GVP Generic Value Products GVP Conditioning Balm

4.3

85 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Propylene Glycol, Myristyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Decyl Oleate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Hexyl Cinnamal, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Golden Seal) Extract, Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwack) Extract, Methyl-2-Octynoate.


on 8/8/2015 8:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Best deep conditioner I've tried, and my thick, wavy hair is very hard to please. Leaves it soft and lovely.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of two of my holy grail deep conditioning masks (a close runner-up is the Moroccanoil Intense Hydrating Mask)! It isn't as "balmy" (thick/oily) as the old Matrix version, but otherwise it is nearly identical and performance-wise gets 4/4 stars from me, as the first generation Conditioning Balm has been long discontinued.

My natural hair is normal: not super oily and not very dry. However, I process my hair every 4-6 weeks (high-lift) and it takes a toll on my ends, which start to dry up, stiffen, and break. This problem has caused me be unable to grow my hair long, as it has become PRONE to breakage. It's also made my strands dull and tangly overall.

My hair itself isn't fine; I don't have a TON, but it's medium-textured, medium-density, and has a large curl pattern that tends to poof instead of look defined because it's usually so dehydrated.

I cannot use protein in my hair care regimen - unless it is directly after a very intense process. Even then, my hair is so picky and sensitive, that I'm still struggling to find a protein reconstructive treatment that doesn't leave my hair stiff as wires (K Pak is the reason I had to bust out my pure Argan oil & use up the rest of my Moroccanoil mask)!

When I use this mask, my hair's softness and shine is restored. It's as simple as that; this WORKS! No more crunchy or brittle ends that suck the life out of my hair. I can never be without this mask, especially for under ten dollars... it's hands down, the best!

I have found zero con's with this product. The scent doesn't trigger headaches (and I'm prone to them), the packaging doesn't bother me (I much prefer bottles to tubs), and the formula is 100% effective.

Please, NEVER discontinue this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2015 2:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This gem is rare in that its both protein-free AND silicone-free... Hard to find conditioners like this! My hair does not need protein, and in fact gets dry and stiff if I use protein even in small doses. I buy this when I can't afford the original Biolage Conditioning Balm, one which I have been using for 20 years. My hair is in pristine condition. (see my reviews for Biolage... and you can also see my hair in my photos).
This is a FANTASTIC knock-off, well worth every penny, and very very close to the original in fragrance, ingredients, and effects. Very very moisturizing!
It is not as thick as the original, and so it is a wee bit less conditioning, and the fragrance is not as beautiful, but also not as strong, which could be a plus for many.
I buy the original whenever I can because I do like it better, and because Biolage has been such a life-changing experience that I feel I owe it to the world to make my small contribution to make sure that it is never discontinued, remains easy to find, and that the recipe for success is never changed in favor of a cheaper to produce sub-par formulation (ahem... like they did with the ULTRA versions).
But when I am very poor, I buy this... and I may even prefer their version of the moisturizing shampoo better than the Matrix Biolage one. May.
Also, if you understandably dont want to shell out $$ for Biolage just to try it out, definitely buy this one as a way of sampling the original.
Miracle product, almost perfectly matching the original. So glad it exists. If youre interested in trying the original, read my rave review of BIOLAGE CONDITIONING BALM
UPDATE: I just learned that the GVP version of Conditioning Balm is actually based on the superior oldest formulation of the original Biolage Conditioning Balm. I changed my rating to five stars. This conditioner may actually be BETTER than the current formulation of the Biolage Hydrasource Conditioner (formally known as Conditioning BALM)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 9:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like it thus far, my hair is naturally dry, wavy and as of about 2 years ago highlighted with bleach in some areas. This product is nice, but when it comes to deep conditioners I'm always on the hunt for an HG, not sure if this is it. It fits the bill for now and it works so I'm going to use up my bottle and see where I want to go afterwards.


on 12/8/2014 11:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

OMG I don't understand the good reviews. This is nothing like biolage in smell or performance. It's waxy and greasy. I would hold them to their guarantee and return it to the address on the bottle but it's not worth the shipping price. Wish I never got this, I will never use it again as it streaked my hair in heavy wax and ended up buying more biolage instead.


on 10/15/2014 1:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had high hopes for this product. I do not have tangle issues. I am always in need of a good moisture product, since I live in a dry climate and my hair is always parched. This seemed to fit the bill. Other reviews speak of it packing a moisture punch, but may not detangle well. Anyway, the day after I purchased it I decided to give it a go. I did my once a month clarifying wash and slathered it on. It is a thick balm, and in my 2c/3a, somewhat coarse hair it was easy to spread through. It had a very strong perfume smell to it, which I did not care for. I've always found strong scents to be headache provoking. Strike one. Still, I left it on and applied heat with a blow dryer. My hair felt so soft and silky at this point. Things were looking good. After 30 minutes, I showered. I rinsed and the silky feeling was still there, but only for a few seconds. I quickly noticed a waxy feeling, hair that I could not run my fingers through (which I can always do with my normal conditioners), and my hair was matting. Uh-oh, strike two. I should have re-washed and conditioned, but I pressed on. I tried to style my hair as normal (raking oil in, scrunching gel in, air drying or diffusing). As soon as I tried the oil I could tell I would have to re shower and start over. I tried just rinsing, and that left a coating. I tried a low-poo and that wasn't enough. Strike three. I had to use a sulfate shampoo, which I only do occasionally (once a month maybe), and because I did that before the treatment, my hair is now drier than it was pre-treatment. NOT GOOD. I will hopefully be able to restore moisture levels with a week of pampering with my normal products. In the mean time, I tried to style as normal after re-washing and conditioning and that isn't working, so I'll have to re-rinse and condition and out it up in a loose bun. Ugh. What a hassle. This may work great for some, but not for me. Back to coconut oil for deep treatments.


on 9/27/2014 10:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my back up go to...Love it and truly forget about it when something with razzle dazzle sparkle comes along. Always come back to this, though.


on 9/22/2014 9:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this stuff! It really moisturizes my hair & leaves it with a nice slip without using any silicones!! It works better than the suave k.o. & at least as well as the original...maybe better since I won't be stingy with the amount I use at this price. I have longer thickish hair and need a pretty good size palmful of conditioner to make sure all my hair gets covered.


on 8/28/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is my HG goto conditioner. It's great as a daily, and absolutely rocks as a DC. I use it with it's matching shampoo, and always after the GVP K Pak. I love the Matrix brand, and this stuff performs every bit as well. Unlike the Matrix version, the GVP balm is totally protein free. This stuff keeps my ends soft all day, through the Florida heat and humidity. Gotta love that moisture moisture moisture!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2014 9:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

(I haven't tried the Biolage version, so I can only compare it to my experience with other conditioners.) It leaves my hair silky smooth without weighing it down or leaving residue. (I can't judge it based on shine because my hair is straight and black, so that's not an issue for me.) I was loving it from the first use and I will definitely be stocking up on it.
It's in a bottle, but it's so thick that I prefer to remove the cap and squeeze a dollop of it into my hand. I wring out the excess water from my hair after shampooing and work it into the ponytail part. Comb through, leave in, and rinse out with cold water at the end of my shower. Also, I switch my shampoo and conditioner about every 2 weeks for best results and to prevent product buildup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top