Spectrum - Coconut Oil

4.5

46 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this as a deep conditioner after I color my hair and it works better than anything in the salon.



on 6/15/2015 5:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am biracial and my hair isn't always the easiest to manage. I use to flat iron my hair ALL the time but lately I've decided to grow my hair. I've been using coconut oil once a week for about 6months and let me just say that my hair has never been this healthy. I do take vitamins as well. My ends are a lot healthier and my hair isn't as dry. I basically just heat some up in the microwave in a bowl and cover my ends and massage into my scalp. I then put a loose elastic in to just hold my hair together and out a shower cap over top. I leave it on my hair for minimum 2hours and rise it out using a Sulfate free shampoo and condition with Garnier Damage Eraser Butter. I then rise with cold water and put Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser for split ends and let my hair air dry. I have tried coconut oil for any other reason so I can only comment on using it for hair and I do recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2015 8:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Although this doesn't need anymore reviews(Everybody and their mother knows about coconut oil..I love it and wanted to review it. Like some other reviews I don't like to use on my hair,there are better hair masks out there.I do love it for nails,brows,lashes and a shaving oil. It does make sparse brows grow in fuller.I also Iike to cook with it,it's good for u,and I've made and eye cream with this and vitamin E it's as good as expensive eye creams in my opinion and it's natural.


on 6/3/2015 11:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Coconut oil does not work well for my skin or hair.
Leaves my hair feeling yucky, tangled, and actually looking worse then before using this.
I have tried using it several ways and also giving it time to work but in the end it was a total fail.
I love coconut oil for health benefits in cooking but not for anything else.


on 5/7/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Miracle in a jar - I use this for my skin, nails, hair, oil pulling. You can't get any better than this. Coconut oil is really a miracle product, makes me hair super soft and full of life, my skin soft and moisturized, gets rid of scars and stretch marks. I will continue getting this until I die!


on 3/10/2015 5:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I agree with Steinbach. If your hair hates protein then this is not for you. Tried many different times and this leaves my hair in worse condition then before I started. Dried and crispy. I will stick with castor oil and macadamia oil which my thirsty hair loves


on 1/10/2015 5:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I apply overnight and shamppo in the morning. Always sleek, frizz, free and shiny. super cheap and easy to find.


on 1/5/2015 12:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use coconut oil to remove my makeup and in my baths at night. I even use it mixed in with my kids moisturizer after their baths/showers.

As for hair, I'm not the hugest fan. I only use this when my hair is in need of protein. Which is kind of why I think people aren't experiencing awesome results with their hair. Coconut oil deposits proteins into your strands. If you don't need protein, you're going to experience straw like hair afterwards.

To remove makeup, I slather it onto my face with finger tips and rub. For my (waterproof) eye makeup, I gently massage the oil over my eyes until I feel the mascara has dissolved. Then wipe off with a really warm wash cloth.

I just make sure to be ready to hop in the shower immediately after. Because this stuff can get everywhere.


on 12/24/2014 9:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

When I finally decided to try coconut oil It was because I was struggling with itchy winter skin all over my body. I had tried all kinds of oils and moisturizers and found that coconut oil applied to damp skin fresh out of the shower works wonders. The moisturizing results last all day! Takes my mascara off like a dream and I always dab a little on my lips which keeps them from getting chapped. My husband who is a barber uses it to slick back his hair before adding some hairspray. We have also used it as a body massage oil on a romantic evening. The only thing I don't love this for is a hair mask . Most likely thats bc my hair is fine and coconut oil is a bit too heavy for me but thats a personal thing, I will say it again your hair type and porosity (coarse, curly, fine, etc) will determine on whether this works for you as a hair mask, if not there are so many other uses for this oil so don't waste it! I can't say enough good things..but did I mention the smell!? It contains antimicrobial properties which makes it a safe treatment for pets and hydrates their fur and skin. When you rub the solid coconut oil between your hands it almost instantly liquifies making application easy. I now have a jar in each bathroom and a jar in my kitchen - l add a spoonful in my smoothies (great nutritional benefits). For reference I also use the "Shea Moisture" raw shea butter body wash and spectrum organics unrefined coconut oil. This is a true all purpose oil!


on 12/4/2014 8:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Coconut oil- I don't like you at all! I tried you in many ways and from so many brands but we just don't have a good relationship! In fact, I hate you.

For hair I tried it in many ways: on wet hair, dry hair, just on scalp, scalp+hair, after washing, before washing, under shower cap + towel, for fly aways etc etc but I just never had the nice, shiny, easy to detangle hair that other reviewers have. It is too greasy for my hair, left it greasy even after washing and needed a lot of shampoo to wash it off.
It was oily the next day.
For me Castor oil is better. Coconut oil always made my hair tangled but I never have the above mentioned issues with Castor oil.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top