SAMY • Fat Hair Zero "0" Calories Amplifying Hair Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.4(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 azaleababy on 11/13/2014 9:15:00 AM more reviews by azaleababy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my favorite hairspray for years but of course they went and changed the formula and totally ruined it..so disappointed!! Why can't these companies just leave already good products alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ambam032 on 2/22/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by Ambam032

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had my hair a shorter pixie and this really worked to help hold the choppy layers. Staying power was good. I purchased a travel size can so I can't really comment about the cost for the full sized can. My hair is a bit longer now so the hold is a little too strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lots2bhappy4 on 12/18/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by lots2bhappy4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this item on clearance for $1.18 and thought I should give it a chance. I have thick hair and have trouble finding a product to hold style . Well this certainly keeps it's hold. I am very pleased with that factor being able to fix my hair in the AM and it still look good when I get home from work. This is not a flexible hold. Didn't make my hair appear "starched" or stiff. A little bit goes a long way. I would purchase again and am glad I found a product to hold the style I work so hard to achieve

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sundevilblonde on 7/25/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by sundevilblonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the worst hair product i've ever put in my hair. EVER. I do not know why I keep trying SAMY products. Every time I try one it wrecks my hair and is such garbage it almost brings me to tears. Occasionally I like to do a "big" hair look with a little bit of teasing for some volume and I thought this hairspray would be good to help with lift. This hairspray left my hair sticky, HARD, crispy and frizzy. Every time I tried it I wish I hadn't. It's so bad I wanted to rewash my hair but couldn't due to time restraints and had to end up putting my hair up in a pony/bun EVERY SINGLE TIME. So disappointing when you want to go out and have your hair down in a pretty voluminous style and end up having to just put it up because your hair feels like it's been coated in sugar and lit on fire. I would literally not recommend this to anyone, at any time, ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jinglingjambo on 1/7/2013 8:21:00 AM more reviews by jinglingjambo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this hairspray and after using many different brands, I really do think it is the best on the high street.

First of all, my hair is thick but fine as in the hairs are very thin and flat but I've got a lot of it! I hate how flat and boring my hair is regardless or what/how much product I put in it. After 30 mins, my hair is always back to flat. I was going out one night and my friend had this hairspray so I thought I'd give it a shot. The next morning, this stuff was still in my hair and still maintained shape. I was really impressed so I went out and bought this hairspray in a 2 for 6.99 deal at Superdrug and I will continue to stock up on it when it is in offer as this stuff really WORKS.

I use this every day now and rarely do I have to reapply. So pleased to finally find a product that gives body and great hold without feeling sticky or too crunchy. This hairspray, when used correctly, doesn't make your hair look full of product either. It also washes and brushes out.

Because of the strength of this hairspray, it is easy to accidentally overdo it so hold it as far away as you can, keep your eyes closed and build up the amount of product. If this product gets on your phone, surfaces, etc is feels gross and will need cleaning so it's worth being careful with it.

Some people set their make-up with hairspray and I do do that if I'm going out for a special occasion but I would NOT recommend that with this hairspray as it very thick and coating so yeah, wouldn't really want that on your face.

Overall, great product and package quality only got a 4 because the nozzle needs to be a bit bigger so you don't overspray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrivals on 10/4/2012 11:00:00 AM more reviews by deadonarrivals

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is technically a "good" hairspray for those looking for a hard hold. I can imagine the folks on Toddlers and Tiaras buy this in bulk! For me, it did hold my very unruly thick hair in place but it also made it sticky, crunchy and hard. I also find it makes my hair dull/dry looking and emphasizes the frizz in my hair which I do have a lot of. I feel that this hairspray is not geared for my hair type but could work good on someone with fine oily hair. A great thought, ladies if you know any men in your life with a combover, this will be the best hairspray for that! I give this hairspray 2 lippies. 1. for packaging. The nozzle is of good quality and I like the red colored slim can. 2. for the holding abilites on this spray. If you have crazy hairstyles that need mega hold, this is good for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TrophyWife77 on 6/5/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by TrophyWife77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with the comments about it being sticky and crunchy....BUT so far this is the only hairspray I have used in the past 20-some years that can hold my fine,oil prone hair in place. The scent is strong...kind of grapey like the Aussie products but oddly enough my husband always compliments my perfume when I wear it! The price is right- I even found some on clearance for $6 and am kicking myself for not buying more than one. The can is a bit tall and I am on the lookout for a travel size for my purse. I will continue to purchase as long as its manufactured.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* geographer on 3/1/2012 3:31:00 PM more reviews by geographer

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

the ONLY hairspray that holds my hair. I have bleached, processed hair. Yes, it is sticky. However, once I got tired of wasting so much money on $3.00 bottles to $25 bottles on the high end, this one is about 12$ and worth every penny. For those with hard to curl, stick-straight, or just won't hold any style hair, this one is for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OjosVerdes on 9/6/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by OjosVerdes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This hairspray is disgustingly awesome. I have fine, naturally curly hair that I either diffuse and wear natural, or set in large rollers. Either way, I have a major problem with flat roots due to how fine it is, and am always on the lookout for a product that is truly volumizing. And I can't believe that this accidental drugstore purchase may actually be the one! I've tried EVERYTHING ... mousses, gels, every "freeze" root and hairspray product on the market, backcombing, prayer, energy channeling, etc. and absolutely nothing boosts the volume of my hair at the roots like this does. We're talking from limp locks to Dallas soap opera hair in seconds. Pros: the mist is fine, it dries almost instantaneously, thereby freezing my style in place. If I want even more hold for a night out, I lift my layers from underneath with my fingers, spray my roots, then target the roots with my hairdryer (on high heat, low volume). Cons: It pretty much makes my hair feel like straw, and is a PITA to wash out. It feels hard and sticky, and pity the fool who tries to run his fingers through your lacquered hair. Despite the claim printed on the bottle that it "brushes through easily for re-styling", I find I have to shampoo my hair after every use, otherwise I get major buildup. This is a pretty big drawback since my hair is naturally dry and I try to only shampoo once or twice a week. That said, due to the voluminous proportions my hair assumes, I'm happy to restrict this product to weekend use. If you're looking for a product for occasional use for more extreme styling, this beats just about anything out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mindyk on 2/11/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by mindyk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my fave drugstore hairspray. Great hold and does give hair some added volume. Down side is it feels a bit sticky although it's tolerable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More SAMY products

More Styling Products products