Unlisted Brand • Generic Value Products GVP Conditioning Balm • Conditioner

rated 4.4(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaulaBenoit on 8/22/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by PaulaBenoit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My husband picked this up for me at a Sally's in Buffalo as the Canadian stores do not carry it (and online it cannot ship to Canada). My hair is pretty dry from coloring and highlights. After one use my hairs moisture was restored, my hair is soft, supple, shiny and bouncy. Most times after I wash my hair and blow dry it with a round brush I need to add a serum from the mid shafts down to calm any frizz due to my hairs dry texture but after using this conditioner my hair was smooth and silky. Huge difference to how the ends of my hair look and feel. The conditioner itself is very thick and rich, a little goes a long way. I left it in for 5 minutes and then rinsed. I've never tried the Matrix version of this but considering how well this product performed I can't see why I would pay a premium for the Matrix brand when this did such an amazing job. Cost was $5.89 for 16 oz. An absolute steal. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adavi0140 on 7/23/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by adavi0140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

On my second bottle of this. I co-wash, and use this as a rinse out. It has an extremely thick texture, which is why it scored low on packaging. The product is so thick that getting it out of a squeeze bottle is a fight. A pump would be better, or even a tub, though the latter isn't always better when it's stored in a shower. It is very cheap, around 6 USD, which comes to about 6.50CAD. I don't believe this is available at Canadian Sally's Beauty Supply, but one might be able to order it online. Thankfully, I live on the border and have relatively easy access to it.
As for the actual product, it performs very well. It has a nice scent, not overpowering. Kind of vanilla-cream-y with a bit of floral. It leaves my curls very soft and shiny, and has decent slip. I use an amount about the size of two or three quarters for my thin, bra strap length hair. It is free of silicones also, for those who are CG(Curly-Girl), like myself.
So, overall, I would recommend this. It's a great conditioner and extremely inexpensive for the amount you get.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 6/2/2014 5:59:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS

- hydrating
- silicone free
- scent

CONS

- very thick
- can be hard to squeeze out

COMMENTS: Having tried the original conditioning balm by Matrix, this is a great dupe. I find this one a tad bit thicker, but it hydrates and smells just the same. I use this as my deep conditioner as I find it too heavy and rich to use as a leave-in or rinse out. I can see this being hard to squeeze out as you start to use up more product, so just keep this upside down to prevent having a hard time with that.

Will repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skibumschick on 5/13/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by skibumschick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is amazing. I have naturally curly hair. This conditioner makes my curls actually curl and not frizz in any way. It's too heavy for everyday use, but I work it into my routine at least once a week. It's definitely the best hair day of the week when I use it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 5/13/2014 8:12:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely LOVE this product. What a great, genuine duplicate that works just as well as the "original". I would probably buy this even if I weren't on a budget. I do love to splurge on Fekkai or Bed Head occasionally, but this product makes it so hard to justify! I do not have damaged or color treated hair, but use heat styling regularly so I do like extra moisture whenever possible. The smell is nice and the formula is thick and luxurious. A must have!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anne184 on 4/1/2014 3:26:00 AM more reviews by Anne184

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very pleased with this product. Makes my hair very soft and I only need a very little, since I have fine hair. I have not used the orginal so I cannot really compare. The scent is pleasant, but it doesn't last after my hair is dry. I am guessing that when using the original, the scent will last longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 1/30/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I buy this when I'm on a budget and it works well to condition my hair, but I love it even more as a leave-in. It softens and gives my curly hair good texture and shine without being too heavy or greasy. I love that it is protein-free so I can use it everyday if I wanted to without having to worry about it messing with my protein/moisture balance schedule. I love the original and I would say that this doesn't have a long-lasting scent as I would have liked. Performance wise it is just as good. If it doesn't work as a regular rinse-out, try it as a leave-in. I noticed that even with the original, I have to add a tiny bit of water to get it to properly work for me as a rinse-out. I have no idea why. You get a big bottle for about five bucks which is nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silvia8329 on 1/3/2014 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Silvia8329

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I will definitely purchase this again. It works great on my greying, color treated, somewhat coarse, wavy hair. I sometimes skip shampoo and use this as a conditioner only wash with no buildup or weighed down hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautynewbielbc on 12/31/2013 2:08:00 AM more reviews by beautynewbielbc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This conditioner has really saved my dry and brittle hair. I had some protein overload dryness from the Dermorganics Masque and had been trying so many different products and techniques to remedy the problem without having to have a major haircut. This product has really softened my ends again. After I shampoo, I squeeze the water out and then squeeze the ends again with a dry towel. I then apply this conditioner to the length of my hair and clip it up for about 5 minutes. Some days when I need a little more moisture, I use a dab as a leave in too. I have purchased the Biolage balm (new formula) which is a little different, perhaps a little heavier. I actually prefer the GVP product but the smell of the Biolage is nicer. The GVP is about $7 at my local Sally's but I have learned that if you sign up for their emails, about one weekend every 3-4 months you will get an email saying all hair care products are BOGO when you show the email on your phone(or print it)!! I've since learned to plan accordingly and stock up as needed when it's half price :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 11/12/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It might be too soon to tell, but I think I like this stuff. I have never used biolage ever, so I can't really compare, but I read the reviews and I figured hey if it does compare and some biolage users will use this in place, then hey why not!

I wanted something that moisturized pretty well with or without cones and maybe not protein. Well this has neither, although I hear they added keratin to the real biolage balm. I just got finished using Suave Damage Care which is loaded with silicones, and although silicones are bad for your hair, my hair really likes them. Anyway, is this a good replacement for my silicone conditioner?? Maybe. I am sorta of awed at the fact that it has no cones in this, but yet my hair is soft, but it does have that centrimonium chloride, which has a tendency to build on my hair. And I almost think that most V05 conditioners (which I used to despise) have no cones or protein are similiar to this balm, which are even cheaper, even Suave coconut. (haha am I complaining that I can get a cheaper conditioner than this?? LOL) And yeah this stuff doesn't smell too good, kinda salon chemically. Oh and it's waay hard to get out of the tube, gotta knock it back a few times to get it out. Overall, not sure if I'd go back to this or not, but I think it's a keeper for now.

Update: Will not be repurchasing, in combination with the shampoo my hair is way too tangly now and dry. I'm so sad, I LOVED my hair before I bought this shampoo and conditioner. I want it BACK :(.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Conditioner products