Trader Joe's • Aloe Vera Gel • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Espressophia on 12/9/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Espressophia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love aloe... I use body lotion with aloe, face serum and moisturizer with aloe, etc. I also use it on my bikini area after shaving to ward off bumps and ingrown hairs. I think it has some great healing properties that calms troubled skin and makes it soft and supple. That said, I have found one particular use for this product that makes it a total HG for me: I use it in my hair. I work in a climate-controlled laboratory that is dehumidified 24/7 and leaves my hair feeling like a dry, brittle, static-y, tangled-up rat's nest. Not pretty. I only minimally use heat tools on my hair and I don't dye it often and yet my hair looks as damaged as a bleached and fried mess. I massage about a dime-sized amount of this gel into the ends of my hair (dry, not wet) and add more if needed, then brush it through. The result is healthy-looking, calm, glossy hair that's resistant to static... a serious life saver! This stuff is NOT oil or a silicone-based serum so it won't make you hair look greasy at all, and it's not even a styling gel so it won't make it crunchy either. Instead it just gets absorbed into the hair and makes it soft and healthy. I even take the bottle with me to work and use it as needed. SO... moral of the story, if you have frazzled hair, live in a dry climate or work in a lab like I do, use this!! You can thank me later :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 etenarcadiaego on 10/13/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by etenarcadiaego

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So first of all, let's me say this: aloe vera gel is an AMAZING skin-saver. I put in on my skin as a mask over night and by the morning, my skin is hydrated, refreshed and glowing, with all traces of acne disappeared. I don't know what I'd do with out it!

But with that said, especially if you are putting Aloe Vera on your face, you probably want to go with a more natural product. I was excited to see that Trader Joe's sold low cost, natural -looking Aloe Vera Gel, but when I took it home, I found that it made my skin incredibly itchy, which doesn't usually happen with Aloe Vera Gel. It even made parts of my skin break out in hives. Yeesh. I don't like to waste things, so since I can't use it on my skin, I've been using it after shampooing as a conditioner, and rinsing it out. I have fine, curly hair, and I have to say that it leaves is soft and manageable with great body and shine. But I still wouldn't recommend it.

Another word to the wise- this brand contains methylparabens; this decreases your skin's tolerance to sunlight and can lead to increased skin aging and DNA damage. Even if it helps in the short term, using it long term may be putting your skin at risk :-/ It might be better to just pay a little bit more for a better product. I get the large bottle of the Lily of the Desert Aloe Vera Gel and it lasts for ages. A much better product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachesndream on 8/4/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by peachesndream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This single product has 100% changed my face and how my makeup looks and I would never have discovered it without Makeup Alley! I have tried all primers known to mankind and everything would either not work at all, sort of work, or initially work and then break down and leave my face so oily, with makeup sliding and looking like a total mess.

I was searching for yet again, maybe something different to try, and came upon this aloe vera gel. Since I already had a bottle of it in my medicine cabinet, I immediately tried it and have been hooked ever since.

This is how I use it to control oil, minimize look of pores, allow makeup to look fantastic, and highly improve quality of skin: 1)wash face, 2)tone with witch hazel, 3)put on facial lotion, 4)put on aloe vera gel all over face and neck, 5)put on primer, 6)put on foundation.

This has been my routine and I know I will never stray from it because the results are so dramatic and it literally has been what I have been searching high and low for, to only find a bottle of it already inside my home!

I get so many compliments on my skin, and more importantly, I feel confident during the day that my face looks nice and I don't have to worry anymore about wondering if my nose area foundation is coming off, or if I was sweating in the sun and it is smearing all over the place.

I also can now use up my collection of foundations I have purchased over the past year in search for the best one. This gel now allows me to use any foundation and any powder with ease and without fear of what my own facial oil will transform it into.

I also use it at night, sometimes, as a treatment, either before facial lotion or alone. My face has never looked so great! It also gets better the more you use it.

The bottle is HUGE and inexpensive, too. I haven't tried any other brands because I have this gigantic bottle, but I have a feeling any aloe vera gel would work the same if the ingredients are similar.

This has truly changed my life and I am so happy for MA and the people who post here with tips! If you have oily skin and struggle with finding a combination of products that actually work and have spent your hard earned money on expensive products, please try this. At the least, you are left with a bottle of aloe vera gel, which is handy to have around anyway.

