Avene Light Protective Hydrating Cream (Hydrance Optimale SPF 20)


32 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$


Water, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Octocrylene, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Cyclomethicone, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Benzoic Acid, Beta Sitosterol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Extract, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Lecithin, Phenoxyethanol, Poloxamer 188, Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Sodium Hydroxide, Tocopheryl Glucoside, Xanthan Gum

on 7/5/2015 8:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have extremely sensitive skin and was about to guve up on moisturiser altogether as my skin would I burn and breakout no matter which moisturiser I would apply. I was surfing the internet one night and came across this brand. I thought I would give it one last go and ordered this cream. I'm so glad I did because so far it's all good and i haven't broken out or got pimples or a burning sensation. It's just great. The only downfall for me is that it doesn't feel hydrating enough so next time I repurchase I may get the one for dry skin. I would highly recommend for those with super sensitive skin! Thumbs up.

on 3/27/2015 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

It protects your skin because of spf. If you have oily skin and you don't want to put rich heavy creams it's really good. You can put a little and it's enough , it gets absorbed immediatly and you don't fill it on your face bacause of it's light texture.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

It's quite a good cream (3.5). I like the light texture and the fact that it doesn't leave my skin greasy like many creams containing SPF do. Yet I wish the cream was a bit more moisturizing.
You also run out of it pretty quick .

on 12/10/2014 8:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a GREAT moisturizer - absorbs quickly and nicely (no sticky feel), is moisturizing but still light enough for the hot and humid weather of Singapore. Plus it has sun protection. So when I discovered this, I thought my search for a daily wear sunscreen/moisturizer was over...until almost a year later, I realised it had no UVA protection! I hope someday that it will be reformulated with UVA protection too, but sadly until then, it is back to Biore (which has very good full spectrum sunscreens) for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/21/2014 7:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Had to resort to this moisturiser while on holiday in Italy recently as I had left my other behind.

This is a VERY light moisturiser, goes on great & absorbs lighting fast - so fast that it feels like you've never put on any!!! I have dry skin so I think I absorb rather fast anyway, but this was surprisingly fast. The smell is actually quite nice, not overpowering at all - just pleasant.

Ive had no break outs, no problems with it at all & Ive been using this on & off for 2 months. Because I have dry skin, I probably wouldnt use this in Winter because it wouldnt be moisturising enough but for summer, this is super light & convenient.

Highly recommend.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my new favourite moisturiser for my combination, acne-prone skin. It absorbs quickly and is very light - so light, that in the winter or on dry-skin days I need to add a few drops of glycerin to it. My nose is oily by noon, but that's better than most other lotions, where I'm oily by 10am. I've yet to find a better lightweights day lotion with SPF (Body Shop Aloe Soothing SPF15 is my second-favourite).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/21/2014 4:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have just bought my second tube of this stuff. PERFECT as a summer moisturiser for all you picky skins out there. I have combi/oily skin and this tones the oil down so much it makes my skin look normal. I also have sensitive skin, and this doesn't make it flare up or break out. It's a white cream that has a certain suncream-ish smell to it I suppose - very light though. The tube is hygenic so I really like that. I tend to put a little too much on the back of my hand so I can use the rest for my decollete area.

During the winter though, my skin hates this moisturizer. I usually use something heavier because my skin will get super dry.

I cleanse with bioderma then apply this right afterwards. I don't wear make up unless I'm going to a party/bar and I cleanse well before going to bed!

on 3/10/2014 5:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

What the hell, Avène?! For something designed for sensitive skin, you sure are smelly and irritating! Felt great going on, but that Cloying grandma-ish rose scent is just too much. Broke me out after a week of use. This was recommended to me by SO many people, but I have tried 3 or 4 Avène products now with the same results (mattifying cleansing foam! Useless!). I have better results using good ol' Moisturel on my face, which has fewer ingredients, is cheap as all-get-out, and leaves my skin dewy not greasy like this did. Expensive, and all hype. Pass.

on 10/15/2013 11:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Third time buying it (eu). It really absorbs into the skin without feeling like you've just applied silicone all over your face. Very soothing, comfrable, matte and great for sensitive skin

on 5/22/2013 3:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

(European version)

I have oily sensitive acne prone skin which can be dehydrated if i use too many harsh products..

This product was totally a random purchase... i was looking for a good moituriser for sensitive skin with SPF but in a light version.

This claims to be for dehydrated normal to combination skin types. It hydrates while keeping the skin looking mate. I dind't expect much.. i only expected a moisturiser... but i got what turn out to be my HG moisturiser :D finally!! after soooo many products i've tried... they all claimed to "hydrate" oily skin and keeping it looking mate and oil free, and they never accomplished that -.- i was starting to feel hopeless...

This is an amazing product, It applys really well, no greasy feeling, and no need to use much to cover all my face. The skin looks instantly mate, with no white cast, but very confortable and hydrated. It's dry to the touch, no sticky feeling at all... Skin feels very soft.

The most amazing part? I look oil and shine free for a good amount of hours!!! I never had this experience with other moisturisers or matifiers... even from la roche posay, vichy or bioderma. I can walk under an hot sun all afternoon, sweating, without feeling like i'm melting off... My face stays oil free, dry to the touch (and very soft), and with a very healthy look (not dull or "dead" looking at all). Even with primer and foundation on top (both of them don't have matifying properties) this works at keeping oiliness at bay. I just got a little bit shiny in my nose, but it's really minimal... So for me it's the perfect base for make up... (this is for more cold weather, for hot weather i have to use a mattifying primer to help control the oils)

With my previous moiturisers (which were targeted to oily skin types) that claim to leave skin mate and shine free, in a few hours i was feeling greasy, melting and with my face sticky and grose :( i was very self concious because my boyfriend likes to touch my face and i avoided that... also, i was always looking like a grease ball... very unflatering right?

So, i don't know what it is about this product but for me it really works wonders! It's the only product that makes me feel like i have normal skin...and it doesn't break me out. Plus, its has sun protection (SPF20).

It's a bit pricey, but i totally give up on searching for a better cheaper product because i'm sure i will not found better options. been there, done that. i prefer to spend 20 euros for a 40 ml tube that really works for me than spend less on products that i end up not using...

I will definitely keep buying it :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top