Barry M • Pencil Eyeliner/ Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Chemikalische on 8/24/2012 6:30:00 AM more reviews by Chemikalische

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

The colour is great, easy to apply and it is cheap. The only problem is that it rubs off VERY easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bedazzeledberet on 8/21/2012 8:41:00 AM more reviews by bedazzeledberet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

These are my favourite Kohl Liners as the black is really dark and stays all day in my lash line and the white shade is exactly the same apart from the shade. I will definitely be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maquillage33 on 7/18/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by Maquillage33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This eyeliner rubs off unbelievably easily, not a good idea to wear if your doing strenuous activities as you would look like a panda afterwards, it's good if your just wearing it for a little while, but I have to say, I would actually buy this product again because it was cheap, it lasts not very long but long enough, and it's an okay eyeliner so for that reason I would repurchase this product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohsailor on 3/12/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by ohsailor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this product for years but stopped because of its main problem - it rubs off so easily that you look like a panda within a few hours.
I started reusing it again in the past few weeks and was reminded about how wonderful it is for the first hour and then that it goes downhill from there.
The price is perfect - cheap and cheerful so you can buy it in a variety of the wonderful colours that Barry M has on offer.
The application is easy - the pencil doesn't need to be pressed to hard which is good for my delicate eyes. Blends well on the upperlid and applies well to the waterline and underneath the lashes.
The colour is pitch black which is just what I like and really defines the eye. When I've just finished putting the eyeliner on, it makes my eyes really pop.
That is, until an hour or so has passed and I look in the mirror to be confronted with panda eyes, smudges and none of the kohl left on either my upper lids, or underneath my eye.
It doesn't take much for this to happen either - I'm just sitting in my office at work, not at an all night rave.
Obviously due to the vary nature of kohl, it isn't going to stick as much as a liquid liner, but I think that this just makes this eyeliner unuseable.
Its a pity that the staying power is next to nothing as otherwise this would be perfect but unfortunately, it is again consigned to the back of makeup drawer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charlpoploleh on 9/15/2011 6:53:00 PM more reviews by charlpoploleh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I love most Barry M products and I use Barry M pencil eyeliner in black (1) everyday. It's easy to use, and has a strong colour but if you prefer a more subtle black, you can use a dabbing or dotting technique to create a more natural effect. It stays on for a fair length of time (even on the inside of your eyelid) however does require topping up throughout the day if you prefer the stark eyes effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 purpleswirl on 5/12/2011 12:46:00 PM more reviews by purpleswirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, I love the colour range and cheap, cheap price: 2.99. Unfortunately, the love pretty much ends there. The workability and pigmentation of the eyeliner really varies between colours and some of them I just can't use at all.

I have this eyeliner in four shades: Black (1), Bright Emerald (17), Bright Metallic Purple (18) and Kingfisher (19).

The black is just a standard black. It's pigmented enough to define but not the richest black on the market. This one smudges like crazy on my oily eyelids and Asian monolid eyes. It's a shame, because this is one of the shades which drags the least and could actually be quite decent. Drier-skinned girls, give it a whirl.

Bright Emerald is far from emerald; I'd say it's more of a grassy colour. Yes, it is metallic but my biggest gripe is that it's so rough on the eye and has virtually no colour payoff! Once, I tried to use this. I tugging and rolling the eyeliner back and forth to no avail: my eyelids were sore and I had a wimpy little green smudge on my upper lash-line. Not a fan of this one and I wouldn't recommend. The texture doesn't improve if you try to warm it on the back of your hand, either - just stay away!

The Purple eyeliner is an all right shade. Purple is my favourite colour so I love wearing purple eyeliner, but this? Blah. It's a very reddish purple with a bit of shimmer which just makes me look ill. Plus, I have the same texture issues with this one like the green. This is also a no-go that I wouldn't recommend.

My favourite out of these is Kingfisher. No, it's still not strictly 'creamy' but applies smoother and better than the previous two. It's a little less waxy than the black. The staying power isn't great and it does smudge, but I've found a very pretty way to wear this colour: on the lower lash line, paired with No7 Stay Perfect Eyeliner in Jewel. They are not identical colour-wise but a really awesome combination, so much so that I will overlook its dire lasting properties. That combination has gotten compliments!

SO, to finish off what I feel is a long ramble: I took off one lippie for the poor staying power, another for the horrible range in texture and another lippie because of the dire tugging. I kept two lippies in tact because I feel that these might work better for somebody without hooded eyes and an oily eye area, so I conceed defeat with this eyeliner and have retired all the shades (except Kingfisher!) to my makeup graveyard.

*Please note that I did not wear a primer with these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 inthepresenceofenemies on 3/20/2011 7:05:00 AM more reviews by inthepresenceofenemies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in green when Barry M were doing a promotion (buy two items, get a free eyeliner), but it's awful! The colour is nice, but it just doesn't show on my skin, I can't get any to come off the pencil, unless I press really hard on my hand with it, but who wants to press super hard on the delicate eye area? It just doesn't work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wonderblue on 2/27/2011 10:06:00 AM more reviews by wonderblue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Soft texture and stays on the skin for ages without melting away and doesn't irritate my eyes. However something to bear in mind is that this is useless on the waterline, it's gone within 10 minutes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 9/8/2010 8:46:00 AM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have the silver kohl pencil and find that I reach for it often. It has a good consistency - soft and kind to the skin when applying, but once it's on there it stays put. It is firm enough to hold a point well and can be used for quite precise detailing. The quality of this stuff and the feel of it on application beats other drugstore kohls absolutely hollow. If I can't be bothered to use shadow I line my eyes with this and colour the centre of the lid subtly, then smudge. It really brightens my eyes and strangely for a true metallic silver it looks quite dewy and almost natural on my winter skin.
It is absurdly cheap for a quality product, available everywhere and the cherry on the cake? Barry M, like MAC and Urban Decay do not test on animals, and are a tiny fraction of the price.

*edit* I have since tried a couple of the other colours in this product, and find that actually they are pretty variable - the sage green for instance was hard and unpleasant to use, with little colour payoff. As a result I've removed a couple of lippies because while some of these liners are excellent, it's not true of the whole range.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 taniaboox on 5/23/2010 2:29:00 PM more reviews by taniaboox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the colour, a good softer alternative to black

It's easy to blend and goes on easily with good pigmentation

However, I'm very disappointed that it smudges and goes everywhere,
after an hour of wearing you have panda eyes without intending too...
YUCK!!!

Now I'm looking for something else that stays on

Although it's cheap it's a waste of money which I've found with many Barry M products

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Barry M products

More Eyeliner products