Shu Uemura • Painting Liner • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 7/29/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this eyeliner. I've had this on my wishlist for a while now and finally bought it during a Shu promo. It's an intense black that doesn't fade grey. It's long-lasting over eyeshadow primer (UDPP) and worn either over or under eyeshadow. Since I have monolids, I like using a thick line of this in a smoky eye and smudging shadow over it.

This is a deeper black than MAC Blacktrack and NARS Black Valley. I keep a Shu drawing pencil in my purse for touch-ups, but so far this gel liner has been quite long-lasting. It washes off easily with an oil cleanser (I use DHC cleansing oil).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* B3AUTyxEX0TiC on 9/25/2013 1:01:00 PM more reviews by B3AUTyxEX0TiC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's such a shame that Shu Uemura isn't available in the US anymore and I couldn't have discovered their liners any sooner. My friend got me Blackish Satin Purple from the Karl Lagerfeld collection and I feel like I've wasted 4 years of my life on MAC's fluidline. The color is super gorgeous and super inky and pigmented, which means you have to be extremely cautious about how you put.

The amazing thing is that I only make one teeny-tiny dip with my brush and it's enough to last me for one day...actually it's more than enough because I wipe the excess on my hand. The only problem I have with this product is that, if I were to do a cateye or apply it widely, it smudges. Fortunately, I don't really do cat eye and I'm very simple with using eyeliners. Yes, it is a little expensive but it's worth the investment and Shu products usually don't disappoint.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jacrodriguez on 8/30/2012 1:17:00 PM more reviews by jacrodriguez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried a lot of gel/cream eye liners cause they are my favorite type than pencils/kohls and liquid. I've got some from high end to drugstore brands like Clinique, Bobbi Brown, Mac, Wet n Wild and Maybelline and so far after some time on using gel liners, this one worked for me the best. I live in a very humid country and I need a smudge proof and waterproof/cry proof true black liner. I need something that would just give me a peace of mind during the day that wouldn't let me check my eyes often in the mirror if I have globs on my tear duct and on the outer corners of my eyes and raccoon eyes. I love having that doll like look so I always apply this on my upper lash line and tightline. And this has not smudged on me or even transferred on my waterline whether I am out on a humid day or in an air-conditioned room the whole day. Stayed on and stayed black. Even had a nap with it on and nothing moved. And this is really stark black I must say. It is creamy and matte and glides on easy for me to control. It also dries quicker than Clinique and Maybelline, does not flake like Bobbi Brown, not so dry like the Wet n Wild (but also very good one) and does not fade on oily lids like Mac. I didn't have any bad reaction with it so far. It is expensive though for a smaller amount of product compared to the others. Will be trying the MUFE Aqua Black Waterproof Creme Eyeshadow next if it is tougher than my Shu.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 7/17/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i didn't want to review this as soon as i got it, because i didn't just want this to be a product rave.
there are pros and cons to this; firstly with the cons:
this is really expensive. 20 i got it for. then this is IMPOSSIBLE to correct mistakes with. you literally have to leave any mistakes there all day or just cover them up. this also means it is very inky and if it smudges anywhere like hands/anywhere else from the brush, it makes a big mess. it also really isn't a smooth, blendable product. it doesn't glide on smoothly like MAC or Bobbi Brown, and i almost feel like i have to dig my brush into it to get a nice portion. then lastly, the staying power of this is not the best, and i always find grey smudges on my lower outer corners even with Too faced eyeshadow insurance primer. i haven't tried this on my inner rims.
then with the pros; this is VERY BLACK! i'm happy with the pigmentation, however, you need to build it up to get the best darkness. it is matte, and does have that nice starkness that resembles liquid liner, that i love.
for 20, awkward application and smudging is disappointing, and i'm worried about when it begins to dry as well.
buy this only if you were curious about it, like me. it's a really enjoyable product and does look good, but i personally would favour Bobbi Brown if we are talking about staples.
will use it up but won't re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cookiesncreammm on 6/23/2011 12:44:00 PM more reviews by cookiesncreammm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought this in HK for HKD170, which converts to about SGD27. I was eyeing the Painting Liner for the longest time ever & on my trip to HK, I discovered how Shu Uemura is SOOOO much cheaper in HK than it is in SG, and happily hauled away.

