Garnier • Body Boost • Shampoo

rated 3.1(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 foryoursmile on 12/19/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by foryoursmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This inexpensive shampoo is pleasant to use with a nice invigorating scent (lemony). While I did not notice a difference in hair volume, it did make it feel smooth and easier to manage. I would use again but would not buy this product if expecting voluminous hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 js1836 on 12/16/2012 2:23:00 AM more reviews by js1836

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. In addition to the added volume, it's tangle free -- comb glides through my hair after I towel dry it. As good as the more expensive volumizing shampoos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sameenelahi821 on 1/29/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by sameenelahi821

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this shampoo for a while now and I have to say it's the first shampoo I've been 100% comfortable with. I have really oily roots and dry ends, and fine hair that's prone to tangling. It's not a good combination, but this shampoo does a great job of cleaning out my roots with a little lathering. If i just let it rinse off my ends, everything is totally clean and not only that, but it smells great and leaves a slight scent on my hair. Combined with a Garnier fortifying conditioner, my hair is manageable and light all day.

The thing is, this shampoo isn't really a "Body Booster". It doesn't make my hair ANY more voluminous, and if I want body I use a spray gel or mousse. DO NOT by this with the desire to have huge hair after a day, week, month, or even a year of use. It won't happen. The advertising is basically a scam, but the shampoo is great if you just need something to wash out oily hair or product residue.


PROS:
- Vigorously cleans oily roots without a ton of scrubbing
- Comes in a huge bottle that lasts a while
- Hair feels lighter after drying

CONS:
- Need to use a bunch of it for my length. With a daily shampoo for my oily hair, it can run out quickly.
- Can't scrub up ends because it will probably dry out
- Doesn't really add "body" like the packaging says

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyonka on 12/16/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by lyonka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe there are so many negative reviews This has quickly become my HG shampoo.

A little background on my hair first: Long, straight, fine/thin, color treated, oily roots and dry ends. My scalp tends to easily get very congested, which results in a lot of shedding of hair strands. It's difficult for me to find a shampoo that is deep cleaning enough for my scalp, without stripping the length of my hair of necessary moisture.

This shampoo really does the trick! It actually feels somewhat moisturizing when I use it, but cleans my scalp thoroughly without drying out my ends. It's thick and lathers up well so a little goes a long way. Best of all I have had less hair shedding since I started using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 6/3/2011 3:05:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Volumizing shampoos I've tried in the past left my hair feeling overly dry and irritated my scalp. Body Boost left my hair hydrated and didn't irritate my scalp. Unfortunately, it didn't add much body. I used it together with Body Boost conditioner. There are two formulas for both shampoo and conditioner - fine hair and normal hair. I used the normal hair formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mtnsunshine on 1/13/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by mtnsunshine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The only thing I hate about this bottle is trying to open it in the shower, otherwise, I love it! I've been coloring my hair for years but recently took a break, and I just trimmed off the last of my damaged, dry hair. However, my virgin hair is oily so I decided to try a volumizing shampoo. I'm glad I did! It doesn't dry my hair out but it's clean and fluffy and soft and shiny. I don't have any product buildup and I haven't had any reaction to the ginseng, which is pretty low on the ingredient list anyway. Garnier has never disappointed me when it comes to performance, and at a dirt cheap price, I'm in drugstore heaven!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 11/3/2010 9:46:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I only bought this shampoo because it was cheap, and I am very happy with it. I was using Redken Blonde Glam but that made my head itchy and my hair felt limp after just a couple of hours. This however, gives me a lot more volume without adding any styling products (right now my hair is poofy. POOFY. That never happens). I have very fine hair which looks like it is thinning on top and to get extra volume helps to make it look healthier. It rinses out easily and my hair is soft and shiny without the use of conditioner. I will buy again, but there are a few more shampoos I want to try first. Happy. And poofy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aladie on 10/31/2010 10:37:00 PM more reviews by aladie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shampoo. I have a lot of fine, straight, long hair with a lot of fly- aways. I highlight my blonde hair and blow dry often so I've always used color care or moisturizing hair products. The first time I used this shampoo I literally looked in the mirror after I finished drying my hair and said WOW! Considering I have every hair product under the sun it takes a lot to impress me. This made my hair so dang shiny and even made my color look different. I realize it is probably due to the fact that this is a clarifying shampoo of sorts and I had a lot of product build up, but regardless, the results were amazing! i used this with the color shield conditioner and 85% of my fly-aways were smoothed and my hair looks so glossy and healthy. I don't care for the packaging because I have to open it with my fingernails but still...Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 12/16/2009 6:12:00 PM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I completely agree with what the last reviewer said about this shampoo. I am proud to say that this is one of the BEST bodifying shampoos I have ever tried. Normally, I have not had that much luck with Garnier shampoos, but I am so glad to have taken the plunge with this. My hair looks and feels super clean, soft, shiny, bouncy, and full of life. It also feels thicker to me and is very light, with no weigh down on my very fine hair. I have also NOT noticed any gummy quality or residue on my at all, as some previous reviewers complained about. Hopefully with this very favorable review, I can bump up the overall rating and maybe some future MUAers will agree with myself and Domino, guess we're in the proud minority here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dominoangel on 11/23/2009 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Dominoangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know why everyone else is having issues with this, because I am definitely NOT having problems. This stuff is wonderful. I have fine hair, oily scalp, color treated hair that tangles and knots like steel wool when wet. This is what I bought after I had severe problems with Herbal Essences tousle me softly. It works great, I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Shampoo products