Lavanila • The Healthy Deodorant • Deodorants

rated 3.3(113 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 librarykrystal on 7/16/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by librarykrystal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

At first, it was amazing. I didn't stink after a moving day in 90-degree heat! At the end of my first stick, I was happy enough to buy another. But, over the next few months, it's effectiveness waned. I slowly began noticing that my pits were quite stinky after a few hours of television. The worst part, though, is how it began making me sweat more than normal. Yes, that's right. My pits sweat significantly more when wearing this deodorant than they do with none. Yuck! And when that happens, the whiteness of this solid (although not noticeable on my pale pit) melted onto my black tank top. A rim of white crust at the bottom edge of my arm-hole. It washed out just fine, but I'm hugely disappointed (and... eww). I tried my husband's deodorant (also not an anti-perspirant) and my pits had a nice, normal day - then I came back to Lavanilla, and BOOM! So. Much. Sweat. At least the effect isn't permanent! Lavanilla and I had a great romance, but it was short-lived. Now we're mortal enemies - I'd rather use my fella's brand and smell like a dude than have giant wet patches under my arms for the world to see (and smell).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wanderingmusician on 7/16/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by wanderingmusician

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This deodorant has a really nice creamy texture and is easy to apply. Its not slimy and goes on dry with a powdery residue which I like. Unfortunately the scent I choose ( vanilla/coconut) doesn't work well with my body chemistry. It has a really powdery scent to it that just doesn't mix well with my bo. Kind of smells like a stinky baby or something. I really like the package design really sturdy and easy to travel with. It was really pricey but if the scent worked for me I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 racmal01 on 7/5/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by racmal01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely light scent but unfortunately this deodorant does not last all day. I need to apply every 4-5 hours to ensure I am fresh. Big disappointment considering its on the pricey side

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoulnextdoor on 7/3/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by ghoulnextdoor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

On a recent trip to DC the airline lost our luggage and since they were reimbursing us for our expenses I figured I would splurge on a "fancy" deodorant. Of all the things on which to splurge. Jeez. I've got to reassess my priorities.

Anyhow, the product itself smells very nice - a lovely combination of "fresh" and "clean" and mildly sweet. Once applied, however, I have found that the scent dissipates very quickly and after an hour or so in the warm weather, seems to disappear altogether. Up until that point I was blissfully unaware of how truly, incomparably awful my own body smelled in the absence of deodorizing beauty products. My god. That foul stench was coming from me? Unbelievable! Inconceivable! I had to keep surreptitiously sniffing myself to remind myself that yes, that vile odor was actually emanating from my person. You know the wiggly waves that come off smelly people in comics and cartoons? I am pretty sure that's what my olfactory aura looked like during this time.

As someone who always smells pretty great (in my humble opinion), this turn of events -while disappointing and which made me a bit of a social pariah for the remainder of my vacation - was absolutely fascinating. I had no idea, NO IDEA that one human being could smell so bad. Well, I am here to tell you that they can, and apparently lacking properly effective deodorants, I am the equivalent of a ticking stinkbomb.

I cannot in good faith recommend this product. Who knows what evil lurks under our arms when we are caught unawares by an an incompetent deodorant? Steer clear from this product, and you'll not have to ever find out.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 6/17/2014 10:43:00 AM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I had never tried this and I love it!!!! I recommend this deodorant to everyone. I love that it doesn't leave a residue and smells light and fresh. I will keep repurchasing. A +++++

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 6/17/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've seen this product in stores for awhile now and I've always been curious. I got the travel size of the "pure vanilla" scent. For 5 years I've used Crystal and similar products with varying results. I decided that I need to finally switch to something else. For me this seems to work. The formula seems gentle and non-irritating. The scent is a bit strong. The only problems I have with this are the use of buzzwords like "pure" vanilla and "healthy" deodorant and the price, obviously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 6/16/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This deodorant smell great, I have the vanilla travel size. However it does not last all day for me. :(

I have much better odor control with The Crystal body deodorant. I wish it worked better, but at the end of the work day no longer smelling so fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunblockobsession on 6/16/2014 1:28:00 AM more reviews by sunblockobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE.

I have this in the Vanilla Lemon scent, which smells like lemon cookie. This product is a true deodorant, meaning you will still sweat but you won't stink.

I have tried a number of natural deodorants with no success (Tom's, Nature's Gate, Alba, Burt's Bee's, Kiss my Face, baby powder) and have used the Dove fragrance-free antiperspirant for the past five years.

Until now.

This product lasts through stressful situations (family reunions, work, etc) and leaves my underarms soft instead of dry, itchy, and irritated, in turn making them easier to shave.

Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IheartCHA on 6/8/2014 7:53:00 AM more reviews by IheartCHA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, I have been on the hunt for a natural deodorant that actually works. I've tried many brands, and I've even tried to make my own -- but was left with a rash that burned hotter than 1000 suns, or I smelled worse than I would if I didn't even wear anything. This was my last resort. [shakes fist].

Fourteen whole dollars for a deodorant is pure --insanity--. This is why it was last on my list to try. What magical wonder is in this 2oz of product to make it so expensive?! Will I get super powers? I work part time retail, but my job is really physical. I asked myself, would I spend about $60 a year to possibly not smell bad (if this works), and the answer was yes, yes I would [makes it rain].

