Nick Chavez • Perfect PlusVolumizing Flocker • Styling Products

rated 2.4(61 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 9/22/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I tried this for the first time today and I think it's my new HG hair product for getting super BIG hair. I have straight, waist-length long hair that is very thick and heavy and usually weighs itself down so much that it looks very flat. I saw a Nick Chavez video on YouTube for this product and decided to try it because it seemed like it adds tons of volume and that second-day, "bed head" look.


My first impression of this product is that it needs better packaging. I read a review where someone mentioned that the foam gets all over the place and they were right. Even though I sprayed the foam into my hand, like Nick Chavez did in the video, the foam sputtered and splattered on its way out of the can and flew all over the place. I did get a good amount in my palm, but it seemed like a lot got wasted too.


That said, this is probably the BEST volumizing product I've ever tried. I was using Michael O' Rourke Size Matters Big Volume Root Spray, which definitely helped add volume at my roots, but this one blows that one out of the water. Flocker Spray doesn't make my hair crispy or crunchy and adds volume ALL OVER, instead of just at the roots.


I let my hair air-dry about 80% while I did my makeup, then I scrunched this foam into the roots and flipped my head upside down and scrunched some into all of my hair. When I flipped up my hair, it was HUGE. I brushed it through, added some It's A 10 Miracle Leave-In Conditioner to the bottom half, then blow dried it straight. Then I used a finishing product to pat down the flyaways. My hair looked super voluminous and thick!


Someone asked me if my hair was real today, I think she thought I was wearing extensions. That's enough to make me think this product is 5 star worthy, but I had to take away a lippie for the wasteful packaging. Highly recommend this stuff if you need an all-over volume boost!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Dozastroze on 11/14/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Dozastroze

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Horrible product- I am so disappointed. When I purchased it, I had visions of Nick spraying his model's hair and her looking like a million dollars! I tried it hoping for the Nick Chavez model effect and ugh, my hair was a mess- it looked greasy, weighed down and I had to re-wash it! More work than I thought it would be..... Plus, you have to spray the product in your hand not the way Nick does as if its a magic wand that produces miracles-- save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarrieLynnJ on 8/17/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by CarrieLynnJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was kind of surprised at all the negative reviews here. I have normal hair to the middle of my back and from time to time I like to do the big TEXAS HAAARE look. It took some trial and error for me but I found with this product less is more. I used hot rollers in my hair, left them in for about an hour and when I took them out I used a short spray of this in my hand and flipped my hair over and fluffed. It wasnt exactly like what nick did but it was pretty damn close. My problem is I have like 3 bottles of this and no way will I use that within the next couple of years but I love it for those glitzy going out events. after reading some of the reviews here I am going to try it on damp hair to see if it does anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyc01 on 8/17/2010 10:00:00 AM more reviews by hollyc01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely one of the worst ever. Nothing more than a really stick, crunchy hairspray that pulls your hair out if you try to comb through it. I threw mine out in disgust. This should be discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buckminsterfullerene on 3/13/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by buckminsterfullerene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have single color processed fine hair--straight as a stick.
When I saw Nick demonstrate this on QVC---it was an amazing show.
After receiving the product, I did not see how you could use it like a hairspray. It is a thick foamy product similar to Big Sexy Hair Stay & Play Harder.

Like other MUA reviewers, I use it more like a thickening serum.After shampoing, I put about a quarter size dollop in my palm; I distribute it thoroughly around the roots of my hair. I take another smaller amount and with my hands pull it down the strands to the tips.

I then proceed with blow drying.
It give a good volume.
One drawback, on my hair at least: the 2nd day my hair feels dirty to me. That's the main reason this is not a favorite product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marysusan on 3/6/2009 9:17:00 PM more reviews by marysusan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product on my wet, freshly shampooed hair. Spray into palm, rub hands together, flip head upside down and rub into roots. Style and great volume that lasts for a second day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 11/27/2008 2:50:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I gave this a try a few years ago and was not impressed with how sticky and tacky it was because I did not know how to use it properly. First, it does smell awfull. Think of the old pomander in granny's closet type scent. And it does linger so be forewarned. I have baby fine hair that will barely hold a curl anymore. Out of desperation I tried this again but trying the suggestions from other MUA reviews. This is time around, the flocker actually performed for me! I would consider this a volumizing mousse/root lifter. Spray some into the hands and rub them together and then apply to wet or dry hair. I have used this many ways. I will blow dry my hair halfway and then apply this and finish blow drying. This gives me instant volume. You have to work quick with this product as it dries instantly. Another thing I do is to apply this to sections of damp hair and uses velcro rollers and then blow dry. I get firm hold and volume when I do this. As a root lifter, apply to roots and blow dry hair with head upside down. Update: This stuff is just too darn tricky to work with! And I have found that the Aquelle root lifter available at Sally's does the job better, is easier to use and is mucho cheaper!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pwdlover on 8/21/2008 1:06:00 AM more reviews by pwdlover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Don't waste your money. It has to be the worst product I have ever used. If you like your hair feeling dirty and coming out a mess go ahead and buy it. Other wise a good root booster and some hair spray will be your best friends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suenjon on 7/28/2008 12:58:00 PM more reviews by suenjon

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand the negative comments about this product. I have only used it after styling, spray into palm of hand, rub together, bend my head forward then lightly touch hair from scalp to ends. Flocker gives me great volume, has never been heavy and doesn't leave a buildup. I can use it the next day without shampooing and it still works great. I use it the way I saw Nick Chavez use it on QVC. It is the only volumnizing product that has ever worked for me. Unless the formula has changed this is the perfect product.
Love It

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gandydancer on 7/10/2008 11:48:00 PM more reviews by gandydancer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Save your money and take a pass on this. I'd seen it on QVC for ages then finally bought a Chavez kit when it was a special value of the day. This was part of it. It weighed down my hair and made it sticky, then after 2 or 3 attempts at using it, the nozzle clogged forever. It went into the trash along with most everything else in the kit. The hair spray was okay but that nozzle clogged too. All I kept was the root lifter. Even the hairbrush was cheesy. No more Nick Chavez for me. Ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nick Chavez products

More Styling Products products