John Frieda Sheer Blonde Color Renew Tone-Restoring Shampoo

3.8

104 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/28/2015 8:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

One word AMAZING!!!!!! I had bleached my hair trying to go from dark purple to my natural light blonde but of course it went bright ginger ( clearly not the aim) saw this shampoo thought what the heck maybe it'll tone it down a tiny bit until I could get to the hairdressers. I left this on for a good hour and the difference was UNBELIEVABLE I honestly couldn't believe the difference it made, it was like I had dyed it! My hair went from dry damaged bright ginger mess to soft light strawberry blonde. I use this product every time I lighten my hair to get rid of any red tones. Bit of a life saver product didn't have to walk around like a carrot!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/18/2015 9:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mixed feelings about this shampoo, I like the fact that is a very dark purple color and that is a little less harsh than Shimmer Lights, leaves my hair really shiny and frizz free however, it's very drying so I can only use it when my hair is really dirty and I have a suspicion that this shampoo is yanking my hair color ut and giving me a funky tone.
EDIT: woke up with orange brassy hair.


on 1/27/2015 11:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff seems milder and less chemical-y compared to other silver shampoos, but it still works pretty well on my undyed, sandy blonde hair.

It does feel like it doesn't really wash as well as regular shampoos do, as I have to wash my hair every 2 days when I'm using this (I usually wash every 3 days). It's also a bit drying, but the smell isn't too strong, and it feels more gentle than most other silver shampoos I've used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2014 3:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this shampoo! I'm a natural blonde with red undertones so when I get my hair highlighted, they turn brassy rather quickly. I started using the shampoo and conditioner because I heard great things about it. My hair still looks the same as the day I left the salon. There is no brassy color to my hair what so ever. I do have dry hair so once a week I do a deep conditioning treatment to keep the moisture there. Very happy with this product and will continue buying it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I saw immediate results using the shampoo and conditioner. Specifically, I left the JF conditioner in my hair for quite a few hours (while at home), then washed my hair yesterday evening with the JF shampoo (left it in for ~7 minutes) and then rinsed with the JF conditioner again. I woke up this morning after my hair dried and I could immediately see results. I have medium to dark brown hair that had orange/brassy tones after using ColorOops to get out months-old black dye, and this worked liked a charm. It wasn't miraculous, but after one use I could see that strands that were once copper orange were now a nice, light blonde. I look forward to continue using this product to to see if even more brassiness comes out. Very satisfied with this product, and it smells great too.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Didn't work well for myself. I recently went from dark dark brown (might say black) to platinum blonde. Had been using L'oreal Professional Silver shampoo. It is a very dark purple and I use it everyday and leave on for at least 3 minutes. Keeps my hair from going brassy. The John Frieda actually made my hair brassy. Shampoo for blonde hair needs to be dark purple in order for it to actually keep your hair colour looking good and keep you from having to tone it weekly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2014 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This shampoo is absolutely amazing! I use it together with the conditioner and while I have been using these products, my hair has turned from brown to brown with a tinge of blonde. I have gotten so many compliments on my hair since I've started using this. Highly recommended!


on 2/5/2014 9:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Bought this as an alternative to my (expensive) Clairol Shimmer Lights. I found the purple was quite light coloured, and although it smelled very nice, it did not tone out the brassy-ness nearly as well as Shimmer Lights. I work at a drug store and I recommend Light Blue Shade as an alternative to Shimmer Lights to anyone who likes to keep their hair white-blonde like myself. I'm sure this is okay for someone who wants to mildly tone out some yellowness, and it is reasonably priced at $10.99 CAD.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2014 4:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have naturally blonde, but also bleached thick, frizzy, dry and wavy hair.
My hair turns super easily yellow and golden, though I want my hair to be cold and silvery-blonde. That´s why I wash my hair often with silver shampoo.

I have tried a few silver shampoos (Matrix, Lóreal, Klippoteket, 4Reasons) and this one isn´t the best, at least taking into account the coloring and anti-yellow tone effect. I have used this almost every day for the past few weeks, and it has kept my hair in OK shape (hair is not yellow! It is quite neutral). This shampoo doesn´t dry my hair like the other silver shampoos, so it´s really possible to use it daily. So, if you´re looking for a everyday product to keep the worsest yellow tones away, this is probably your product.

Still, I prefer more Lóreal silver shampoo (eventhough it dries my hair out) because you can use it once a week to get the same result.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2013 7:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The first few times I used this shampoo, it was great. It made my hair soft and full. I could see a bit of a difference when it comes to taking out the brassiness. But now when I use it, it makes my hair so tangled. I don't know why. I'll use it until I run out but I won't be repurchasing.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
396 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
327 Reviews


Top Rated John Frieda Products

Back to Top