Unlisted Brand • Motions Foaming Wrap Lotion • Styling Products

rated 4.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Rhester on 8/13/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Rhester

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is ok. I use another brand that I have fallen in love with called Nutress Hair. Nutress Hair Foam Wrap Lotion is the best !!! I use it all the time and it gives me great results. Its flake-free, fast drying, and make my hair soft. I love it ! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveblush on 5/19/2014 9:01:00 PM more reviews by iloveblush

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! I have been using this for a few weeks now. The first day I used this but hair was perfection. A little stiff but absolute perfection. It even got a bit wet and yet looked great. After that, I used this and my hair looked ok but nothing special. I don't know what happened. For reference I am Indian with slightly wavy, frizzy hair. I use this before blow drying for volume and style.

I have since been using it and am back in love. I mix Garnier aragon oil with my regular conditioner and rinse. I then towel dry hair and put in a golf ball size amount of foam on the ends of a my hair, a slightly smaller sized amount of foam on the two sides and another bit on the crown.

I then blow dry section by section and put each section in Velcro rollers right after I finish blow drying each section. I keep on the Velcro rollers and do my makeup. I take out the rollers and I have polished ends and volume that lasts.

One tip - before I introduced the Garnier oil, my hair felt crunchy and bit dry. I find this to be the perfect combo for hair that holds a style but is still soft and shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 9/12/2013 5:40:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I pincurl my hair regularly and have used Tresemme 24-Hour Body Mousse for that purpose for months. I heard the buzz about Motions and gave it a try.

First, I really like the foaming pump action. I don't know what kind of propellants are in aerosol mousse cans, but this has got to be more environmentally friendly because it's a simple mechanical process like a hand soap foamer. I liked that I can pump out a little bit onto my fingertips and work it into my hair instead of having to dab away at an expanding blob the size of an egg or a tennis ball. I got kind of worried that I'd misjudged the total amount and put too much in my hair, but that turned out not to be the case. It doesn't feel sticky on my hands when it dries, and it has a mild sweet generic-hair-product scent I don't mind. (Goes away when dry.)

I notice the ingredients list way more silicones than the Tresemme mousse does. I'm not anti-silicone but this should have prepared me for the problem I had when I first used it. My habit is to roll my pincurls dry and then spray them with water, so I blowdried my hair till almost completely dry before trying to curl it. My hair was so silky and slippery I absolutely could not get it into pincurls! I struggled with about 4 curls for as long as it usually takes me to do my entire head, then gave up, and spritzed the individual sections with water and put them in curls. That worked fine. I have to say that my hair was not only coney-silky and shiny, it was really bouncy and full. I may start wearing my hair straight more often if it's going to be that pretty with this mousse.

After drying, my curls are INSANELY shiny and soft. I never thought there was a problem with how Tresemme left my curls but as far as texture and bounciness goes, Motions beats it hands down. Staying power is good, some drooping of second-day curls (after re-rolling overnight) that concerns me a little but it may only be an issue of tweaking the moisture levels. I will say that when I roll it back up even for a short time it really gets very curly again, but I'm not sure about the lifespan of those curls yet.

I'm not too concerned about the alcohol content because I henna my hair and it's pretty well armored against product damage, but I'll keep an eye on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bandabug on 5/2/2012 9:41:00 AM more reviews by bandabug

