Burt's Bees Sun Protecting Lip Balm SPF 8 with Passionfruit

2.5

44 reviews

31% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (3.99%) Inactive Ingredients: Beeswax (Apis Mellifera), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Flavor, Lanolin, Passiflora Incarnata (Passionfruit) Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower Seed) Oil, Tocopherol, Rosmarinum Officinalis Leaf Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Canola Oil


on 1/16/2015 2:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the worst lip balm I ever used! I love the pink grapefruit one so I thought this would be good too, bit it's definitely not. It is very thick and waxy and extremely grainy. It did not go on smooth at all. Used it a couple times and then it went into the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/19/2014 5:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My first issue with this product was that once I screwed it up, it wouldn't go back down. The second one was that this lip balm didn't really do anything for me. It didn't feel very moisturizing and it also left me with a visible white cast on my lips. I tossed it after a few uses.


on 7/2/2013 9:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

This balm moisturizes my lips very well, and doesn't leave a noticeable white cast. I just put a little gloss over it for shine, but even without that it looks great. Feels a little bit grainy, but not very much. I think it's a great balm for everyday summer use : ).


on 5/16/2013 12:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Total waste of money. I couldn't find the pink grapefruit one so I thought buying this one would be okay. Terrible lip balm. Does nothing for my lips except make them look white, feel sticky, and the scent isn't very appealing either. Disappointed.


on 4/14/2013 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this lip balm AT ALL.
The product is very thick, and the smell is just really gross to me!!
I hate the smell and the 'flavor'
The only good thing woud be that it has sun protection, but its only 8, there's better lip balms out there that have more spfs than these.
The first and probably last burts and bees lip balm for me.


on 3/6/2013 4:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I try to only buy natural lip balms, and am a fan of some of the other Burt's Bees chapsticks. I was looking for one with spf to use during the summer, and decided on this one. I will not buy again, because there are better natural lip balms with spf.

Pros:
Natural
Easy to find for a natural product

Cons:
Leaves white cast on lips
Not very moisturizing
Has kind of a dry, grainy texture when applying


on 2/13/2013 10:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I had to come over and give this balm some love because I recently found out the perfect way to make it work for me. By itself this balm leaves a white cast on my lips that I don't like. HOWEVER, this balm works great under colored lipsticks and tinted balms. I really really like it applied under the Burt's Bees tinted lip balm in pink blossom. For some reason this combo makes my lips look much plumper. Better results on me than lip plumping glosses! With a little pearly gloss in the middle of my lips to complete the look my lips look much fuller. (Not sure is they make lips look bigger because they are kind of thick so they fill in lines and cracks in my lips or what) The white cast in this also tones down the tint in the pink blossom balm to make it more wearable for me. This duo leaves my lips really really moisturized (even after a day outside in the wind).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2013 10:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Once again, Burt's Bees let me down with lip balms. I always assume that their products are going to feel wonderful on my lips, and when the original did nothing, I thought maybe it was the peppermint oil in it that made it bad. This product did the same thing, making my lips dependent on the product and not helping to improve my lips unless it was currently applied (aka my lips felt like crap the moment it wore off) Plus this particular lip balm left a disgusting residue on my lips that made my lips look sickly white/blue.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

****UPDATE****
I FOUND OUT BURTS BEES IS OWNED BY CLOROX.
There have been reports of harmful ingredients still getting through in their products so I have stopped using the brand all together.



This is hands down my favorite lip balm. With most of the Burt's Bees lip balms I either absolutely love them or hate them with a passion. This however, is the best of the best. I love the texture, scent / flavor, lasting power, moister level and results with one or multiple applications. And it doesn't leave a weird "white cast" on my lips as it wears. It also has a mid-range SPF, which because of where I live, I look for actively, so its definitely appreciated.


on 12/25/2012 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not a useful lip balm. Does not glide on at all, and if your lips are at all chapped, the white stuff just gets in the cracks and makes it look worse. The taste and smell is not pleasant either. I'd rather just put some sunscreen on my mouth.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3621 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
180 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top