LUSH • Dark Angels • Cleansers

rated 4.0(274 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Law08 on 9/10/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by Law08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

ok i love this stuff but i feel its a pain in the ass to apply, def not a fan of that...sooooo just buy lushs coal face, its like the exact thing only in bar form...and i ADORE it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maggiemccann11 on 9/3/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by maggiemccann11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was having trouble with my oily t-zone and random zits all summer and tried many different products. I finally was fed up and decided that maybe all natural skin products would work. So far it has! I have been using this product for about two weeks and my skin looks very smooth and my pores are smaller.

My main goal was to rid of oil and blackheads on my nose and forehead and that hasn't improved drastically- ust a little.

Pro- The overall look of my skin is great though! It looks like I have a light powder foundation on when I don't. I would definitely recommend this product to anybody!

Con- Try to use in the shower or when hair is up...I have little black sand all in my scalp on my forehead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jkhan on 9/3/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by jkhan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for two weeks now and i am in love with it. i have very oily/acne prone skin and nothing ever works on me. i was recently prescribed a tropical medication by my doctor to help with my acne...which helped a lot but i wanted something more natural. so i switched to this after a friend recommended this. BEST decision ever.

The product is a little messy to use but its amazing. you need a pea sized amount...turn into a paste with water and scrub away. surprisingly it's gentle enough to use twice a day. after washing your face the product leaves a slight oily residue on your skin...preventing it from drying out...which probably helps with acne control.

Great product. Highly recommend it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicolewo on 8/30/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by nicolewo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this. If smooths my face out and I kind of enjoy the smell, it's very earthy. I do find it a bit hard to get the consistency right though, and it's messy stuff! But I'm liking what this is doing for my face so I'll continue using it.

I follow it up with Fresh Farmacy to ensure it is completely cleaned off my face, works a charm!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DisNicole on 8/24/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by DisNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Lush, so I really wanted to like this but I couldn't get into it. The smell and texture were awesome, but it left my skin feeling grimey. Like all of my pores were clogged too. Maybe that's just the way it feels, maybe it's actually great but I'll never know because I'm not willing to take the risk. I'm very put off by the way it made my skin feel, dirtier than how it began.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 addkg777 on 8/18/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

i much prefer my angels on bare skin because even though this is for acneic skin, i found it extremely oily. it will stain your bath tub if youre not careful and thats a pain. it has a pretty strong charcoal smell as is expected.
the only reason i said i would repurchase is because my husband loves it! and he doesnt ever use anything besides all in one body wash! you know the one thats a shamppo, body wash, and face wash all in one haha. but he just loves it and wants more when he runs out.
i didnt use it long enough to notcie benefits because the oil scared me and im not sure if it wouldve broken me out but it doesnt seem to hurt my husbands skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissNostalgia on 8/16/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I guess I would buy this again.

Its actually a good product, it really gets in there and scrubs it down, and the pot lasts forever and ever.

The only thing I dont like about it, is probably actually part of what makes it good, is the consistency. Its literally a pot of ground up muds. Its thick, grainy, earth. Frankly, I found it surprising (I bought it on the website, not the shop, so, I didnt really get a look at it), usually I have to give it some watering-down with a cleansing milk, because otherwise, its just a hard palm-full of immobile, unlubricated, irritating soil. BUT, if you do use just a little, and gently mix in something until you reach the right texture, its very good. So, while its a little off-putting that its not a creamy grit-mixture like what you usually get in a tube of exfoliant, but, the benefit is that you can mix in the moisture of your choice until you have exactly the texture you want. Its very versatile that way.

Takes a bit of effort to rinse off though, stains light-colored washcloths, and its definetly not the kind of exfoliant you should throw around on a daily basis, its pretty hard-core and could easily shred and dry your face if you overdo it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cactus_Pear on 8/14/2014 5:47:00 AM more reviews by Cactus_Pear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is great. the first ingredient is MUD, apparently some kind of special mud. also has charcoal in it. the exfoliator in it is finely ground almond meal, I love it, it feels gentle/ soft on the skin but really makes my skin feel clean afterward. This is not a wimpy scrub!

cons: I only use it in the shower because if I use it at the sink, I get black colored droplets everywhere, but maybe I am just messy

the smell: it's not exactly pleasant to me


pros: lasts forever. you only need a pea sized amount when using, my tub is lasting me a long time, enough to justify the price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SalArdestani on 8/6/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by SalArdestani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually work for Lush and I can honestly say this product is truly amazing. This is said from personal experience and feedback from customers.

The packaging is 100% recyclable, as we do this with all our pots. You get a free facemask when you collect and return 5 black pots (they have to be clean) which is well worth it!

I would NOT advise this to be used as a mask, if you're looking for a mask that functions the same to this, I would suggest Mask of Magnaminty (also excellent).

The charcoal in this product is oil absorbent which is perfect for sucking up blackheads and the excess oil that causes this. The rasshoul mud deeply cleanses and removes oil whilst the sugar provides a thorough exfoliation deep into pores. This product comes in clay form so all you do is mix a pea sized amount with water to create a paste and scrub away.

For people who have said this is too harsh for their skin, you're only meant to be light when you wash with this as the sugar does the scrubbing for you! I only advise using this twice a week. You can use Coalface facial soap as a gentle alternative the rest of the days as this is very much the soap version of Dark Angels. Also fantastic at busting blackheads.

You can also mix Dark Angels with a little Angels on Bare skin to create a lovely balancing cleanser which is going to gently moisturise too.

REMEMBER: your skin refreshes itself around every 21 days, so to see a real result, stick with the same routine for approximately 3 weeks. This is because as your older skin cells are shedding, new skin cells underneath are being built and you MUST use the same treatment of your skin as they are building to get results! Do not expect a miracle after one use.


Hope this helps out.
I'm gonna be reviewing more lush products soon.

Peace and love!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chixxle on 7/30/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by chixxle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice face srub. I have moderately oily, teenage skin that gets breakouts especially on my forhead. I use this around every other day at night and it work great. Since I have been using it my oil has gone down, my breakouts and small bumps on my forehead are going away and my skin feels really soft. To use it I wet my face, dry it slightly, take a bit in the palm of my hand, Mix some water with it, spread it on my skin like a face mask, leave it for like 3 minutes, then gently wash it off; focusing the exfoliation on my t-zone. A tip is to make sure you don't scrub too hard or it can irritate your face. The only reason I didn't give this 5 lippies is because I hate the smell. It smells like peppers to me but what it really is is sandalwood and rose wood. The worst part is the smell lingers for a long time. Otherwise this is a a great cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products