Fyrinnae • Velvet-Gel Silica Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.6(57 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MaryaliciaVerdecchia on 7/3/2013 4:22:00 PM more reviews by MaryaliciaVerdecchia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Fyrinnae, but this is not one of my favs (with the other being Fluff). I wish they had offerred this in a sample as well, bc I could have saved money. This prudct comes out in a watery mess if I forget to shake it, and even then still watery. When I put it on, I will like I have put nothing on, and don't feel like it does anything for my foundation.

I much prefer spending a little more money for Smashbox phoofinish or L'Oreal Miracle Blur. Maybe I just like he (or got used to) the Silicon feel of face primers. This feels as if I am just going through a wasted step. 3/4 of bottle still left after several applications, seems a little bit goes a long way which is why 2 lippies instead of one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eeeeelicia on 10/12/2011 10:19:00 AM more reviews by Eeeeelicia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the tube. I'm not too fond of the design, because it's constantly tipping over in my vanity. I chose Fyrinnae mainly because the price was right at $7, which is a steal compared to many other primers at over $20. I don't think this has done anything to help extend the wear of my makeup. The consistency of this is very runny/watery, and although it does dry down relatively quick, it essentially feels like I'm just putting water on my face. Which I can easily do without shelling out $7.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunalove on 3/31/2011 1:59:00 PM more reviews by lunalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Their new packaging is a huge improvement, much more sanitary and doesnt dry out! I use a pea size amount all over my face in the morning after washing it. I am super oily so I dont moisturize during the day, just before bedtime. It helps my foundation spread on more smoothly and has a mattifying effect, I like it. The price is much better than all the other primers I have tried, and it does not break me out. I do have to blot 2x during my day (9am - 8pm) but, I think this is just part of it for us super oily skinned folk.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 2lilmonkees on 1/27/2011 2:12:00 PM more reviews by 2lilmonkees

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Just received my 2 new tubes of this. HG primer 4 my oily/acne prone skin. This makes me less oily throughout the whole day. I use MUFE mat velvet+ fndt right now. so im pretty matte which i love :) No streaking or swirls showing up from my stippling method, so im pretty happy w/my primer. :) Also the new packaging of the tubes is awesome, instead of the tub u stuck ur finger in. Try the samples 1st if ur hesitant, but oily girls should really try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dafyophi on 12/26/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by dafyophi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this, but it just irritated my skin and broke me out. This is probably great for someone with combo (not super oily) skin and no problems with large amounts of silica. The oil control was fine, but the breakouts were not very attractive.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hellokittybrock on 12/17/2010 11:45:00 PM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

hmmm its not easy to review this product. First of all this is the first liquid primer I have used. Several years ago I have used liquid primers that contains silicon like chanel, shiseido etc. I have also used silk powder as a primer which doesn't really help out with oil controlling.

Ok this does help out in controlling oil but it's not perfect. I have extremely oily skin. Nothing seems to really work. People say Mac's prep and prime finishing powder is good. I have tested it once at the counter but it didn't impress me. With prep and prime, my skin was oily after 2 hrs. I would give Fyrinnae's silica gel primer a 4. It's cheap. I would say my face still looks shiny but def something manageable. The good thing about this is my liquid mineral foundation goes on flawlessly. I def noticed this difference. I suggest that you all get a $1.50 sample to test this out before getting full size. It's a safer bet this way.

*edit. I think I will give this primer a 3. Paula's choice's new primer controls oil slightly better than this and Fyrinnae has this OOS for such a long time on their website. I wonder if it will ever be restocked since their chemist resigned. Wont buy it anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RosesBlack on 12/13/2010 1:47:00 AM more reviews by RosesBlack

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Other, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have extraordinarily oily skin that is also highly sensitive. I have tried many other brands of primer and most have irritated my skin anywhere from the first day to about a week later. This product is magic. I have been through three jars and it always works. I have used it with mineral foundation and with liquid foundation with excellent results. Without it I have to blot and powder 3-5 times a day to maintain a dewy/natural look. With this I usually only blot twice and powder maybe once if I'm going out after work. Combined with their primer powder (again, my skin is super super oily) I get my preferred look every time. This is one of few products that have stood up to pretty much every other product I've tried.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indoorkitty on 10/16/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by indoorkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried it out the last few days and even though my skin has been a seasonal circus, my TM lasted from 6:30 am to 9:30pm with a bit of blotting around 2pm. I always have to blot though... After blotting, the colour was still even and not patchy. I like the new packaging a bit better because I found the old one dried out really fast and then started doing those white splotches that need to be watered / blended out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 10/5/2010 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

After reading the raves here and on the website I was excited to try this,mind you I am not a primer girl, I don't really like to add that extra step and feel the moisturizer ,foundation and powder should be enough. Although I have used primers that almost seemed worth it, like DHC velvet skin coat- so I was expecting a lot from this and upon swatching on my hand I noticed it was very light, thin, and almost appeared to do nothing, So I tried it over foundation the next morning and again it does close to nothing for me ! Needless to say I would not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 soniawoniapart2 on 8/9/2010 11:11:00 PM more reviews by soniawoniapart2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I did not like this product at all. It's streaky and doesn't blend. Makes my foundation hard to blend and streaky as well, and in some areas it makes it clump up. The worst part is it turns my foundation orange. Which it NEVER did before with any other primer. Also makes my foundation wear off fast. Just slides right off. I've given it so many chances and always end up disappointed. Can't wear it alone cause it makes my face feel like I'm wearing glue. It's a terrible product. I bought the full size cause of all the rave reviews and now I'm stuck with it. Bleh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fyrinnae products

More Primer/ Corrector products