Guerlain • La Petite Robe Noire • Fragrances

rated 3.3(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Kofte on 4/7/2014 8:57:00 AM more reviews by Kofte

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this perfume (the EDT) after smelling it on a colleague. Every time she passes by, I adored the smell. I don't get the same sensation when I wear it myself, it definitely suits her skin better than mine and this is not my favourite perfume. I use it to alternate my signature smell (Chloe Love), when I feel like a change. Still like it, but on me it smells quite cheap considering its Guerlain. Would definitely recommend trying this on for a few days before purchasing. It's amazing and sophisticated on my friend, smells good on me too but without that wow effect. Nice for a change, but wouldn't purchase again.

I got the bodylotion from my boss who is allergic to perfume and therefore only sprays it on clothing, cant bear it on her skin. I totally adore the bodylotion and think it smells better than the perfume. I'd probably not buy a second bottle once I run out, because it's a gorgeous smell but doesn't do it on my skin. Would definitely buy the bodylotion again though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marymary on 3/15/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by marymary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I definitely get the black cherry. Sitting on top of what smells like a bazillion designer fragrances mixed in a vat.
It's strong and longlasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kimber7 on 2/5/2014 1:52:00 PM more reviews by Kimber7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice scent but it reminds me so much of Lolita Lempicka purple bottle. The licorice notes are prominent in both. I think La Petite Robe Noir is easier to wear and softer but very similar for sure. If you don't like Lolita pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Malika1380 on 12/12/2013 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Malika1380

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think reviewing perfumes is generally not fair as it's not like skincare where it either works or it doesn't it's a simple case of if you like it or don't and perfume is so personal to the individual that really only you are the one that can say if you think it's nice or not. no amount of reading these reviews is gonna change that so I'm just writing this little note to say if you like what you read about it than go check it out and smell it for yourself. Personally I love it and think it's totally gorgeous :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 akharri785 on 11/27/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by akharri785

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For Guerlain, I'm very disappointed in this perfume.
To me, it smells a little too mature and not very sophisticated. Honestly, I thought it just smelled really cheap and heavy (read: powdery, amber-y, and cloying). As another reviewer mentioned, this is very strong and could definitely be "headache inducing for some." I also didn't pick up on any hints of cherry, almond, or other fruity scent at all; so much so that I double checked the bottle to see if it was the right perfume.

If you do like it, as another reviewer said, I'd recommend it as a "winter scent." I would also go light on this because it gets heavy in a hurry. It did have major staying power though. So much so that even after I attempted to wash it off, a friend still asked "who smells like grandma?" Not pleasant.

On the bright side, at least the bottle is adorable; would look great on anyone's perfume tray if the scent suites you.

Since everyone's chemistry is different, I would strongly recommend sampling this before purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SUPAtime on 11/25/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by SUPAtime

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Despite the interesting notes they listed (top: black cherry, bergamot, red berries, and almond. middle: Bulgarian and Turkish rose, licorice, and smoked black tea. base: aniseed, tonka bean, vanilla, iris, and patchouli) it smells more like a typical fruity mall perfume than anything else. It really lacks interest and character. The overall impression is sweet, fruity, and vapid. A disappointing offering from such a great perfume house.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldrauschengel on 9/16/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy wearing this because it won't turn too sweet on me, as lots of feminine scents do. This one is fruity and sexy but at the same time very sophisticated, there is some darker or spicier note to it that I cannot really recognize, but it makes this special. I also wear in the day and do not find it too heavy, though you might wanna compare the eau de toilette and eau de parfum...I am using edt right now and my impression is that I would get the perfume next time, it smells rounder and lingers better...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/7/2013 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like I spritzed myself with Cherry Coke! Of course there is a lot more to this amazing fragrance, but every time I wear it I think of Cherry Coke. :)
This is a delicious perfume that manages to be sweet, floral, and a little spicy all at once. When first spritzed on, you get a burst of sweet black cherry that is not medicinal or childish. The strong fruity scent lingers for about an hour before the rose scent begins to come through. When this scent dries down, I smell patchouli, licorice, vanilla, and tonka beans with the black cherry faintly in the background of it all. The dry down might be my favorite part -- it's such a gorgeous, spicy and sweet scent.
Looking at all the notes in this fragrance, I initially thought this would smell terrible and that the combination of all these wildly varying scents would not work. Obviously, I was wrong. This perfume combines heavy and light scents beautifully and create a fragrance that is mysterious and sexy. The scent is pretty strong, so I would save this one for nights. I can definitely see this being headache inducing for some, so if you are sensitive to scents, I would test this before buying. Also, while this scent is pretty strong, it fades considerably after only about 3 hours. It lasts on the skin for 8+ hours, but the scent is much softer and less noticeable.
Like I said, this is a heavy, sexy fragrance, and I think the name is perfect. It makes me want to get all dolled up, put on my LBD and go out on a hot date or hit the clubs. I also love the bottle, I think it is adorable! So glad I gave this perfume a chance, because it is now one of my favorites!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/7/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fruity, candy vanilla. A lovely bright zippy scent and still somehow formal. I like this one, and I'm not a fan of fruity florals. Can get very sweet on me (my skin amps sweet) so won't be a summer day scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 5/17/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've worn La Petite Robe Noire several times and i keep thinking of things to write a helpful review. After several wearings i think i can finally offer a good review. Since i first started wearing this the very first thing it reminds me of is tobacco leaves or just downright cigarette smoke. During this phase of the scent it is very masculine smelling. After a while, though, the smokey scent disappears and is replaced by fruits. Cherries and pomegranites to be exact and that is the color of the bottle too. A nice shade of red/pink with a pretty black dress. It lasts a decent amount of time on the skin too which i really like. All in all a wonderful scent. Also, La Petite Robe Noire is just ever-so-slightly masculine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Fragrances products