MAC • Solar Bits - Impassioned • Eye Shadow

rated 4.8(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Gothoria on 9/30/2009 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Gothoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love it, its not like other solar bits, its easy 2 use, does'nt come n round chunks that annoys the hell out of and the color payoff is gr8.
Im currently n love with browns, Impassioned is a very sexy brown for all over the lid or even ther crease.
my jar was full 2 the top, so im thankful, but i hate the fact that it comes in suck packaging i think its not safe, & the product can spill out easily.
i wish this product is a pigment, so we can get more 4 less the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atsugari on 7/29/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by atsugari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't want to make a commitment to buy solar bits that last a lifetime. Of all the solar bits from color craft I swatched I love impassioned. I found the other ones not as smooth and chalky, gritty texture. This one is smooth, plummy bronze color that I don't have in my collection. I ordered a sample of it instead it's enough for me. I love the color and it's a dream when you apply it wet.

One small jar come with a lot of product, since it's so densely pigmented and smooth it may appear less in the jar. But I thing it'll be enough to last a lifetime unless maybe if someone uses it as a bronzer. I'm too pale for that...If I ever spot it at a CCO I would definitely purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 7/18/2009 6:27:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i was one of the unlucky ones who got a half empty jar. But nonetheless, its still pretty. a shimmery browned taupe. Messy, but worth it for the color. You get a super metallic finish to this that is sometimes lacking in a regular eyeshadow. Can be used wet or dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MISHA5150 on 7/9/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by MISHA5150

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I freakin LOVE Impassioned!!!! It is just a beautiful, plummy brown bronze color on my NC45 skintone!! I like to wear this on the lid, Satin Taupe and a little Sketch in the crease, and Soft Force as a highlight. I use my Ecotools eyeshader brush with a little Fix+, dip it into the jar, swirl it on the plastic lid and then apply it to my eyelid. I have no issues with fallout either. It is perfect for day and night. If you can still find it, get it!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Skittles131 on 7/8/2009 1:07:00 PM more reviews by Skittles131

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I LOVE the color but it seems difficult to work with. I'm going to try some tips suggested by others. I know the price of it is debatable but I think it's an excellent value for the money considering you can only use a tiny bit for the desired result. I am kind of up in the air on this product. I love the color but like I said it seems difficult to work with, at least more difficult than pigments or other MAC products. I would recommend it to skilled m/u artists; otherwise, skip it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinaxx on 6/21/2009 11:26:00 AM more reviews by lareinaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

im so in love with impassioned solar bits. even the name of the product is out of this world..


solar bits were made to be a sister to the original mac pigments. all of the pigments were made in different formula's from super silky smooth matte's, to shimmery, chunky and glittery.

solar bits were the next thing, they come in a tinted lip conditioner jar with a black cap. where as pigments come in a jar. the difference In size is 4grams, pigments being larger and the same price.
but in my opinion solar bits are worth it, they will last a long time, and they have a metallic sheen.


impassioned bits are the neutral out of the three put out with the style warrior collec.

bronzescape-

bronzey antiqued gold

scatterays-

orangey peach

impassioned-

silvery cool toned taupey bronze/brown

to me, impassioned bits are the best of the three formula wise, its a new color as the other two were re-promotes. impassioned is a silky, moisture filled creamy texture. there are not crystal like rocks like in the others so you don't have to crush them up to use them. to me its like a pigment that is a metallic finish and a bit thicker than normal.


when applying solar bits, you will need a little tray or bowl [if you need to crush your bits] and grind them down to the preferred consistancy. then you will need fix+ spray [from mac also] used to set ur makeup or as a mixing medium..and a good firm brush such as the 242. if you use a fluffier brush you won't be able to get the smooth affect.

pick up some bits on your brush, hold the fix+ arms length away and spritz on ur brush, then apply to the lid firmly using a windshield wiper motion to spread out and adhere the bits to your lid. if done right, you will have a beautiful even metallic sheen. from there you can add more, or finish the rest of your eye makeup.


I think this color is the most wearable, and its great because you can wear it day to night, im so happy I got these, and will be using them a lot..

I was a lucky one and actually got my jar full to the top, I know some girls only got a tiny bit in there's. if this happens its okay because like I said, a little goes a long way and you wil probably only use them for a special occasion.


overall I highly suggest solar bits but impassioned is my color choice, scatterays being next. I think any of the colors would work and anyone and any skin colors. but if you like taupes, brown, or golds, go with impassioned, the formula is amazing, you will be impressed!

if you have any questions, let me kno oxo

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meimi on 6/13/2009 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Meimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this colour!

You need a good brush though. I got the 242 with this and it works really well.

This is the first product that I loved and bought on my own without any reccomendations that then recieved rave reviews. I am quite proud of myself lol, I'm such a bandwagon whore!

Anyway, this is AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadameFabulina on 6/13/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by MadameFabulina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous! Get this if you love that smoky, sexy, sultry, cool-bronze look - PERFECTION.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 principessa101 on 6/5/2009 11:15:00 AM more reviews by principessa101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

PEOPLE!! Bought this today and i am in LOVE with this colour! Its amazing!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MacAtFirstSight on 6/4/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by MacAtFirstSight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

love love love this product. i was weary of buying this product because there were so many neg reviews on the previous solarbits. however, this formulation is different and has less fall out than reg mac pigments. the color is stunningly beautiful and is the perfect shade of taupe brown with fine shimmer and glitter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products