based products with ruin the finish).

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 7/30/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i sadly, regrettably had to return this today. i purchased this in "tan 140" for my NC42 skin but unfortunately there is ZERO yellow undertones to this powder. im giving it 4 stars because, used wet, this is seriously fabulous. you want that flawless airbrushed look? use this WET (i didnt use the sponge it came with, i used one of those wedge ones from the ds)! used dry it gives very minimal coverage, which is usually fine with me but i am not paying $59.00 + tax to get that natural look with this-i was in the market for a upscale foundation for special events. this really delivers. gave me a smooth canvas and lasted ALL night on my super oily skin. the downside is that its WAY too WHITE for my yellow/golden under toned skin. this shade would be a perfect match if there was some golden tones in it, i would have kept it. the next shade up "bronze" would have been too dark for NC42 and i have a feeling that would have zero yellow tones in it too. so if you don't need yellow tones in it, BUY this powder! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashley2011 on 12/2/2012 8:05:00 PM more reviews by ashley2011

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Looks natural with buildable coverage. I am a mac NC 20, the color 70 natural works for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hina1983 on 8/22/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by hina1983

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of the best powder foundations I've used. It comes in a variety of colors, so it's easy to find a match. I use the color "soft" - as a reference I am a C2 in MAC studio fix, 04 in Giorgio Armani powder foundation, and bisque in Tom Ford's foundation stick. I find that the dolce powder foundation provides buildable coverage. I like to having full coverage with a matte foundation, and this will do that. If you want something very sheer, this will do that too. I have combination skin, and this lasts a full 5-6 hours before I need to use any blotting paper in my t-zone area. I use it with moisturizer and primer under, and find that helps it best stay put. I've used it dry, however, I find it works best when used wet. I use it with a large kobuki brush with a spritz of Evian's mineral water spray. I find it takes about 30 minutes or so to completely dissolve into my skin (vs. GA powder foundation which sinks in immediately) - but once it sinks in it looks flawless. I have and will continue to purchase this again and again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 olivia6hl on 8/16/2012 12:24:00 PM more reviews by olivia6hl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Does this D&G powder foundation smell like sweat? Or is it just me? I asked my hubby to smell and he goes, "it's not something I would like to smell." Not only you want to get a good canvas from a good foundation, you would like to smell nothing or smell good. Please users of this foundation confirm I am not crazy if I smell an odor putting the foundation on. (I purchased this in person from a nearby Saks Fifth Avenue. So supposedly the product isn't expired?)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChloeYoung on 6/28/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by ChloeYoung

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is probably the best foundation I've tried,I got it in #50, which is the lightest shade with pink undertone.first demand I have for compacts:not drying.and DG is anything but drying.it takes away all the oily sheen on my face and leaves a refreshed complexion, like I just cleaned my face in the morning--the natural glow of fine skin,not matte,not pearly glow.and no trace of powder can be found(when I am using DG, my boyfriend can't tell I am wearing makeup)
but the miracle only lasts 6 hours,so remember to touch up.
the packaging is luxurious,gives you the delusion that it's worth every penny, the golden metal case may be a little too heavy in the purse,so I usually don't take it with me ,I've got chanel vitalumiere compact powder with me ,which is much lighter to carry around.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 radleyas on 5/20/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by radleyas

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation. I'm very fair, with pinkish undertones. I don't use MAC, so I can't really say what my MAC color would be. Anyway, I have this in Classic. It's the perfect color for my skin. I have dry-ish skin now, and this powder foundation does not make my skin look dryer, but goes on like silk. This is so finely milled that, even though it's a powder, it goes on almost creamy. It doesn't settle into fine lines, nor does it sit on top of them. It just goes on in a way that makes you look like you have perfect skin.

The packaging is very nice. The compact is gold, and a bit heavy in your hand. It feels solid and substantial. The whole thing is very pretty. There's a faint scent of rose, which is lovely.

Although the product is pricey, I will keep buying this. I'm on my second compact already. Foundation is your base canvas, and I just can't put a price on that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 simplyxjosey on 3/21/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by simplyxjosey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

GOSH-DARNIT... this foundation was expensive!! Which is why I wish I loved it more. I had such high hopes for this. I thought it would be my HG med-full coverage powder foundation. Unfortunately, it did not live up to the price.

I got the color "WARM" which is way too yellow for me. The texture is soft and the powder is very finely milled. However, it emphasized my dry patches badly and sat on my face looking powdery. The color match only makes things that much worse. It felt like it sucked the moisture out of my skin. Using it wet, wasn't any better. It looked just as dry and still sat on top of my skin and never melted in. I also find the packaging to be cheap. I love high end makeup and really appreciate luxurious packaging. This looks high end but feels cheap. The gold is plastic and doesn't have a nice weight to it. Even the way it flips open feels flimsy. It also catches fingerprints like no tomorrow.

But the WORST thing about this foundation... is the smell. YUCK. I CAN NOT stand it!!!! My sister and mom don't seem to smell it but something about it just puts me off!! It smells rotten or spoiled to me. I hesitate to even put this up for swap because I'm convinced it's gone bad.

The only saving grace for this foundation is that it sets my liquid foundations okay. Sometimes it still tends to look powdery. I guess this just wasn't meant for me.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mhonarkar on 1/14/2012 8:07:00 AM more reviews by mhonarkar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I orderedt this from Saks because the Saks near me doesn't carry this line. I read all the rave reviews and even though i'm not a fan of power's i thought this would be great for touch up's when i'm out and about. I have Olive skin and i was recommended over the phone to order Carmel, it was a little too dark for me but it worked, i would get a shade lighter if i was to try the foundation. Anyways i felt like it looked cakey and made my 35 year skin look dry. i applyed it wet and got better results. i ended up returning it because it looked like i had on make up and i wanted a flawless look without looking like i had powder on. i returned it to my local Saks without any problems. i also ordered a lipstick whick i like and i am eager to try on the foundation but will wait until i go to NYC so i don't end up being disappointed again. Also i thought the packing looked cheap.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dolce & Gabbana products

More Powder products