Maybelline • eyestudio • Eye Shadow

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 erasgem on 3/10/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by erasgem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Really love this! I found it really easy to blend. There were so many colours too! However, I gave the quality a 4, because when I first saw it, the surface had a lot of shimmer on it. But when I used it, I realized the bottom layers didn't have as much shimmer. But I guess that could be fixed with some shimmer powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 4/26/2011 7:45:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the quad 'Banana Split' which contains: an off-white highlight (shimmer), taupe lid colour (satin), dark brown crease (matte) and a pink shimmer. The colours are an interesting combo, especially the pink in a quad of brown neutrals. This quad in particular is super buttery and blend together effortlessly. My fav shades are the taupe and dark brown. It isn't the most pigmented quad that I've come across, but that is fine with me as I prefer more 'understated' shadows that are work/school appropriate and this fits what I was looking for. Since they aren't too tightly pressed, they can often be hard to pick up properly with a brush and best used wet as they show their true colours more. Using a primer underneath is best, but tend to fade and not last as long as the other maybelline shadows. They make for a super quick neutral smokey eye and I can also use the dark brown matte shade for a quick liner. Not badly priced too. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 julma on 2/27/2011 6:19:00 PM more reviews by julma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a maybelline eyestudio in 25 neutral liasons (can't find a category for it so I guess this will do). The middle bronzey color is freaking amazing! It works wonderfully on my pale cool (with slight yellow undertones) skin to create a very wearable daytime eye. So pretty, especially on light coloured eyes (my green eyed friend loves this as well).

The set comes with a white-ish creamy shadow and a darker brown shadow. All of them are creamy and shiny with the smallest hint of sparkle. Sort of your standard cream eyeshadow but pretty light. The only issue I have with these besides the cheap packaging (its drugstore, what can I say?) is the fact that without a primer they will crease like crazy. I also only really use the middle bronze color, so two colors always go to waste. Having said all that the middle bronze color is great. It everyday neutral shadow that really opens your eyes and brightens up your overall look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eustace on 10/12/2010 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Eustace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very good dupe for MAC gel eyeliner. Even the packaging is not typical Maybelline but rather a petite, heavy glass pot with a black lid and minimal writing. I have the product in Charcoal which actually appears rather dark in the pot.. It comes with a small brush and I think they got the length just right on it. It's short enough to give you some control when applying the liner but not so short as to be useless. The liner was easy to apply and gave a nice smooth finish. It lasted for 12 hours with barely discernible smudging or running, even through a workout. I found it easy to remove as well and it did not bother my contact lenses. Potted gel liners have a habit of drying up and this one will probably do the same before I' get to the bottom of it, but at this price, who cares?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Freelizzy on 7/23/2010 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Freelizzy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like cream shadows, so I thought that I would give this one a go because it was cheap. This trio is really cute and the colors are really nice, but they crease like mad. Even if you prime! This wasn't worth $10. If maybelline changed for formula and opted for like a long lasting product in this one's place, I'd be all over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EIGNA on 5/23/2010 11:14:00 PM more reviews by EIGNA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's been awhile since I wore Maybelline eyeshadow. I used to wear it in HS, along with their blush and lippies. However, I've used primarily HE eyeshadows for the last 10 years after beeing turned on to Stila. While browsing ULTA, I came across these quads and thought they looked cute. Plus they had a BOGO going on so I thought, what the heck. I currently have quads in Copper Chic, Pink Persuasion, and Legendary Lilac. All are sheer and shimmery. They don't last as long as my beloved stila, but they are fun for a night out. At close to $10 US, they are a bit steep for DS eyeshadows, but I think if you can get them during a BOGO, they are worth the money. I'd like to pick up a few more in other colors around the next BOGO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smudgiegirl on 5/20/2010 10:37:00 AM more reviews by smudgiegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I've waited about two weeks before giving a review of this product to ensure that I wasn't prematurely providing an opinion that would change after further use\inspection. I purchased the purple icon quad of the Maybelline Eyestudio product and I have to say that I love it! I used in sparingly during the day without the need for any eye shadow base and it looks wonderful. The shadow is a powder that glides like a cream and provides great staying power. I quickly dismissed the applicator provided and used my own makeup brushes for application. The silver was applied to my eyelid and the deepest shade of purple was applied to the outer crease of my eye to provide definition\contrast. I used the lighter shades to naturally blend away from the darker shade. I also reuse the silver at the arches of the brow. The color provides shimmer without looking too glittery.
If applying with an eye shadow base, the glitter does become more pronounced, which is fine for evening makeup but would definitely be over doing it during the day.
If you are looking for a shadow that has a shimmer to it and applies easily without the aide of a base, this is for you! Just use professional makeup brushes and apply sparingly for a great daytime look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Xiaocat on 2/7/2010 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Xiaocat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly to tell that this was the first eyeshadow I bought (though not the first eyeshadow I use), cos it was on sale, 39HKD(about 5 USD). And the colors are safe, GD-2 GOLD NUGGETS. Like the sparkles actually.
However, disappointed. Powder tends to fly all over the place. Brush & sponge's POOOOR quality...OK I know I shouldn't be expecting any good on that got my own brush anyway.
Might give it a last chance and try to apply it wet some day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skigirl on 1/29/2010 5:22:00 PM more reviews by skigirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The product becomes a mess about 4 hours into wearing. What a shame.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mntnalina on 1/7/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by mntnalina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow. Immediately after i saw the display i bought 3 of these and i definetely buy the other ones. The colors are great and the maaybelline website has some videos on how to apply these eyeshadows. The are very creamy and the color last very long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products