LUSH • Dark Angels • Cleansers

rated 4.0(263 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ellensmith on 7/22/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ellensmith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this product, I love really abrasive scrubs to get rid of flaky skin. I also have really oily skin and it does a good job. the reason I gave this a bad score is because it is so messy. It gets absolutely everywhere and leaves a residue on the bottom of the shower that looks gross. I also discovered the hard way that it leaves a residue on your skin. I got out of the shower to find my skin was black. I will have to get back into the shower and use a scrubbing brush to clean it off. As much as i like the product using it is quite a hassle, so I use the Mac volcanic ash exfoliator instead which I love despite the gross smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 at900 on 7/12/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by at900

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is pretty insane. I've had oily, acne-prone, large pore-d skin since I can remember and it is the most annoying thing in the world! I've tried literally 100's of skin products, and have stuck with multiple combinations, but I think that I have finally found my perfect one. This face wash is amazing! It feels abrasive because of the sugar, but my extremely touchy, sensitive skin has shown no reaction to it. It feels really nice while scrubbing my skin and leaves it feeling super soft! The only downside is that it's a bit messy and I recommend using it when you're in the shower. I use this as part of a routine: in the AM, I first use this scrub & then use the tea tree foam wash from the body shop & finish it off with the moisture surge oil free lotion from Clinique (literally the ONLY lotion to not break my face out). In the PM, I've been using the Herbalism scrub from Lush (much gentler than the Dark Angels) & then the Boscia detoxifying black cleanser (also AMAZING), followed by the body shop tea tree toner & more of the Clinique lotion. Twice a week I steam with my face with the tea tree steamers from Lush & use the Glamglow detox mask (I'm not sure if it's worth the money yet, but I'm definitely not hating it!) I'm not sure which of these is working best or if they're all just working extremely well together, but I think that after 11 years of searching for a good routine for my skin, I have finally found it! My pores definitely look much tighter under my makeup and the oil is reduced (not completely of course, it's not a miracle cure). My acne is virtually gone as well, though this may be partly due to my hormones finally balancing out. Either way, I 100% will be repurchasing Dark Angels & would recommend it to anyone who has oily skin with stubborn acne or blackheads!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elajean on 7/8/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by elajean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this stuff but stopped purchasing it a while back due to inconsistency in the quality of the product. It worked well as a balancing cleanser for my combination skin when it was mixed correctly, but I found that sometimes it seemed like they used the wrong sugar- the grains were too large! Or maybe it was just too much? The last time I used it, it left scratches on my face!

So I started making my own clay-and-oil-based cleansers. I really do think the combination is a winner for a daily cleanser, and much better than the OCM or clay masks on their own. I'll share my recipe for my version of Dark Angels soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peachhsorbet on 7/6/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by peachhsorbet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is quite tricky, and I have spent years trying to find a cleanser that correlates with my skin type. I need a cleanser that properly cleans my skin but without the nasty chemicals.

Dark Angels is my holy grail skin product. Although the black colour and smell did initially put me off, I'm so glad I bought this. It is a little pricier than face washes and cleansers at 6.40 for a 100g tub, this product is super affordable as you only need to pick off a small piece every time you use this, so this product is going to last ages.

As my skin is quite oily, this helps tame that and moisturises it. I also have red bumps that appear on my t-zone, which before this product it was hard to control and many products I tried had irritated it and made it worse. However, Dark Angels has also helped to soothe those troubled parts and has almost cleared it up (I've been using this for 2 weeks).

As this product is a scrub (black sugar), people with extremely sensitive skin may want to avoid this and try one of Lush's other facial cleansers. Although my skin is a little sensitive, this product is very kind to my skin. The bonus is that there are no nasty chemicals, so my face is not absorbing anything harmful or irritating.

I have found that this product works well with Lush's Enzymion facial moisturiser too - both help to combat oily skin so if your face gets very oily you may want to have a try of those! :) The lady I spoke to in my local Lush store also told me the moisturiser keeps your skin from getting oily when you have make up on too, which I have found to be true (no touch-ups for me!!), so would defo recommend this cleanser and moisturiser! x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mandylyn on 6/17/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by mandylyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I adore dark angel! it's an excellent scrub facial wash that gets rid of impurities and gives ur skin an ultra clean after wash effect. besides using this for my face, I give my neck, chest and back the same scrub wash too for a gd cleanse. though it may seem harsh when u first use it, ease the product gently into ur skin with the right amount of warm water and it works fine! great buy tt will last a good 3mths.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaunan on 6/10/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is great. you can mix a whole lot with a little bit of water, or a little bit with lots of water to get your perfect scrub consistency. but its every exfoliating, so you might want to be careful. i use this every once in a blue moon to get my skin super dooper scrubbed free of every little trace of makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simkmel on 6/3/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by simkmel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

complete mess but I love using it! feels great on acne prone or oily skin, but no matter what my skin is like, I love to use this. All you need is a pinch and this last big time, I can't believe I debated buying it as long as I did

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BreahPickles on 6/1/2014 7:36:00 AM more reviews by BreahPickles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. This is my holy grail product. Nothing else works for me. When I'm at work, I can't wait to go home so I can wash my face with this stuff.

My love affair with Dark Angels started when I was in technical school for the Air Force (you finish basic, go to tech school to learn your job, then go to your first base - then you're a real person) I used to be friends with this girl and I would go to her room and we would have a girl's pampering day. One night she pulled this stuff out and we used it as a mask. I asked her if I could take a little back to my dorm room with me, and so she packed a bit in a Ziploc, and the rest was history.

I realized it wasn't a mask, but a facial scrub/wash - and started using it correctly. I use this every morning and night, and my skin has been the clearest it's been in a long time. I love the smell, texture, EVERYTHING about this product.

I got based in Germany, and the closest LUSH is almost two hours from my base, in Frankfurt - and I will drive there and back to get this product. (I usually wipe the store clean of this product though, imagine me...with 4 or 5 of these little things, stacked up - hobbling to the counter and this little German girl laughs at me...)

I'll be using this stuff for years to come. If they ever stop making it, I will be so depressed.
Someone needs to write a power ballad dedicated to Dark Angels.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DanicaMarie on 5/29/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by DanicaMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample with my last LUSH order and was unsure if i was even going to use it. I have oily skin, and i've read plenty of reviews on it on LUSH.ca but never pulled the plug on buying it purely just because i've been so happy with my other LUSH products. I figured it was some sort of sign they gave me this as a sample since i was slightly interested in it, so i gave it a go the other day. I am REALLY impressed so far. If you've ever used Herbalism from LUSH then you already know how to use Dark Angels. Works exactly the same, so i wasn't turned off by the mess it can make. The smell isn't great, but its not bad either. Its like a black licorice/dirt smell, but not over powering in my opinion. I didn't find it at all as abrasive as a lot of these reviews are saying. Maybe i mixed mine up more, who knows, but i found it a pretty light exfoliant. I also didn't experience the "residue" a lot of the reviews are also talking about, as soon as i splashed water on my face and wiped dry, it was all off. It left my skin feeling very soft and clean. Didn't dry me out either. I still use toner and moisturizer afterwards, but i didn't feel like i had to. My skin really seems to like this so far, i will probably buy a pot when my sample is up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 courtneyj20 on 5/26/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by courtneyj20

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not really sure about this product. I just started using it and I'm not sure if I'm breaking out because of this or what the deal is. The smell isn't offensive, however it is strong. The consistency is also not to bad. For this product I'm Switzerland.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products