Lavanila The Healthy Deodorant

3.3

138 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/29/2015 3:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was really hesitant to try a natural deodorant because I've heard that they do not work as well.. However this one exceeded my expectations. (Vanilla lavender scent) It's even better than the chemically infused antiperspirant in drugstores and it has such a pleasant, clean scent. I worked an 8 hour day in a sweaty restaurant (wore this for a total of 10 hours that day) and by the end of the day, it only STARTED to smell like it was coming off. There is no sticky feeling when applying, NO white marks at all, and it completely masks odor and wetness throughout the day (even better than any antiperspirant I've used, oddly). Not to mention it doesn't take forever to scrub off in the shower. I can't say it enough how glad I am that I switched over to this product. Overall, a fantastic AND healthy alternative. Love it !



on 7/9/2015 5:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is... the best deodorant I have ever tried. Ever. I bought the travel size (0.9 oz) at Sephora about 4 months ago. I just used it up, using it once everyday. I have the Pure Vanilla scent, which smells like real vanilla and a hint of baby powder. I'm not against the scent but I also don't love it.

The first week I used this, I absolutely HATED it. Yes, you read that correct. I HATED it. I go to the gym very often (everyday in the summer) and the first week it didn't cover up any scent AT ALL. It didn't even cover up scent when I was just sweating from the heat.

But then I heard someone say that you needed to keep on using it so that your body could adjust to it, etc etc. Reluctantly, I took that advice (I didn't want to waste the $8.00 I spent on my travel sized deodorant lol) and kept on using it.

About a week or two later, it miraculously help up through intense exercise (note that what I think intense exercise might be different how you think intense exercise is lol) and I was smelling good and fresh all day.

I guess the "moral" of the story is to keep on using it and using it so your body "adjusts" to the deodorant. I did that, and now I am absolutely in love with it.

Now I just need to find time to buy another bottle of it, because I completely used up my old one. Too bad it's sold out EVERYWHERE in all the Sephora's near me. Yeah.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Works all day long on my sweaty body and great clean scents! Worth every penny and love it!!!!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was surprised this deodorant worked so well on me! I've tried other brands of organic and aluminum-free deodorant before and it left me smelling awful. The one I currently use is the Vanilla Passion Fruit which has a really nice scent. Living in Hawaii (humid), I didn't think this would work. To my amazement, it works great! There are times I need to reapply throughout the day, but that doesn't bother me. The nice scent stays for a good while.


on 6/2/2015 9:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Lavanila roller balls. The fragrances are lovely. I bought this as a decadent alternative to other deoderants, but it simply did not work for me. I wound up with skin irritation and smelly pits by midday. One of my best friends swears by these deoderants, but for me, this just didn't work. Having said that, the packaging was fine, and I had no issues with transfer to my clothing/bras as I tend to not dress until a few minutes after deoderant application. So disappointed that this was a fail for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2015 2:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this; it had such positive reviews and I was hoping to a natural alternative that actually works but I am sorry to say that I am throwing in the towel, even if it cost 4X more than a regular drugstore brand and I made a special trip to Sephora for it. I tried using it even which way: I applied it at night and in the AM, just at night, in the AM and even three times a day when I could (not at all convenient). I never thought of myself as excessively smelly or sweaty....in fact, I know I am not BUT, this stuff just doesn't work for more than half a day if that. I have ask also tried Nourish brand with the same results. It is a bit cheaper and easier to find, but honestly, it just craps out very quickly. Alas, I am back to Dove which always works, and I never have to worry if suddenly I can smell myself in yoga or anywhere else. I just hate that :((


on 5/24/2015 9:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Had pretty much given up on "natural" deodorants like Tom's as just not effective enough. This is perfect for me. Light, pleasant scent and enough deodorizing power to get me through the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2015 2:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This did nothing to stop underarm odor, it just added a layer of vanilla to the mix. I bought the small size to try and am glad I did not waste my money on a full size. I have even tried this on several occasions, hoping that it was a fluke that it did not work the first time. The scent is lovely and the formula causes no irritation, it just did not perform well as a deodorant on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 3:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't usually need strong deodorants. Something light is sufficient for me unless I'm doing a heavy workout (and even this is rare) but this deodorant did not meet even these needs. The application is convenient, the formula is not at all drying or abrasive on the skin. But it leaves an ugly white cast which I don't like. And above all it barely functions as a deodorant. In fact it's pretty useless especially for the price. There's not much difference when I don't use it to when I do.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 8:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bought this product a few weeks ago, have been using natural deodorant for a few years now, mainly the crystal based style. Wanted something with the appealing vanilla scent. However, this deodorant blocked the pores under my arms, giving we welts and blocked sweat glands. I also have to say, the vanilla scent was short-lived, as within 3-4 hours of application I could smell a strong body odor, and this was after a sedentary morning. I continued to use for around 2 weeks, thinking perhaps I am 'detoxing', and my body just needed to get used to this new product. However, the welts and blocked sweat glands have only gotten worse. This deodorant did however, kept me somewhat drier than my usual natural crystal style, but I had to stop using. I need to do some further investigation into the ingredients in this product, as I am somewhat wary of it's 'natural-ness' after my bodies strong adverse reaction.
Hopefully my underarms get back to normal soon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Lavanila Products

Back to Top