Avon • Chic In Black • Fragrances

rated 3.7(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Love4Tulips on 3/14/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Love4Tulips

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Chic in Black just recently became available again on Avon's website. I heard so many good reviews about this perfume--it's sophisticated, smells like a pricier brand, it's a classic scent, etc. Sounded good enough to me.

I ordered a bottle for $12.99 and it came today. I was SO excited to try it, but with one spritz I was THOROUGHLY disappointed. In reality, this is just another cheap Avon perfume...it's totally gross, not at all sophisticated, and it's surely not like any perfume I've purchased before. I do own and really enjoy other sophisticated and classic scents in a variety of price levels, ranging from Chanel perfume to inexpensive body spritzes, but Chic in Black just smells like cheap musky florals...it sort of reminds me of bad potpourri.

Anyway, I am going to give mine to my husband's grandma...I think she will enjoy it more than I do. This is not for anyone younger than 60 I would say. (I am 30-yrs-old)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashswonderland on 12/29/2011 4:55:00 PM more reviews by ashswonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I love this scent its one of my favorites. It smells sophisticated and its not a smell I smell too often which I like. It has pretty good staying power on me. Its a good buy I got it for 10 bucks off Amazon

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 franciepants on 11/6/2011 8:30:00 PM more reviews by franciepants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I happen to like many Avon scents. I don't mind some "wood" on a dry down. This says floral with "blonde woods". I got straight wood out of it. Smelled just like freshly sharpened pencil. I could not get any floral. Giving it a 2 because it did have good staying power (had a hard time washing it off). If you are into woody scents you would probably like. Not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 2/25/2011 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

At first I was hesitant to buy this thinking that with name it would be a heavy, strong scent, glad I decided to buy it, it has a classy, sophisticated smell that is very nice and not too strong

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenJenofAz on 2/13/2011 11:46:00 AM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I kinda really like this! It is a classy scent, reminding me also of Samsara! A nice light fruity-floral. Slightly musky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kstahler on 11/7/2010 4:57:00 PM more reviews by kstahler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This scent so reminds me of Un Air de Samsara, a summery fresh citrusy (and discontinued) version of Samsara. Mint and jasmine are what I am getting from this bargain-priced floriental. This is very unlike most Avon fragrances, which always seem to smell too sweet and aldehydic for me. It is an EDP but doesn't last as long as I'd hoped, but it's still better than some. I wish I could get it in some other versions, such as shower gel or lotion. Nicely done, Avon! Keep it in the fridge in the summer for a wonderfully cool spritz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LillyRoseCat on 10/30/2010 10:25:00 PM more reviews by LillyRoseCat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite scent. It's warm, complex, elegant, and feminine. Avon perfumes are uneven, to say the least, but this one is as good as any high-end perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pxcrunnercat on 1/27/2010 7:30:00 PM more reviews by pxcrunnercat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this perfume on a whim, and am I ever glad I did! To me, the scent is reminiscent of soft, elegant sophistication. Like something you might wear to a cocktail party or to meet your boyfriend's parents, but the best thing about it is how NOT stuffy it is. It's not an old-lady perfume at all, nor is it too heavy or obnoxious. It's soft and subtle and I'd feel comfortable wearing it to school or on a date or really anywhere, not just somewhere formal. The versatility of this fragrance is amazing, which makes up for it's poor lasting power. Like all Avon fragrances I have tried, this perfume required touchups throughout the day, but it's so lovely that I haven't the heart to give it less than 5 lippies :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 all4sonya on 11/20/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by all4sonya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like oriental floral, kinda nice to wear to a church, or when hanging out with those age 50 and up, but it is not for me. I gave it to my mother, It is strong. And pretty to smell a little but not exciting enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtycer on 10/17/2009 2:49:00 PM more reviews by mtycer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was really underwhelmed by this perfume. It didn't seem to have anything distinctive, just kind of a generic perfumey smell. Not very long lasting either. Not something I'd buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Fragrances products