NYX • Mega gloss- Sponge Cake • Lip Gloss

rated 4.3(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HottSauce on 3/5/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by HottSauce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My first NYX lipgloss. Im not impressed. The texture is slightly gritty, but a lot smoother than I thought since this is VERY glittery. So glittery, that I find it looks a bit frosty on my pigmented lips. And the glitter is big not in tiny specks. Nevertheless, it is SHINY. Its thick and sticky. Stays on quite well for as much as I smack and lick my lips. The color is nice, just clogged with the huge chunks of glitter. I wish I did not buy this lip gloss so quickly.

EDIT.MARCH3,2014: This is not an elegant-glittery lip gloss like Chanel Glossimiers or Dior. I find this kind of cheap/over the top looking especially for everyday/daytime wear but I found the perfect places to wear this: Going out! I wore this paired with smokey eyes and received many compliments from my girl friends and attempts for my phone number. So back into the clutch it goes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 periwinkle92 on 3/2/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by periwinkle92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This color is soo cute. I love nude lipgloss for everyday. This lip gloss is a brownish pink and very close to my lip color already. I deducted a lippie because it can become a little sticky with time but that is not a huge deal breaker for me. I also like that it was only $4.99 at my local BSS. I think that is very reasonable compared to MAC lipglass and even some drugstore lipglosses

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 1/21/2014 10:12:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand why this particular gloss gets such high ratings. The color is fine but rather ordinary, and the texture is not as smooth as other glosses of similar price. It's also sticky. A similar but superior alternative is the NYC Liquid Lipshine in Honey on the Hudson. I still love NYX glosses but this one was a disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 11/21/2013 10:53:00 AM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

In love with this lipgloss. I bought a bunch of NYX products online, after learning they are cruelty-free (and you can't beat their prices!) I also bought two butter glosses, and was SO disappointed with them (awful color and texture). I tried this on the evening after the afternoon that I tried the butter glosses. Night & day difference. This color is SPOT ON to the description on the NYX website. It is a beautiful pinky/peachy with red flecks. The woman who posted the pic on here with her arm and the swatches of colors on it...Sponge Cake is the first swatch...excellent representation. That pic influenced my choice of color purchased & I'm glad I went with it. Also, the pigmentation of the gloss is really good; it's not just like a clear gloss with a little color thrown in. It has a distinct color of its own & I do not wear it over lipstick. I love it as-is. The shine is great, and for a gloss, it's longer lasting than most (probably due to the fact it is a relatively thick gloss). I am going back to the site to buy more colors.
**UPDATE** I also purchased this in Cosmos since my original review. It is very similar in color to Sponge Cake, just no red flecks, more of the pink color. Love it as well. But if you are looking for 2 colors that are more different, don't buy these 2-these are long lost twins. I wanted colors that were similar, one for my bag & one for home.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ngaere on 8/4/2013 3:45:00 AM more reviews by Ngaere

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this lipgloss as a gift and felt like I could never pull it off. I paired it with Mac lipstick in syrup and fell in love. I love the smell, decent staying power for a gloss. I will buy other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 3/17/2013 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is DEFINITELY one of the more favored of my NYX Mega Shines out of the 9 or so that I have. A sheer darkened rosy pink with strong brown undertones. There is a nice gold shimmer that isn't extreme (doesn't make the gloss look metallic or frosty), and underlying multicolored glitter particles. The NYX website describes the shade as a 'red bronze with slight gold shimmer,' and that I don't really see all that much, as this gloss is so sheer in color. I love pairing it with MAC's VGV lipstick, and though it is very similar in color to the MAC VGV Lipglass, Sponge Cake is a little on the watery side as far as formula and color pay-off are concerned.


Texture can get a little sticky after it's been on the lips for a while, which doesn't bother me, but none of the other NYX MegaShine creams I have are the slightest bit sticky. It seems to only be the ones with any kind of glitter particles in them that make the texture of the gloss sticky and tacky. The glitter in these glosses feel nonexistent at first, and the gloss itself feels nourishing and lightweight, but once the gloss settles after about an hour, I can feel the gritty particles on my lips, and the gloss feels a lot heavier and less comfortable to wear. That docked a point for me. The Luden's Cherry cough drop candy scent is inoffensive to me, I actually am quite indifferent to it, and I can get a bit sensitive to some smells. I can see how it would bother some people though, as sometimes it can linger on the lips for a bit. But overall I think I would repurchase this. It makes for a nice layering gloss, though I rarely wear it on its own, as it doesn't show up that well on my pigmented lips. It would show up much better on less pigmented lips. But for the price ($3.99 USD) and the amount of gloss you get (.53 oz), that's enough to win me over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 9/27/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Sponge Cake is a bit like a bordeaux shimmer, a rosey red with a hint of brown. The tiny shimmer particles are rose, too.

The color is more of a neutral rose and I love the golden shimmer on me. It comes off a little bit more brown with my coloring. I love this color and all the NYX lip glosses I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadchenRogue on 9/23/2012 8:52:00 PM more reviews by MadchenRogue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

** a review I posted on my blog**

Now just by looking at the swatches, the color is actually really pretty. It sits between a red/pink with a pinch of brown. It has little glitters, which I don't mind at all.This a shade I can honestly say you can get away using it alone if you are not in the mood of wearing a lipstick. If you are into the whole "barely there" look, this is the perfect lipgloss to purchase since it just enhances your lip color. it is not a "bright" lipgloss or as pinkish looking as the Ulta gloss I happened to review (look below). This is more muted, a perfect everyday color if you ask me. It does have glitters and I like it since it gives the illusion that your lips are plump (not that I need the help in that department). It still has the same "Nyx lipgloss" flavor regardless of lipgloss color. Wear time is pretty short. If you drink soda or anything for that matter you will need to reapply afterward, every time. But is it worth the $5.49? At the end that question can only be answered by you. If any cosmetic you purchase meets your expectations whether it is a $5.00 item or $50.00, then that purchase it worth it. It met mine. But I will hold off buying them unless they are on sale. That's me though. But I highly recommend it IF and only IF you are looking for a color that naturally enhances your lip color and don't mind the glitter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ragw33d on 8/30/2012 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Ragw33d

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this lipgloss! Its the perfect neutral gloss on me. I have no idea why anyone could say this is too glittery, I can barely detect any sparkle on the lips. The cherry candy scent is a little distracting at first, but it goes away fairly fast. All and all I love this lipgloss especially if I'm doning a look with purple eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* everysunflower on 8/15/2012 11:07:00 AM more reviews by everysunflower

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful pinkened brown shade with lots of golden glitter. I don't feel the glitter on my lips, nor does it look like a disco ball. It's finely milled and looks very pretty! This particular gloss works well with my natural lip colour, also stunning when I pair it with just about any lipstick. It has a sweet cherry scent to it and very cute/sleek packaging. It has a doe-foot applicator which makes it easy to apply this gloss smoothly and evenly on the lips. This is a very comfortable gloss; no stickiness, not heavy, average lasting power. I love this gloss and will certainly be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Gloss products