New York Color • Lip Liner Pencil • Lip Liners

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 10/2/2010 4:39:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. I got three of these for 25 each (75% off of $1) when I was just starting with lipliners. they're ok, but they don't meet my personal expectations. for one thing, they seem a bit difficult to put on in that you need to press pretty hard to get any color. also, you need to constantly sharpen it as a result of pressing so hard with it, which wears down the point. I recently got some Rimmel's 1000 Kisses lipliners and they are SO much better. for $1, I'd say the NYC lipliners are good for beginners or just as a spare, but I'd rather spend a little more and get something of better quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trisheee on 5/4/2010 12:38:00 PM more reviews by trisheee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this in 954. I haven't been able to find a nude that looks good with my skin tone...until now. I love this color! I just line, fill in and add gloss. So beautiful! Some of the other reviewers said this "crumbles" and doesn't dispense enough color but I haven't had that problem with mine. Wonder if I just got lucky and found a good batch. This liner comes out smooth and creamy with just the right amount of product. Did I say I LOVE this color? I've only had it for a few days so maybe it starts to crumble after sharpening. II hope not! I'll try it for a few more days and report back. So far, though, I'm really happy I found this...and for $.99!
Edit: I'm still loving this pencil! I've sharpened 3 times and no crumbles. I use a clear lip plumping gloss over this for a sheer natural wash of color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ias23 on 5/26/2009 8:12:00 PM more reviews by ias23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this lip liner coz this was on sale, got the red one and the natural.. the natural color was too dark for me, while the red color was like a maroon color and it looks good on me... the staying power of these are great... i wanted to try other colors but i think they all too dark... i'll find other brands..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toastyfrenchy on 6/26/2006 4:21:00 PM more reviews by toastyfrenchy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been into lipliners lately with a bit of lipbalm for my lip look - no lipstick required. As such, I've been picking up a new lipliner everytime I'm at Target or Walgreens heehee! I have two of these, 954 and 951, and really like both of them. 954 is a wonderful nude, just a nice brown with pink undertones - no hint of orange. 951 is a little bit darker and plummy with a little bit of shimmer...could probably build for more dramatic look, but I keep it fairly natural. Staying power is great on these too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chena on 3/15/2006 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Chena

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

LOVE these! So long and SO CHEAP! I have about 5 of these.They're creamy and last well. Except when I top with gloss, then staying power is no more than couple hours, but that happens with any lipliner and gloss. I love the colors, sometimes I use them to fill in my lips and not use any lipstick, because the colors are great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 commercesd on 10/31/2005 2:35:00 AM more reviews by commercesd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Just like its "sister" Wet 'N Wild, these lipliners ROCK. Why anyone would pay more is beyond me. If you need a wild color, use your eyeshadow to make it with a brush.... but for basic shades, this is it. For $.99, you can't beat it. The formula is creamy, doesn't tug, like you might think a cheap pencil would... and lasts. The only one cheaper out there is Jordana, which is also excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wintersa on 4/22/2005 11:59:00 PM more reviews by wintersa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

UGH! I hate this liner. I bought #956C because of the gorgeous plum-mauve color, and the liner turned out to be as hard as stone and a COMPLETELY different lighter pink-y shade, despite my attempts to forcefully layer it to get the pretty color I was so looking forward to. The texture was terrible: I rubbed the pencil tip with my finger to soften it, and it still almost hurt to apply it. What a waste of 99 cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dazz on 2/16/2005 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Dazz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wow...this is a great liner. Not too creamy, so it does the trick well of keeping lipstick from bleeding, and lines very well. Nice range of colors...and GREAT price. I think I love this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanillasugardream on 7/7/2004 5:48:00 PM more reviews by vanillasugardream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love it! I only have one, it's a true red, very creamy and goes on smoothly. I have used it as a total lipcolor, lined, then filled in my lips. I did not find it dry at all, just creamy and smooth enough to get good application, but not make a mess if i drink some water. The way it looks on my lips is true to the color in the pencil (which is the wooden type that requires sharpening.) I wish I were at home right now to provide the color #

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honeybearkitty on 4/25/2004 3:05:00 PM more reviews by honeybearkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in 954C which is a perfect MLBB color! I'm not crazy about the quality (it doesn't go on too smoothly), but for 99 cents, I can deal with that. It does stay on nicely and did I mention it is the *perfect* nude color for me??? I will definitely buy this again, and will probably try more colors. ***UPDATE*** I've tried several other colors and hate them all. They look so different on than they do in the package. I recommend Rimmel 1000 Kisses Lipliner - it's only $1 more, the colors are beautiful, and it goes on pretty smoothly. Since I found Rimmel, I wouldn't buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lip Liners products