This is definitely a HG product. It applied so effortlessly & didn't budge after an entire day of activities (including sleeping in the car). No more panda eyes! :D & it came off easily with the use of the Bioderma Sensibio H2O. Will definitely repurchase but I don't think there's a need to in the near future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pink5007 on 6/12/2011 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Pink5007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This liner is incredible... sadly it's not carried in the states in department stores anymore (i think b/c the creator passed away not too long ago). However you can buy it through shuumera-usa.com. This liner is AMAZING, stays on forever (make sure to get eye makeup remover or vaseline to remove) and is easy to apply. I bought mine in December 2009 and now will have to repurchase in July 2011. This lasted over 18 months and I use it EVERYDAY. So it cost about a dollar a month to use it daily... not too shabby! If you're even second guessing, just go for it. I will never pay for another brand again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 5/10/2011 9:05:00 AM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Owns this in black. I have been alternating between this and the Bobbi Brown Gel liner ever since I bought it. Its creamy in consistency, extremely easy to work with in a simple clean line. It has a very intense colour (no back and forth motion...) and dries quickly once its on and it stays on very well over my UDPP. No smudging to my outer lower corner in hot weather if I extend it past my lashes. I am in LOVE with this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* esornart on 3/9/2011 1:43:00 AM more reviews by esornart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried cliniques cream eyeliner and did not like it.
I have tried bobbi brown gel eyeliner and it's pretty good! Have re-purcahsed it many times..

I have tried this shu uemura paint liner and it stays put and last all day!


My TWO favourite: Shu Uermura Paint Liner and Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel eyeliner! Both are really good. I suggest testing them both out and see which one you like better because both are really great! I alternate between these two because I cant make up my mind which one I like better! LOL.

However, I found a dupe and its' Jane Be Pure Mineral Gel Eyeliner in drugstores! IT works just as great and for $9 Canadian!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Doubleshot70 on 2/19/2011 1:40:00 PM more reviews by Doubleshot70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely delighted to review the Shu Uemura Painting liner.This is a high end product,which has a smooth formula and is highly pigmented.It dries quickly on me and lasts until I remove it.I apply with a Shu Uemura brush and can get many looks from it,from a soft day time look,to a 1950s winged look and many other dramatic looks.The formula glides very smoothly on me and I do have dry eye lids.I have worn this formula in quite hot climates and the formula has never failed to impress me.The painting liner comes in many different colours and I do own all of them,including the white one which can be doubled as a high lighter.
These painting liners can be used as bases for a classic smoky eye,the product will stay put and is ready for layering,as it dries quite quickly.It comes in a glass screw top and I have found that the formula has not dried up at all and I have had mine for some time.
You can choose which brush you wish to purchase and Shu Uemura offers many.The brushes can be described as the "rolls royce" of all brushes.They are definitely luxury items,and they do the job for you.I am unsure as to how the formula would work if you have oily eye lids however I would suggest that you try it in store prior to purchasing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Applebonbon on 1/28/2011 1:09:00 AM more reviews by Applebonbon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My review is based on the black colour.The packaging is small and cute; glass pot with plastic lid. This has a high rim perfect for flattening your brush on it. It's about the size of a regular bottle top.


The paint inside is creamy and dispite its density is very smooth and goes on easily, try not to make mistakes with this one because if you have paint on your brush you can be sure that your mistake will appear!


The lasting power of this liner is amazing (I don't have oily lids though) and I've never needed to reapply, that said make sure you have a good eye makeup remover. This is certainly one of the best pot liners I have ever used :)


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Eyeliner products