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be the voice of dissent, as I had very high hopes for this product. For reference, I have straight, fine, thin, blonde hair. I was hoping to find a good, inexpensive volumizer and, based on the reviews, decided to take a chance on this one. Well, I used it 3 times and won't be using it again -- I just can't make it work for my hair type. I tried using less, using more, all to no avail. It leaves my hair TOO controlled and stiff...like I used hairspray to style my hair. My hair is already so fine -- it needs lift AND movement to look its best. Also, it made my dark blonde roots look darker (yuck.). So, as a volumizer, I was not sold. However, ladies with thick and/or unruly hair would probably have great success with it. It definitely adds hold and definition to your style! It's cheap ($4.99 at Walgreens), so if your hair is a different texture and you are on the prowl for a new styling product, it's worth a shot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 12/9/2011 7:35:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fine wavy here who also read about this in Allure. Since it can be drying after prolonged daily use, I only use it these days around my crown to give me a little extra lift. But it is so light and airy, yet does so much to boost your hair (with out turning it into a big frizz poof). It so darn cheap, it can not hurt to try it. I want to experiment, but I bet if you put some Morroccanoil on your hair followed by this it would be nice hair and take care of the drying problem. I would have given it a 5, but gave it a 4 because the prolonged use leading to being a bit dry concerns me. But not enough to stop using this ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paintingitpink on 10/29/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by paintingitpink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Awesome product. I have fine, thin, straight hair that doesn't hold a curl. I had to find this product at an ethnic hair store, and it was only $4.99. This stuff holds my hair beautifully for all types of wet sets: foam rollers, curlformers and pin curls. It doesn't crust, and the curls last until I wash my hair again. I never use hairspray on the curls, which for me is unheard of. It does contain alcohol, so I definitely don't use this product daily, only when I have the time to set my hair. I used to use Lottabody setting lotion, but this one is a million times better. If you're into wet sets or vintage hairstyling, this product is a must!
UPDATE: I just purchased the "extra hold" version from Sally's. It is OUTSTANDING! My curls come out beautiful and they last for days. I thought the extra hold might leave curls a bit stiffer and crunchy, but it doesn't.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jogun11 on 10/25/2011 7:47:00 AM more reviews by jogun11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after reading about it in a magazine. It is in the ethnic hair section of the store. I have straight (though hormonal) shoulder length hair. It gets fly away and/or frizzy, poufy, depending on the weather. This stuff gives me heft, volume, quick blow drying, smoothing and style memory without the crunch. It is great for all hair types. The first day my husband said my hair looked nice. So did others after that. I do not like most hair products like mousse, gels, etc. I was basically only using hair spray after I styled. This stuff made me a believer in the RIGHT products. And it's only around $4.00!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissRubyJones on 8/19/2011 8:15:00 PM more reviews by MissRubyJones

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Like everyone else here at MUA, I had read raves about Motions Foaming Wrap Lotion in Allure, and figured I'd give it a try. I have shoulder length, medium-thick curly-to-wavy hair that often falls flat and loses curl definition in spots.

I'm satisfied to write that Motions Foaming Wrap Lotion solves both the falling flat and loss of curl definition problems! I simply comb this through wet hair after I get out of the shower, let my hair dry about 20 minutes or so on its own, then finish drying with a diffuser. I get big, luscious, well-defined curls that last and last.

But alas, I have three problems with Motions Foaming Wrap Lotion, none of which may be insurmountable for other users. First, it takes a LOT of this stuff for my hair. Like six pumps or something. Second, it seems to take my hair awhile to dry when I use it, so I definitely can't use it every time I wash/blow-dry. Finally, the scent, while not disgusting, is a little old-ladyish. However, it disappears once your hair is dry, and is worlds better than other setting lotions I've used.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 josephine1234 on 7/5/2011 1:42:00 PM more reviews by josephine1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I also bought this product after reading about it in allure. While it is suggested for use with fine hair, I actually have coarse wavy thick hair and it still works wonders. It definitely gives body and volume to blow dryer styled hair. It helps facilitate the styling process (i don't have to work the brush as much) and it keeps the style over a few days. I can't wash my hair everyday since it's so dry, so I've gone up to 3-4 days without washing with this product. Not once did my hair appear oily or flat. I've also used this as product when I let my waves air dry naturally. Amazingly, very little frizz and lots of shine were the result! I am very impressed. It didn't define my curls or make them bouncier, though (like other products have). Also, I won't use more than 3-4 pumps for below shoulder length hair. If so, I find it makes the hair a bit stiff. Definitely rebuying.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breakfastattiffanys11 on 6/25/2011 5:07:00 PM more reviews by breakfastattiffanys11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I also tried this after reading about it in Allure. I have long, fine, frizzy hair with oily roots and dry ends...so it takes A LOT of work for me to have a good hair day. While I've only had this product for a few days now, I have had a good hair day every single time I use it. My hair is bouncy, shiny, and volumized. So many volumizing products leave me with some volume and major frizz, but not this. This will definitely become a part of my everyday routine.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Styling Products products