NARS • Night Star • Eye Shadow

rated 3.4(126 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Tiptoemousey on 7/13/2012 5:19:00 AM more reviews by Tiptoemousey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I first tried this shadow in the NARS 9941 palette and I loved it used it almost everyday until it was gone I was going to buy the single shadow but it slowly went down on my shopping list and over time was forgotten when I got the chance to get the single in a swap I took it and I am so happy to have this color again and even more happy not to have to have paid the $24.00 price tag that comes along with it. Would I buy this should I run out again hell yeah.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissDay24 on 4/20/2012 6:49:00 PM more reviews by MissDay24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this eyeshadow! Very flattering on olive skin, I use MAC paint pot in Nubile before I apply and its beautiful for either a brow bone shadow or all over lid shadow. Only complaint is the glitter fall out which I pick up after application with dome tape but other than that its my daily HG shadow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angelina71 on 12/4/2011 7:16:00 AM more reviews by angelina71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Looks really nice on a pan. But that is about it. Worst Nars eyeshadow I have tried. Yellow/golden microglitter doesnt show at all. Not suitable for 'night'-look, more like summer/daytime eyeshadow. For best results try with primer and gunmetal grey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ukarmencb on 9/14/2011 7:42:00 PM more reviews by ukarmencb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

The shade of this eyeshadow is gorgeous and it looks fantastic on the pan. Golden eyeshadow with the right amount of glitter. However, when you apply it is hardly visible, let alone the glitter that dissapears by magic. I tried different ways of application, with a brush, with my finger, with a sponge... still nothing. Very disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nudelipsandnails on 6/6/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by nudelipsandnails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I love the overall shadow (including the glitter that doesn't show up)--but the part that I really didn't care for was I feel that this eye shadow is chalky, dry, and breaks up easily. I huge chunk of this eye shadow broke off hours after buying it. I am not sure why..no harm was done to the eye shadow. The quality is on the fair/poor side. I really love the peachy/golden shadow but I think that NARS eye shadows are more about the "hype" than the quality. I really love NARS blush..so lush and pigmented. I was just hoping that NARS Night Star was going to be more pigmented and make my eyes look pretty. This eye shadow isn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 integrl on 4/14/2011 12:25:00 AM more reviews by integrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading the poor reviews here, I thought I might have to return it but have been pleasantly surprised by my results. I bought this product because I felt that the glitter in it was unique to the NARS brand and I didn't want to just purchase an eye shadow that I could find elsewhere. I accomplished this with NARS Hungry Heart Duo (another controversial product) that I can add on top of all my other blushes to give it the NARS glittery effect (not to be combined with Night Star, thatís too much sparkle!). If Iím going to fork out the dough, itís gotta be special! And I think this is so far. The gold particles in Night Star seem to be actual glitter, very high quality and sparkly as they dazzle in the light, yet it is very dispersed (not very concentrated) in the shadow, so it makes a subtle yet radiant statement. Itís NOT shimmery at all, as to not create unflattering texture or disco ball eye lids, just glow. It has been great for both day time and evening looks and goes on great over matte colors from neon high fashion colors (like the #5 Coral from MUFE) to naked/naturals for the workplace (like Cargo's essential palette) and just lightens them a tad, not really effecting the hue too much (I like the fact that it is mostly transparent). The gold flecks lasted all day over shadow and primer without any touch-ups. I was surprised! This is definitely an eye shadow to get for that extra kick to your look and a product indicative of the NARS brand. Itís not a must-have, but a great addition for those into the finer things of the material plane!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissDior5011 on 3/14/2011 2:12:00 AM more reviews by MissDior5011

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeshadow is supposed to be very sparkly however, no matter how you apply it, the eye shadow does not appear glittery on the eye. Well you can hardly see the colour on your eyes let alone the glitter in it. You get a lot of fallout from this eyeshadow and the glitter from the shadow ends up all over your face. I use a primer and and eye base and even that does not help.
I have tried different brushes and even tried to apply with my fingers but nothing works.
I would not buy this eye shadow again. I bought two other sparkly colours at the same time I bought this which I totally regret as they do the same as this shadow. I dont think I would buy a Nars eyeshadow again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slippingbeauty on 2/17/2011 10:44:00 PM more reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this shadow. I am not one to shy away from glitter; as a matter of fact, I like to embrace glitter on a daily basis. Night Star is a lovely champagne-ivory shade with very fine golden sparkles. To me, it's an awesome neutral-plus. It's good for a very simple eye with a little extra pop. I like to wear this all over the lid and up just past the crease with liner for a great subtle, fun eye. All the NARS shadows I've tried last very well over primer and have great smoothness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kevseb66 on 2/8/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by kevseb66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nars "Night Star" has been a staple in my makeup arsenal for several years now. Despite how some feel about glittery eyeshadow, I think it's perfect for those with deeper, warmer complextions as a highlight or on the lid. I was tickled to see Sam Fine using it so much in his DVD. That said. I think I've found a dupe that I like even more. Sephora single shadow in "Glittering Sand No.9" is just as beautiful on the eye and only cost $12.00. I see no reason to spend more when I can get the same amazing results for half the price. Sorry Nars.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yoshi3329 on 12/22/2010 11:31:00 PM more reviews by Yoshi3329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Its so glittery. I love glittery eyeshadow and this was it. It shows up too well on my NW45 eye and it's the most beautiful color I've ever seen/used! This is my favorite eyeshadow. I use it for night or day!


Update: This is terrible now. As soon as I wrote this review it started getting major fallout. It such a shame, It wouldn't even get onto my Hakuhodo brushes and it applied matte. For such as high end brand, I didn't expect this. I won't be buying this eyeshadow in a single. I'm so glad I didn't. It didn't even help that I used Nars eyeshadow primer and Nars Unconditional love shadow creme. I used my fingers and that helped put the glitter back on, but then it fell out leaving it matte once again.

Not worth the money.

UPDATE 2013: Okay so I've been meaning to update for a while, but I figured out a way to stop the fallout. It's a shame it even has fallout to begin with because it a great highlighter, but sometimes it just can't be helped.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products