Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(497 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 butternut634 on 12/6/2014 7:12:00 AM more reviews by butternut634

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i came across this mascara on a whim, one of those things my mommers buys but never uses, y'know? now, i don't have short or thin lashes but they're not long and voluminous either. some lashes curl, some lashes seem longer but overall, it aint nothing to preach to the choir about. anyways, i think i was just fooling around when i tried it but wow, instantly it added length, volume & and a subtle curl to my lashes! at the time i was very familiar with more high end brands and definitely had favorites among those, but really, wow!

i'm a 400 swipes of mascara type a girl so i really appreciate being able to layer up without having to worry about clumping. and being able to go for a more natural look to something more intense with a few flick of the wrists has made this among my most used mascaras. i like the smell of it very much and with a 3-5x/week use i got about two months of usage out of it. also, the bristles are so wonderful and they do a great job and catching, separating and coating your lashes.

really, a must have in my book!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emiliu on 12/6/2014 6:13:00 AM more reviews by emiliu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite, HG mascara. If you're in a rush, don't worry because the formula and the wand will separate and coat each lash without clumping. I use this mascara on a regular basis and it hasn't gone weird or anything like that. The wand itself is amazing and it gets to the roots of my lashes. Now let's talk about the waterproof part of it.... honestly it isn't the most waterproof formula out there but it still does the job. My curl holds all day and smudging is very minimal.

Would I recommend or repurchase this product... yes, yes and YES!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IsaRiquezes on 11/26/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by IsaRiquezes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this mascara last summer, since I was going to the beach for a few weeks. I'm not a fan of waterproof mascaras, but this one has been the worst I have ever used, it gave me no thickness or length at all, plus it made my eyelashes stick together in a terrible way... When I would get in the water, little black flakes started falling around my eyes. I really have nothing great to say about this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racheslor on 11/23/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by racheslor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my holy grail mascara; i wear this on a daily basis.

From the price to the longevity, the Colossal Volume Express Waterproof mascara is the best. I'm a high school student and I wake up at about 6:00 a.m. to do my makeup. I don't return from clubs/activities and school until about 5:00 p.m. My skin, also, isn't the best (it gets greasy really fast). With a little touch of translucent powder, this mascara stays all day and keeps my lashes perky (yes, ALL day).

Especially with my short, asian lashes, this mascara does a spectacular job of keeping my lashes full and voluminous.

I've purchased about 5 tubes of this mascara already and each one is consistently great. No irritation. Not a problem.

The only minor flaw with this mascara is that it isn't actually waterproof. Though it is difficult to remove, if you go swimming or get soaked in the rain with this mascara on, it will smudge a lot. However, as a daily mascara I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Thanks for reading! (:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 11/13/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this mascara. The formula is really good- no clumping, flaking, or smudging, and it's really moisture proof. But the real star is the brush. The brush beautifully separates and coats each lash, and is very buildable without clumping. You can get some pretty impressive lashes with this brush. My lashes are medium length, not thick at all, and very straight (I do use an eyelash curler, tho). Depending on how much mascara I decide to apply, I can go from looking like I have really nice, full, long lashes all the way to creating lashes that can pass pretty closely for fakes. I use a cleansing oil to get off my mascara, and it works just fine to get everything off with no residue. All in all a great product, and I've been repurchasing for about a year now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MadameButterfly on 11/9/2014 4:36:00 AM more reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Made my eyelashes fall out in clumps. Do I need to say more?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 11/3/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is without a doubt my favourite mascara of all time. I'm one to get really bored with products and always try new things but since trying this ~9 months ago, I've stayed loyal! This mascara makes my relatively stubby lashes super duper long and flirty. With this mascara my lashes are separated, lengthened and volumized. The mascara has a wet but thin formula making it so that the mascara can coat every lash and hold a curl all day. My mascara always looks just as good at the beginning of the day as the end. I prefer the waterproof version because it holds and wears better throughout the day but comes off easily with my Clean and Clear eye makeup remover. The one downside is the packaging which is functional but looks cheap and feels very "12 year old girl" to me. Everyone's lashes are different but I really recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ratach on 10/22/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by Ratach

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is my all time favourite! Having tried countless high-end mascaras, be it Benefit They're Real or Lancome Doll Eyes, none of them have managed to surpass this piece. It lengthens and separates my eyelashes as well as giving them the volume promised. Even though I didn't have a chance to test its waterproof quality on the beach, I can confidently say that my mascara didn't budge when I went through my regular facial wash routine. I advise everyone to avoid splurging on mascara and stick with Maybelline, because they really know what they're doing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sarahdawson2006 on 10/19/2014 5:21:00 AM more reviews by Sarahdawson2006

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Dried very hard and clumpy but is a ok product if you wipe down the wand regularly. I wouldn't say it is my favourite mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pinksk8wax on 10/16/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Pinksk8wax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a horrible habit of accidentally buying the waterproof versions of mascaras, attempting to wear them even though I hate waterproof formulas, hating them, and immediately tossing them in the trash. So, like the other mistaken purchases, I gave this one the benefit of the doubt. I was surprised to see this one was different. I noticed right away after one application that my eyes appeared more awake and brighter. This did smudge a little throughout the day, which I found ironic considering that it was a pain in the butt to remove (like ALL water proof formulas) hence the reason I don't like them and why this only got three stars If you're purposely looking for a waterproof formula for whatever reason, this one is good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products