THIS IS MY PERSONAL MIRACLE PRODUCT!!!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebum on 5/5/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by blondebum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Aloe vera gel is such a great beauty tip to reduce redness, shrink pore size, fight irritation, and combat the effects of the sun (sunburns and peeling)

I bought this at trader joes for around $3 and it feels very cool and calming when applying. I apply a small quarter size amount evenly all over my face and it feels very tight at first. Do not let this scare you- it is getting deep down into your pores and reducing inflammation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misterandry on 5/5/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by misterandry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In general, I find aloe vera gel to be excellent for my skin, and I like the Trader Joe's brand mainly because it's easily available and doesn't seem to have any irritating chemicals in it. It's not very moisturizing, which is why I only use it in the morning, under my foundation- it keeps my skin matte, helps my foundation stay, and prevents any cakiness. I've also noticed that between this, my AHA cream, and turmeric face masks, my acne scars are much much lighter- unnoticeable under some powder, really.

Plus, for the price, it's fantastic. I don't remember how much I paid, but it was definitely under ten bucks, and it's been six months and I'm not even halfway through the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* admilly101 on 9/15/2012 7:04:00 PM more reviews by admilly101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Why didn't I find this sooner?!
This, surprisingly, makes an excellent mattefying primer. I wouldn't say this works with all foundations, but paired with my CG Natureluxe, they are a match made in heaven.
I used to not like the idea of a primer. The main purpose of a primer was to fill in your pores so your foundation wouldn't, however... Why would I want to fill my pores with even MORE chemicals? So I looked for natural primers, and heard that aloe vera gel makes a great primer. And indeed, it does. It dries fast though, so you need to work quick. I suggest blending into the skin in sections. Definitely wear moisturizer underneath, because this is very drying! My foundation stays matte WAY longer with this. It gives my make up something to stick to. This is affordable, natural, great for healing acne, and does the job wonderfully. Whats not to love?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 8/15/2012 11:07:00 AM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Multi-fuctioning, great for your skin and most of all, cheap! (I think this was something like $2-3 for the whole big bottle).


I like how light this gel is, it sinks into my skin super quickly. However, even on my oily skin, it provides veeeeery little hydration. (Taking off one lippie for that.) I was hoping it would replace my summer moisturizer, but I can only use it that way (alone) the hottest, most humid of summer days. Otherwise I do need to follow up with another lotion, especially if I am applying this right after cleansing.


Like all mainly-aloe products, this is great for your skin if it's irritated, swollen or sunburned. One great use I found for it is to rub it all over my palms and then pat it all over my skin before I sleep. It definitely sooths my skin and also helps my skin feel soft and smoother in the long run. I firmly believe that aloe is one of those natural, miracle-workers on skin, so I'm trying to find even more ways to encorporate this into my skin regime.


However, I'm taking off another lippie because this stuff burns my eyes and I have no idea why. I have to pat really carefully around my eyes or otherwise I start tearing like I cut an onion or something. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 8/15/2012 10:52:00 AM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, I like the aloe vera gel as a cheap alternative to the 100% natural aloe gel.
I usually mix an essential oil or attar (rose, kewra, sandalwood) with a generous dollop of the aloe gel and apply to my arms and legs after bathing. It helps keep the skin hydrated and soft. It did not do much for alleviating my sunburn, though.
Just wish the gel did not have so many parabens and TEA/DEA chemicals in it! For the price, it is a good, generous quantity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msog177 on 6/4/2012 4:14:00 PM more reviews by msog177

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I took off a lippie because it does have parabens in it. But I love this gel. It's so great. I use it mostly for cosmetic reasons. It's my "secret" trick to the most perfect eyeliner application in years. I've tried a thousand different liners - liquid, gel, cream, powder, pencil, etc. Nothing has ever given me such a precise, perfect, bold fabulous line as a dip of aloe vera gel into a black powder eye shadow, with my small eyeliner brush. I get the most gorgeous line. I will never apply eye liner another way again. In the last couple of weeks, I've gotten more compliments on my eyeliner and the precision of the line than I've ever gotten. Love this gel for grooming my eyebrows as well. It makes my brows look perfect. This bottle will probably last me 10 years (although I won't keep it that long). :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emmanelson96 on 5/5/2012 1:31:00 PM more reviews by emmanelson96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be the one giving this a bad review, but my skin just can't stand aloe vera for some god foresaken reason. I put this on at night the first night I got it and in the morning I had a slew of new pimples. I also got pimples on my chest and back.The night before my skin was clear and radiant.
I also put this on my legs, which was my big deciding factor of why I am posting this review. My legs got like 2 pimples on them. I always know when my skin hates a product when I see a pimple or two on my legs, because I never break out there. Who does?

Aloe vera just seems to cause my skin a lot of trouble. If you are trying this out, check on a little spot of your skin to see how things go before you apply it generously all over your body like I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Lotions/ Creams products