NYX Mega gloss- Sponge Cake

4.3

41 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/5/2014 5:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

My first NYX lipgloss. Im not impressed. The texture is slightly gritty, but a lot smoother than I thought since this is VERY glittery. So glittery, that I find it looks a bit frosty on my pigmented lips. And the glitter is big not in tiny specks. Nevertheless, it is SHINY. Its thick and sticky. Stays on quite well for as much as I smack and lick my lips. The color is nice, just clogged with the huge chunks of glitter. I wish I did not buy this lip gloss so quickly.

EDIT.MARCH3,2014: This is not an elegant-glittery lip gloss like Chanel Glossimiers or Dior. I find this kind of cheap/over the top looking especially for everyday/daytime wear but I found the perfect places to wear this: Going out! I wore this paired with smokey eyes and received many compliments from my girl friends and attempts for my phone number. So back into the clutch it goes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/2/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This color is soo cute. I love nude lipgloss for everyday. This lip gloss is a brownish pink and very close to my lip color already. I deducted a lippie because it can become a little sticky with time but that is not a huge deal breaker for me. I also like that it was only $4.99 at my local BSS. I think that is very reasonable compared to MAC lipglass and even some drugstore lipglosses


on 1/21/2014 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand why this particular gloss gets such high ratings. The color is fine but rather ordinary, and the texture is not as smooth as other glosses of similar price. It's also sticky. A similar but superior alternative is the NYC Liquid Lipshine in Honey on the Hudson. I still love NYX glosses but this one was a disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2013 10:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In love with this lipgloss. I bought a bunch of NYX products online, after learning they are cruelty-free (and you can't beat their prices!) I also bought two butter glosses, and was SO disappointed with them (awful color and texture). I tried this on the evening after the afternoon that I tried the butter glosses. Night & day difference. This color is SPOT ON to the description on the NYX website. It is a beautiful pinky/peachy with red flecks. The woman who posted the pic on here with her arm and the swatches of colors on it...Sponge Cake is the first swatch...excellent representation. That pic influenced my choice of color purchased & I'm glad I went with it. Also, the pigmentation of the gloss is really good; it's not just like a clear gloss with a little color thrown in. It has a distinct color of its own & I do not wear it over lipstick. I love it as-is. The shine is great, and for a gloss, it's longer lasting than most (probably due to the fact it is a relatively thick gloss). I am going back to the site to buy more colors.
**UPDATE** I also purchased this in Cosmos since my original review. It is very similar in color to Sponge Cake, just no red flecks, more of the pink color. Love it as well. But if you are looking for 2 colors that are more different, don't buy these 2-these are long lost twins. I wanted colors that were similar, one for my bag & one for home.


on 8/4/2013 3:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this lipgloss as a gift and felt like I could never pull it off. I paired it with Mac lipstick in syrup and fell in love. I love the smell, decent staying power for a gloss. I will buy other colors.


on 3/17/2013 4:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is DEFINITELY one of the more favored of my NYX Mega Shines out of the 9 or so that I have. A sheer darkened rosy pink with strong brown undertones. There is a nice gold shimmer that isn't extreme (doesn't make the gloss look metallic or frosty), and underlying multicolored glitter particles. The NYX website describes the shade as a 'red bronze with slight gold shimmer,' and that I don't really see all that much, as this gloss is so sheer in color. I love pairing it with MAC's VGV lipstick, and though it is very similar in color to the MAC VGV Lipglass, Sponge Cake is a little on the watery side as far as formula and color pay-off are concerned.


Texture can get a little sticky after it's been on the lips for a while, which doesn't bother me, but none of the other NYX MegaShine creams I have are the slightest bit sticky. It seems to only be the ones with any kind of glitter particles in them that make the texture of the gloss sticky and tacky. The glitter in these glosses feel nonexistent at first, and the gloss itself feels nourishing and lightweight, but once the gloss settles after about an hour, I can feel the gritty particles on my lips, and the gloss feels a lot heavier and less comfortable to wear. That docked a point for me. The Luden's Cherry cough drop candy scent is inoffensive to me, I actually am quite indifferent to it, and I can get a bit sensitive to some smells. I can see how it would bother some people though, as sometimes it can linger on the lips for a bit. But overall I think I would repurchase this. It makes for a nice layering gloss, though I rarely wear it on its own, as it doesn't show up that well on my pigmented lips. It would show up much better on less pigmented lips. But for the price ($3.99 USD) and the amount of gloss you get (.53 oz), that's enough to win me over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2012 6:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Sponge Cake is a bit like a bordeaux shimmer, a rosey red with a hint of brown. The tiny shimmer particles are rose, too.

The color is more of a neutral rose and I love the golden shimmer on me. It comes off a little bit more brown with my coloring. I love this color and all the NYX lip glosses I've tried.


on 9/23/2012 8:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

** a review I posted on my blog**

Now just by looking at the swatches, the color is actually really pretty. It sits between a red/pink with a pinch of brown. It has little glitters, which I don't mind at all.This a shade I can honestly say you can get away using it alone if you are not in the mood of wearing a lipstick. If you are into the whole "barely there" look, this is the perfect lipgloss to purchase since it just enhances your lip color. it is not a "bright" lipgloss or as pinkish looking as the Ulta gloss I happened to review (look below). This is more muted, a perfect everyday color if you ask me. It does have glitters and I like it since it gives the illusion that your lips are plump (not that I need the help in that department). It still has the same "Nyx lipgloss" flavor regardless of lipgloss color. Wear time is pretty short. If you drink soda or anything for that matter you will need to reapply afterward, every time. But is it worth the $5.49? At the end that question can only be answered by you. If any cosmetic you purchase meets your expectations whether it is a $5.00 item or $50.00, then that purchase it worth it. It met mine. But I will hold off buying them unless they are on sale. That's me though. But I highly recommend it IF and only IF you are looking for a color that naturally enhances your lip color and don't mind the glitter.


on 8/30/2012 8:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this lipgloss! Its the perfect neutral gloss on me. I have no idea why anyone could say this is too glittery, I can barely detect any sparkle on the lips. The cherry candy scent is a little distracting at first, but it goes away fairly fast. All and all I love this lipgloss especially if I'm doning a look with purple eyeshadow.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful pinkened brown shade with lots of golden glitter. I don't feel the glitter on my lips, nor does it look like a disco ball. It's finely milled and looks very pretty! This particular gloss works well with my natural lip colour, also stunning when I pair it with just about any lipstick. It has a sweet cherry scent to it and very cute/sleek packaging. It has a doe-foot applicator which makes it easy to apply this gloss smoothly and evenly on the lips. This is a very comfortable gloss; no stickiness, not heavy, average lasting power. I love this gloss and will certainly be repurchasing.


Popular Lip Glosses


Butter Gloss
Butter Gloss
355 Reviews
Deelight
Deelight
42 Reviews
c-thru lipglass
c-thru lipglass
461 Reviews
Lip Lites
Lip Lites
213 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top