I went to Sephora to pick this up in person. I was not impressed by the brands testers. I have heard reviews where someone opened a new deodorant, and it smelled like rancid play-doh, and that's exactly what ALL of the testers smelled like. I have no idea how long there were of service, but they were all rank. Even the perfume testers. They were also really low on everything. Working in retail, I know this is not the store's fault. I figured the smell had to be the testers, and with their return policy, I picked up the original vanilla scent, hoping for the best. I really wanted to try other scents, though. :( Send my Durham store more testers!

I left it in the bag for a couple of days, and honestly planned to take it back. I finally opened it though, and was pleasantly surprised! The smell is STRONG -- like old lady flower, powder, a hint of musk perfume. Not what I would usually go for, but I like it. The testers at the store didn't have the cool (kind if moist) feeling as I tested them on my wrist to get a true smell. Mine did. I like this too.
As I can tell, I like the ingredients as well. No baking soda either!

I've never had to deal with bad BO before, nor do I sweat a lot, but given my job, and the lack of AC in my car, this has really blown me away! I've had this for about three weeks, and this works better for me than the standard drugstore brands -- with aluminum! The smell lasts all day on me, and I NEVER have to reapply. My skin is so much happier, and less irritated from using this. I have not had a major issue with "white residue", as most claim, but come on. If it's powder based, and this is, it comes with the territory. I just dress carefully. I will repurchase!

This, like others have stated, will not keep you from sweating, since this is absent of aluminum. Other stores, and the brand's store have a mini deodorant [$8] , which is half the size of the one at Sephora, which is probably what I will purchase next time. It would have been nice if Sephora had these as well, but they don't.

EDIT: 07.19.2014

This is still working great! The scent of this is actually getting less appealing, but I may venture out into the other fragrances.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ACupOfGreenTea on 6/7/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by ACupOfGreenTea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- Beautifully scented
- Natural, ingredients are plant-derived (vegetarian? vegan?)
- Aluminum-free
- Conditioning

Cons:
- Expensive ($14.00 USD for 2 oz. [57 g])
- Fragrance is not lasting
- May leave white residue

Reference: I purchased the 2 oz. stick at Sephora for the retail price. Out of the 6-8 scents available (some scents may be unlisted or discontinued on the Sephora website but might still be found on shelves in-store), I purchased the deodorant in Vanilla Blackberry. What attracted me most to this product is that it is aluminum-free (meaning that it is NOT an antiperspirant and therefore will NOT stop you from sweating). This is important to me because my own body chemistry does not react well with deodorant-antispirants that contain aluminum because it results in discolored stains in the armpit area of my shirts. It does however, contain cornstarch, which helps absorb moisture, to an extent.

My Experience:
What I liked about this product is that it left my underarms feeling soft and nourished within a few days of twice-daily use (after morning and evening shower). Although I really wanted to like this product, this is the only positive point that I have for product performance.

My first issue is that the scent is pretty strong, but does not level off to a more subtle level throughout the course of the day. In fact, it just stays strong for a few hours before fading completely. This practically defeats the purpose of a deodorant. Secondly, within two hours of application in a non-hot nor humid setting, my underarms did not feel dry. It was as if there was a thin layer of wetness over the deodorant. I understand that cornstarch is not THE end-all be-all of moisture-wicking ingredients, but it was disappointing to see how it really worked.

I don't have a lot of body odor (BO) myself, but with this product, I find myself worrying that the little of it might break through or otherwise create a weird musky-flowery scent when mixed with the fragrance. I did not have this concern with my previous deodorant, the Arm & Hammer Essentials (unscented). Perhaps baking soda and other "non-natural" ingredients in A&H are more effective against perspiration and/or are better antimicrobial agents (as BO is caused by the by-products of metabolism of the naturally-occuring bacteria on the skin). The only possible antimicrobial I see for the LaVanila Healthy Deodorant, as far as I can understand, might be tea tree oil, listed at the bottom of the ingredients list.

That in consideration, I give the product a 3 out of 5 lippies.

Other Comments:
Like most other deodorant products, the LaVanila Healthy Deodorant comes in a twist-up stick form. Packaging-wise, what does set it apart from other products is that the top or cap also twists up. What strikes me the most about the packaging is that is pretty weighty and secure. That and the sophisticated design/graphics of the product make it appear luxurious and eye-catching on the counter. It almost justifies the $14.00 price tag.

Although the twist-off top might be cumbersome to some, packaging receives a 5 out of 5 lippies from me.

Closing Commentary:
This is product is definitely a treat to use, but to me personally, not something worth repurchasing in the long run. The bells-and-whistles -- natural ingredients, beautiful packaging -- are nice, but performance-wise, this is average. This might be a fantastic product for someone who is really enthusiastic about natural skincare and beauty products or someone who does not really sweat a lot. For everyone else, there are probably other products (Herban Cowboy deodorants, perhaps? I have not tried their products but would like to) with similar ingredient composition (aluminum-free, etc.) that work better and/or are the fraction of the price.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lavanila products

More Deodorants products