MAC • Taupe • Blush

rated 4.3(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 applesauce93 on 11/18/2014 4:35:00 AM more reviews by applesauce93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I recently decided i wanted to invest in some mac eyeshadows and blushes to declutter my makeup station yet still have a collection of products that are high quality and customizable to my preferences. After some reasearch, taupe is the only non-oranging option for bronzers that will in theory show up on me.

However my holy grail product for contouring my nc25-30 skin is benefit hoola and is still so after trying this product out.

Pros: pigmented, matte, cool undertone, good for fair to light-med skin

Cons: not a universally flattering color, only sold as a pan refill online, on the light side for contouring

I honestly believe that this color is one of those high fashion super cooled tone bronzers that would look really nice on fair pinker/warmer skin tone people. the cool nature of it shows that you purposefully used such a color and it neutralizes and brings balance to your already flushed face (i'm assuming).

However, if you have a light-medium olive/cooler undertone like myself, the color comes off a bit muddy, and there's a thin line between sickly and a natural contour that you can easily cross if you're not careful; also the color is a tad bit lighter than hoola and i definitely won't be able to get a strong contour with this- definitely more of a natural everyday use.
The way i've found to use this is to pair it up with a warmer blush to bring back some color or to just mix it with a blush and just use it as a one application blush/contour color.

Bottom-line, if you're fair skinned and you must have a "bronzer" shade from mac and completely detest any hints of orange in your contour than this is for you.
If you love a neutral color for contouring, mac's collection doesn't offer any unfortunately (there other bronzers are much 2-3 shades darker and much warmer for my liking) and will have to look elsewhere.

I recommend too faced milk chocolate soleil or hoola for lighter complexions, or too faced chocolate soleil, elf's st. lucas or nyc sunny for those with a medium/tan complexion (will be a tad bit warmer but not ridiculously orangy or unnatural )- All recommendations are based on my preference of contouring which isnt very intense but you can definitely build it up a bit, and all colors are matte =)

Order from lightest to darkest matte contours coincidently also coolest to warmest ->
mac taupe, 2faced milk chocolate soliel, hoola, 2faced chocolate soleil, nyc sunny, elf st. lucas, body shop tan/dark bronzer

other affordable mattes to check out (might be a tad orangey to some): elf mineral bronzer line, rimmel natural bronzers, wet n wild color icons (satin finish)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Crinklesinthecar on 4/27/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by Crinklesinthecar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've recently wasted pounds and pounds trying to find the perfect shade for contouring all have been too orange or too pink then I watched pixiwoo on YouTube and try used taupe, immediately I ordered over the phone as its a pro product and wow I love love love it its perfect. Agree with other reviewers start light and build up if needed. I'm nw25 for reference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melispepe on 4/6/2011 2:14:00 PM more reviews by melispepe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I live in Canada , alberta
DOES ANYONE! know where I can get this the MAC store does not have it anymore and the website doesnt either!

HELP!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marigunn on 11/25/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by marigunn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE! Contouring for me daily is definitely a MUST. Don't use a lot though, It'll look dirty like ash. I contour my nose, cheeks & under my face. This is a must have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nekroze on 10/31/2010 12:39:00 PM more reviews by nekroze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

perfect contouring powder! i went to a mac store to the shade "sculpt" but there wasntleft any.the mua told that pro products are not getting back in stock frequently and suggested taupe,so i gave it a try.i have to say that this is the product i loved the most among so many contouring blushes/powders.it is buildable,nicely pigmented and easy to blend,great lasting power too(on oily skin).what i like about sculpting powders is that they are not as chalky as blushes.btw like the previous reviewer i am nc20-nc15 too and the color suited me perfectly.no redness/orange tint and definetely not an ashy face.so these shadowy colors an be so different,even more different than most makeup products so trying it before buying is always a good thing to do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 6/1/2010 9:04:00 PM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this since it seemed to be THE colour to use for contouring. Also, that it's a close dupe to Emote which has been discontinued. I've only used this once, but i'm not likely this at all! I think i need some red or warmer tones cuz this flat greyish colour looks horrible on my NC20 skin. It just makes it look "dirty" even with a light hand!! I much prefer using my bronzer to contour. I'm still deciding if i want to keep this or return it. I gave it a 3 since I've only used it once and i'm willing to experiment some more with it. Perhaps as an e/s??

UPDATE - I have relegated this to be used as a transition colour for e/s. Won't repurchase.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 9/14/2009 8:28:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had decent (more like acceptable) results using NARS Multiple Bronzer in Tuomota to contour but I still never quite achieved a sculpted look until I got Taupe. Where did those cheekbones and that nose come from??? Taupe is the perfect contour color for me (olive-toned NC25). It's a flat, matte blush with absolutely no bronze, pink, rose, or peach. My biggest problem with finding a contouring product was that most everything had color and I really just wanted to add shadow to contour my face, not add color. I usually use Taupe to contour then I add a pop of blush but Taupe is also fantastic a no-blush blush. I tried for years and years to recreate the classic winged liner, red lips, and sculpted cheeks look to no avail until I discovered MAC Taupe.


Taupe is a Pro blush but don't let that stop you. If you can't get to a Pro store (most of us can't), simply order over the phone. I've never been a fan of MAC blushes but they're actually quite affordable. Pro pans are $15.50 and compacts are $18.50. I'm very surprised that there aren't more reviews for Taupe.


One more thing: Apply Taupe with a light hand if you're fair or light. I'm an NC25, which isn't really that light but I have to be careful with Taupe or I end up looking dirty. Start out light and layer on more if you need it.


9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CrosseyedToad on 6/27/2009 11:14:00 PM more reviews by CrosseyedToad

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This color is virtually identical to the ever hard to fine Emote. Seriously, I have depotted both and placed them in my blush palette and I can't tell the difference. Don't shell out high $$$$ for the discontinued Emote, buy this instead! I love the perfect contouring of this blush and it is a pretty light blush as the above poster said when you don't want all that attention on your cheeks. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinaxx on 5/18/2009 12:02:00 PM more reviews by lareinaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love taupe!! this blush is the closest thing you can find to EMOTE the most saught after contour blush. this is it. it has no red tones at all, just that gray brown your suppose to use for contouring. this is perfect for cooler colored girls, if you want a pink undertone for your contour, grab harmony or strada, there almost identical but strada is lighter, taupe is gorgeous used at a blush too for that smokey eye look when u don't want attention on your cheeks. highly recommend =]

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maggiealex on 5/6/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by maggiealex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

at last i found a powder blush that is flat brown without any red or orange hues-it is a medium flat brown blush perfect for contouring without looking too odd, and can also be used as a blush when you just don't want any peack pink coral etc colour on cheeks. it is greatly pigmented so you only need a tiny bit!!
love it!!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More MAC products

More Blush products