Avene • Light Protective Hydrating Cream (Hydrance Optimale SPF 20) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 gunzarelli on 3/10/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What the hell, Avène?! For something designed for sensitive skin, you sure are smelly and irritating! Felt great going on, but that Cloying grandma-ish rose scent is just too much. Broke me out after a week of use. This was recommended to me by SO many people, but I have tried 3 or 4 Avène products now with the same results (mattifying cleansing foam! Useless!). I have better results using good ol' Moisturel on my face, which has fewer ingredients, is cheap as all-get-out, and leaves my skin dewy not greasy like this did. Expensive, and all hype. Pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 innese on 10/15/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by innese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Third time buying it (eu). It really absorbs into the skin without feeling like you've just applied silicone all over your face. Very soothing, comfrable, matte and great for sensitive skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calooza on 5/22/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by calooza

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

(European version)

I have oily sensitive acne prone skin which can be dehydrated if i use too many harsh products..

This product was totally a random purchase... i was looking for a good moituriser for sensitive skin with SPF but in a light version.

This claims to be for dehydrated normal to combination skin types. It hydrates while keeping the skin looking mate. I dind't expect much.. i only expected a moisturiser... but i got what turn out to be my HG moisturiser :D finally!! after soooo many products i've tried... they all claimed to "hydrate" oily skin and keeping it looking mate and oil free, and they never accomplished that -.- i was starting to feel hopeless...

This is an amazing product, It applys really well, no greasy feeling, and no need to use much to cover all my face. The skin looks instantly mate, with no white cast, but very confortable and hydrated. It's dry to the touch, no sticky feeling at all... Skin feels very soft.

The most amazing part? I look oil and shine free for a good amount of hours!!! I never had this experience with other moisturisers or matifiers... even from la roche posay, vichy or bioderma. I can walk under an hot sun all afternoon, sweating, without feeling like i'm melting off... My face stays oil free, dry to the touch (and very soft), and with a very healthy look (not dull or "dead" looking at all). Even with primer and foundation on top (both of them don't have matifying properties) this works at keeping oiliness at bay. I just got a little bit shiny in my nose, but it's really minimal... So for me it's the perfect base for make up... (this is for more cold weather, for hot weather i have to use a mattifying primer to help control the oils)

With my previous moiturisers (which were targeted to oily skin types) that claim to leave skin mate and shine free, in a few hours i was feeling greasy, melting and with my face sticky and grose :( i was very self concious because my boyfriend likes to touch my face and i avoided that... also, i was always looking like a grease ball... very unflatering right?

So, i don't know what it is about this product but for me it really works wonders! It's the only product that makes me feel like i have normal skin...and it doesn't break me out. Plus, its has sun protection (SPF20).

It's a bit pricey, but i totally give up on searching for a better cheaper product because i'm sure i will not found better options. been there, done that. i prefer to spend 20 euros for a 40 ml tube that really works for me than spend less on products that i end up not using...

I will definitely keep buying it :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TRP on 4/26/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by TRP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

To sticky and oily, even in the light version, it leaves an oily feeling on the skin because of the mineral oils. The same applies for the hydrance optimale light night cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LiliRoseVoice on 4/25/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by LiliRoseVoice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent light texture, hydrating moisturizer with SPF 20. I have very oily skin and this is the most comfortable daily moisturizer I have ever tried. The SPF is enough for most of the year, although, living in Italy, during the summer I need some more protection. It's so light and it absorbs so easily that it almost feels like you're not wearing anything. The only downside is the price: here it costs around 20 euros and I find I have to buy two a year. If you have oily skin definitely give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 11/17/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this moisturizer. It's light, but not too light, and absorbs well without feeling greasy. It's very lightly scented, fresh but not overpowering. I would repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NaomiALopez on 10/28/2012 1:54:00 AM more reviews by NaomiALopez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin that burns easily. This moisturizer does it all really hydrates and has SPF. It is light enough to wear under makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sleaf on 10/24/2012 12:26:00 AM more reviews by sleaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive combo skin - this is perfect for the little sun I catch on a regular fall/winter day. It is very light, disappears into my skin, sits beautifully under makeup. It doesn't break me out but is moisturizing enough. (I have the European version)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sierravictorindia on 10/11/2012 1:42:00 PM more reviews by sierravictorindia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

avene hydrance legere spf 20 is perfect day-care for my skin. I have dehydrated combination to oily skin which is very bad combination but this cream is absolutely perfect because it's very hydrating and very light. it's great base for make-up too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BJM67 on 8/4/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by BJM67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The BEST for days of incidental sun exposure...shine free...no white cast...no break-outs after several months of daily use.

Just a phenomenal light sunscreen BUT just be sure that you are buying the European produced Tinosorb S version. I'm certain that the reviews here would be much, much higher - but I believe that these reviews are a mix of U.S. reviewers using the mediocre non-Euro version with the same name and reviewers from the rest of the world who are using the stellar Tinosorb S version.

This is the first sunscreen that was able to pull me away from my HG Japanese one that I had been using for many, many years.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products