Avene • Light Protective Hydrating Cream (Hydrance Optimale SPF 20) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sciencegeek on 12/10/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the Hydrance Optimale Light (without the SPF). This moisturiser is too rich for my skin, even for night time. It doesn't really absorb, it sits on top of my skin, leaving a shiny and sticky residue behind. In the morning my face is super oily. I think this caused me to develop a huge pimple on my nose due to the oily film, but I cannot be certain. To use it up, I have been using it on my neck and it works fine there. I would not buy again and I would only recommend it to people who don't mind a sticky film or for people who have drier skin. Mine is combination/normal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brend on 12/10/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by brend

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a GREAT moisturizer - absorbs quickly and nicely (no sticky feel), is moisturizing but still light enough for the hot and humid weather of Singapore. Plus it has sun protection. So when I discovered this, I thought my search for a daily wear sunscreen/moisturizer was over...until almost a year later, I realised it had no UVA protection! I hope someday that it will be reformulated with UVA protection too, but sadly until then, it is back to Biore (which has very good full spectrum sunscreens) for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 9/21/2014 7:37:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Had to resort to this moisturiser while on holiday in Italy recently as I had left my other behind.

This is a VERY light moisturiser, goes on great & absorbs lighting fast - so fast that it feels like you've never put on any!!! I have dry skin so I think I absorb rather fast anyway, but this was surprisingly fast. The smell is actually quite nice, not overpowering at all - just pleasant.

Ive had no break outs, no problems with it at all & Ive been using this on & off for 2 months. Because I have dry skin, I probably wouldnt use this in Winter because it wouldnt be moisturising enough but for summer, this is super light & convenient.

Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missmelanierose on 8/31/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by missmelanierose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my new favourite moisturiser for my combination, acne-prone skin. It absorbs quickly and is very light - so light, that in the winter or on dry-skin days I need to add a few drops of glycerin to it. My nose is oily by noon, but that's better than most other lotions, where I'm oily by 10am. I've yet to find a better lightweights day lotion with SPF (Body Shop Aloe Soothing SPF15 is my second-favourite).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Peachycactus on 8/21/2014 4:32:00 PM more reviews by Peachycactus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have just bought my second tube of this stuff. PERFECT as a summer moisturiser for all you picky skins out there. I have combi/oily skin and this tones the oil down so much it makes my skin look normal. I also have sensitive skin, and this doesn't make it flare up or break out. It's a white cream that has a certain suncream-ish smell to it I suppose - very light though. The tube is hygenic so I really like that. I tend to put a little too much on the back of my hand so I can use the rest for my decollete area.

During the winter though, my skin hates this moisturizer. I usually use something heavier because my skin will get super dry.

I cleanse with bioderma then apply this right afterwards. I don't wear make up unless I'm going to a party/bar and I cleanse well before going to bed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gunzarelli on 3/10/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What the hell, Avène?! For something designed for sensitive skin, you sure are smelly and irritating! Felt great going on, but that Cloying grandma-ish rose scent is just too much. Broke me out after a week of use. This was recommended to me by SO many people, but I have tried 3 or 4 Avène products now with the same results (mattifying cleansing foam! Useless!). I have better results using good ol' Moisturel on my face, which has fewer ingredients, is cheap as all-get-out, and leaves my skin dewy not greasy like this did. Expensive, and all hype. Pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 innese on 10/15/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by innese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Third time buying it (eu). It really absorbs into the skin without feeling like you've just applied silicone all over your face. Very soothing, comfrable, matte and great for sensitive skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* calooza on 5/22/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by calooza

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

(European version)

I have oily sensitive acne prone skin which can be dehydrated if i use too many harsh products..

This product was totally a random purchase... i was looking for a good moituriser for sensitive skin with SPF but in a light version.

This claims to be for dehydrated normal to combination skin types. It hydrates while keeping the skin looking mate. I dind't expect much.. i only expected a moisturiser... but i got what turn out to be my HG moisturiser :D finally!! after soooo many products i've tried... they all claimed to "hydrate" oily skin and keeping it looking mate and oil free, and they never accomplished that -.- i was starting to feel hopeless...

This is an amazing product, It applys really well, no greasy feeling, and no need to use much to cover all my face. The skin looks instantly mate, with no white cast, but very confortable and hydrated. It's dry to the touch, no sticky feeling at all... Skin feels very soft.

The most amazing part? I look oil and shine free for a good amount of hours!!! I never had this experience with other moisturisers or matifiers... even from la roche posay, vichy or bioderma. I can walk under an hot sun all afternoon, sweating, without feeling like i'm melting off... My face stays oil free, dry to the touch (and very soft), and with a very healthy look (not dull or "dead" looking at all). Even with primer and foundation on top (both of them don't have matifying properties) this works at keeping oiliness at bay. I just got a little bit shiny in my nose, but it's really minimal... So for me it's the perfect base for make up... (this is for more cold weather, for hot weather i have to use a mattifying primer to help control the oils)

With my previous moiturisers (which were targeted to oily skin types) that claim to leave skin mate and shine free, in a few hours i was feeling greasy, melting and with my face sticky and grose :( i was very self concious because my boyfriend likes to touch my face and i avoided that... also, i was always looking like a grease ball... very unflatering right?

So, i don't know what it is about this product but for me it really works wonders! It's the only product that makes me feel like i have normal skin...and it doesn't break me out. Plus, its has sun protection (SPF20).

It's a bit pricey, but i totally give up on searching for a better cheaper product because i'm sure i will not found better options. been there, done that. i prefer to spend 20 euros for a 40 ml tube that really works for me than spend less on products that i end up not using...

I will definitely keep buying it :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TRP on 4/26/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by TRP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

To sticky and oily, even in the light version, it leaves an oily feeling on the skin because of the mineral oils. The same applies for the hydrance optimale light night cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LiliRoseVoice on 4/25/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by LiliRoseVoice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent light texture, hydrating moisturizer with SPF 20. I have very oily skin and this is the most comfortable daily moisturizer I have ever tried. The SPF is enough for most of the year, although, living in Italy, during the summer I need some more protection. It's so light and it absorbs so easily that it almost feels like you're not wearing anything. The only downside is the price: here it costs around 20 euros and I find I have to buy two a year. If you have oily skin definitely give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products