L'Oreal Waterproof Voluminous Carbon Black

2.6

250 reviews

30% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/18/2015 7:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Good Lord, does this stuff smudge! I don't use very much mascara at all -- just a single flick on each eye's upper outer lashes -- and I still wind up with raccoon eyes after only an hour of wearing this. One hour, at home, where it is cool and dry, with no eye-touching at all. That's *terrible* performance, and I swear, it continues to smudge for days. I thought for sure I'd taken it all off last night, but then this morning -- raccoon eyes again. So back to the oil-based remover, and once again I thought I'd got it all off, only to find in another two hours? Raccoon eyes *again.* This is crazy. I've honestly never seen smudging like this before. Even in my teenaged Goth phase, when I was all about the super-heavy black eye makeup, I never had this type of persistent smudging.

I hate throwing things away, but I think I'm going to have to toss this one out. Not recommended.



on 3/7/2015 9:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

NOT WATERPROOF. I've been wearing the regular Voluminous Waterproof for almost 20 years and that version wears like iron. I've worn the regular one to the gym, with allergies, whatever and it does not budge, but the Carbon Black version smudges easily. Hoping the tube runs out soon.


on 2/19/2015 1:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the worst drugstore brand mascara I've tried if not the worst one ever. I bought it from a local drugstore as a cold season waterproof alternative to my other non-waterproof brand I usually use. And... it smuges!!! It's the only one conventional mass market (packed with potentially dangerous chemicals), waterproof mascara that does that! I mean, not only it's packed with chemicals that are supposed to work but it's also advertised as waterproof. Yet, by the time I arrive at work, I clearly see ugly black circles around my eyes and by the lunch break, a good portion of it is under my eyes like I just came back from a night club of have been crying. And what's worse, it's next to impossible to remove it. I've tried everything I could from mascara removers to olive oil, cleansing milk and soap. It takes me 4 times more time to remove it than with other brands and then next morning I still see black stains under my eyes. Plus, it is not really working and my eyelashes just look plain as usual when I don't wear mascara. I dislike this product so much and I got so frustrated trying to remove it tonight that I decided to register and review it. What a waste of my money, never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 4:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Contrary to most of the reviewers, I LOVE this mascara. I agree that it isn't as waterproof as most waterproof formulas, but that's exactly what I like about it. It is just waterproof enough, leaves your lashes soft and comes off relatively easy with an oil based makeup remover (I use Ponds cold cream). With other waterproof mascara I always feel like my lashes are going to break or fall out due to dryness and difficulty taking it off, but not with this one. I also have never experienced raccoon eyes and I am prone to it having oily skin. Other plus - the color is super dark. This mascara is my HG drugstore mascara.


on 12/6/2014 2:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Agree with most reviews here, it smudges like crzay!!!! I wore eyeliner and this mascara during first use, I looked like a panda in 2 hours. I wanted to figure out which one is the culprit, eyeliner or mascara, so this time I wore this mascara alone. Again in two hours, the panda was back when I looked at myself in the mirror. Going to the trash now!!


on 10/29/2014 7:47:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This has been my HG for over 25 years. I'm surprised that it's not rated higher on this site. I have super long lashes and this has been the best mascara. I've tried all the other mascaras that have been rated highly but none are as good as this one. Everyone is always asking me what brand of mascara I wear.


on 10/21/2014 9:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I been using this mascara for the past two months . My eyelashes are sort of think and hang down so its really hard for me to curl my eyelashes and have mascara on without going down . At first I didn't really like the product but after two weeks I began to like it . Now when I curl my eyelashes they look long and full thanks to the mascara . Only problem is since my bottom lashes are really tiny the product gets on my eyelid not the lashes so I wish they had a smaller brush for the bottom lashes and also I don't like how so much of the product comes out on the brush but other then that I really enjoys this mascara and this is something I will keep buying :)


on 10/20/2014 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the affect of this mascara as it's very black and give a very bold lash look and it adds density to my lashes. I haven't come across another mascara that gave the same intensity. The problem is that this mascara is that it smudges really bad...15-30 mins and I have a ring of black smudge under my eye. The mascara has a thick dense bristle brush and the formula is drier I found myself running the mascara under hot water to make the mascara work better. I pair this with clinique high impact curling mascara on top to prevent the smudging as that is a tubing mascara can seal in the mess of this mascara and I get a HG product effect. In addition this mascara is also incredibly hard to remove. Soo...on it's own I can't rate it very highly even though I found an amazing way to use it and solve all it's major flaws.


on 10/20/2014 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this by mistake because I wanted the original non waterproof. But I figured it was ok because I usually wear waterproof anyway.

When I first tried it I loved how black the product was, but it seemed too wet. With my followup applications, I go through the following steps:
Get tissue or toilet paper and open the mascara so that the stick of the wand is exposed
Then I wrap the tissue around the stick of the wand, fairly tightly, making sure that the tissue is as close to the tube as possible
And then I pull the wand all the way through and I have the perfect amount and very little waste because the excess has never left the tube!

To remove, I remove it the same way I remove all my other makeup: Coconut oil. I know that some may shy away from oils because of their skin type, but I have oily skin and coconut oil has been a godsend. I first apply the oil to my eyes, and massages GENTLY until I feel my mascara has been dissolved. Then I wipe with a warm wash cloth. Sometimes depending on the day, I may go back with a second application of coconut oil, but that's rare. And then I proceed to remove the rest of my makeup the same way.

This mascara lasts all day on my eyes. I don't get raccoon eyes, and I get compliments when I wear this on my "no makeup days." The key to this mascara is to wiggle at the base and then blink onto the wand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 2:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm looking for a DS mascara that I can quickly flick on before I go to the gym - something that will give me black lashes that look defined, be waterproof and smudgeproof, and hold a curl. I'm not too concerned about the effort to remove it at the end of the day.
Unfortunately, this mascara is NOT IT.
I like the packaging and I rather like the brush. The mascara does apply nicely and looks very nice (black and defined) immediately after application. However, after two hours of regular wear (no workout test yet), I look like a raccoon! This mascara has a HUGE SMUDGE PROBLEM on me.
So, into the can it goes... on with my hunt.




Back to Top