MAC • Lovedust • Lipstick

rated 3.8(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 hedy on 10/27/2010 1:42:00 AM more reviews by hedy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i have found a great alternative to the long gone and discontinued mac lovedust lipstick. its from a company called vip cosmetics. they have a color called puppy love. its as if they made a deliberate copy of this color and improved on it b/c its not as dry as lovedust was. its a creamy version and the same exact color - nude with a gold shimmer. i highly reccomend it and its only abot $10. you can get it directly form www.vipcosmetics.com

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tawnyinthepink on 2/4/2010 9:47:00 PM more reviews by tawnyinthepink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought 2 of these recently because I just heard about the loveliness that is this color! I AGREE!!!!! I adore this color...but will admit that this color does DRY out the lips!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kragey on 12/7/2009 9:26:00 PM more reviews by kragey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

While this lipstick is my favorite nude because it's so unique and I haven't found anything better, I wouldn't actually pay another $14 for a new tube, even if it weren't discontinued. Like others have said, the color is great; it's super pale and has gold shimmer in it. But holy CRAP, this lipstick is drying! I'm so used to MAC's lipsticks being creamy that this one threw me for a loop. This dryness, plus the glitter, makes it slightly unwearable for me, so I really only wear it for photographs. A neat color, and I do like it, but I don't know if the dryness is worth putting up with.

UPDATE: I have recently discovered that the Wet n' Wild square lipsticks have a dupeable shade, 908B. It's a LITTLE different from Lovedust, but not by much, and it's not nearly as drying. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 horsefish on 10/2/2009 1:58:00 AM more reviews by horsefish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lovedust was my first lipstick from MAC, and I still love it...but am aware of its flaws as well.
I have yet to find a color quite like this, it's a super-pale color but the plentiful amount of gold sparkles add warmth.
But like other reviewers say, this lipstick is REALLY drying and almost feels like rubbing something powdery/dusty against your lips (at least the name's right on I guess...?). You definitely want to moisturize your lips beforehand or maybe afterward to get that beautiful nude look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HelloKinky on 10/1/2009 4:06:00 PM more reviews by HelloKinky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say that I had never seen a matte lipstick with shimmer before and a nude no less? I had to give it a try. The color is close to myth but with a gold shimmer which makes it a bit more chalky. Although it is a bit drying, it is a pretty color and with a bit of gloss you have yourself a winner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aline7 on 2/8/2008 12:41:00 AM more reviews by Aline7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is too drying!!! Even when I mix with other lippies that are softer and smoother .. it dries me out..

I do have naturally dry lips but it is excessively drying!!!

will not repurchase but enjoy what I have left.. while using lots of lip balm for counteracting the dryness with moisture.

I am giving it 3 lippies only because the color is beautiful ..(it has a sheer shimmery effect.. love it!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mnf4ever on 11/24/2007 6:04:00 PM more reviews by mnf4ever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

On my asian NC35, tan, yellow-undertoned complexion and rosy-mauve pigmented lips, this lippie looked weird on me...I could possibly make it work if i mix a soft pink lipgloss on top of it, but I was looking for a nude that would just work on its own...it tones down the color of my lips drastically, but not in a way that looks flattering...up for swap it goes...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BCbabe on 11/24/2007 1:34:00 PM more reviews by BCbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Believe it or not this baby sat in my stash for *years* before I finally made a go of it. Being a glitter matte, it's drying on it's own. I've been in the habit lately of putting a good layer of balm (RoC Enydrial) on my lips before lipstick and it allows me to apply just a thin layer that looks more like gloss than a solid l/s. I've got pigmented lips too so this ends up looking like a sheer golden pearl highlight that lightens my lips a little.
Definitely not for everyone though. Those with light or pale lips might find this will wash them out, but if you have pigmented ones like me, this is very pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sidley on 8/17/2007 8:11:00 AM more reviews by sidley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    


I imagine this colour would look gorgeous on a beach babe with dirty blonde hair and a sparkling tan.

On a washed out, NW20 girl with black hair- not so great.

It's sparkling gold shimmer is very pretty.

However it is very dry in texture so if you suffer with dry or chapped skin this wouldn't look very attractive.

Someone said below the trick is to apply a very thin layer or it will be chalky. Totally agree.

So if you've got a tan, blonde and like a bit of gold shimmer in your life this is for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glossylocks on 7/25/2007 7:26:00 PM more reviews by glossylocks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't know this was discontinued. This is such a pretty color. You can't use it by itself, at least I can't, but this looks so pretty with a nude lipliner and some gloss over it. It creates a beautiful nude lip with some help. Myth is not an alternative, I've tried it and was dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products