MAC • Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(388 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Gislumy on 6/2/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by Gislumy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It works wonders for my oily skin and used moderately (and blended properly) does not give a white/dead finish even though I am dark-skinned - NC 55

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LarissaQ on 5/9/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by LarissaQ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loooooove this powder!!!!!
It makes my makeup last much longer, my skin looks beautiful with it!
I have an oily T-zone, so during the day i start to "shine". When using this it doesn't happend with me and my makeup stays perfect!
It looks white, but when you set on your skin it disappears completly, very safe to use!
I don't get that "white mask" visual on my makeup, even when retouching.
My skin feels very soft with it too, the imperfections turn into less visible ones, or no visible at all.
This is something that i can't be without when i want that perfect makeup.
I don't use it everyday, but there wouldn't be a problem if i did.
I like to use this under my eyes too, so the concealer last longer and doesn't get into the fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lolo100 on 2/25/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by lolo100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This product is the same as using corn flour on a powder puff. The texture is horrible, it leaves white streaks everywhere, it is un-absorbing and dehydrating on the skin.
Unless your foundation is very wet when applied, I do not see how this product can properly work.

The packaging was not good either, even though I pierced through the plastic for the number of holes I wanted, too much always spilt out.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/28/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love these translucent finishing powders. They are great to use all year round and you can save money and time because you don't need to find a separate powder for each season to match skin tone as it changes - this works for me whether I'm paler or more tan (not that it actually stops me from buying more make-up because I'm a product junkie, but in theory it could. . .). I apply this with a large, fluffy powder brush - usually my MUFE Lg Powder brush - which gives me a thin even layer, then blend it out. It looks white for a few seconds then becomes colourless. I also pat this under my eyes, with a concealer setting brush because the powder is non-drying yet sets concealer perfectly

I like that it doesn't completely mattifify skin, so your skin still looks like real, natural skin - but seems to keep my face shine-free (I have an oily t-zone) all day, minimizes the appearance of pores, and also helps my make-up last for hours longer than it would without. I always check my skin in natural light after doing my make-up, as I hate seeing any demarcation/powdery look, and prefer a natural looking skin and this looks amazing! It blurs any flaws and does not look dry/cakey or powder-like at all! It seems to just melt into skin and looks like absolutely nothing is on your face. It also makes your skin feel sooo soft. It doesn't ever cake when you touch up and doesn't look heavy.

I always keep a back-up, even though one jar lasts me 6-8 months if not more. The only thing I don't like is the messy container but I I transfer a small amount to a travel-friendly brush that holds powder in an attached jar at the bottom so I can touch-up if needed. I also use the MUFE HD powder, which I like a tiny bit better because it seems more finely-milled and silkier than the MAC. The ELF HD powder version is great as well. I alternate a few brands and the differences between them are very minimal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/26/2014 12:27:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not a fan! Messy to use, not a pretty scent, looks whitish on skin and likes to fly up my nose lol. I did disguise my pores well but my skin looks dry and aged and I'm sure my skin has dried out over the last few days from use.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 africa11 on 1/25/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by africa11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Keeps my oily skin matte, and my make up fresh throughout the day! Cant stand the packaging, as a lot of product gets wasted! I have purchased this many times and it is the HG of finishing powders!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocoacloud on 1/24/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by cocoacloud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This has got to be my most re-purchased make up staple ever. I've gone through about 5 tubs of this. No matter how far I stray, I always come back to it because it does what its supposed to do perfectly. I usually use this powder to lock in my foundation and it never leaves a white cast - it blurs imperfections and allows my makeup to come through without mattifying it too much. I also like to pat this under the eye to prevent my eyeliner from budging. I use this on no makeup days when all I want to do is make my sunscreen look less shiny on my face. It's such a wonderful, versatile and effective product. Oh and it doesn't break you out either! You also get to use every single bit of this powder because the powder sift thingy can come apart, allowing you to really get to the bottom of the container. I would definitely repurchase, even though its a bit on the pricey side - reliable basics are just so hard to come by!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StefanieBeauty on 1/20/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by StefanieBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have the pressed version of this powder and it's just gorgeous! I'm quite lucky to have clear skin so I hate to mask it with heavy coverage products so I recently converted from Mac Studio Fix powder to this, LOVE. I weat this with Mac Prep + Prime bb cream... hello dewy, glowing skin. This powder manages to keep an oily t-zone at bay, but still allows a beautiful dewy glow. I think this is great quality for the price, for a mid to high end makeup brand. I read reviews saying it makes you look pale despite being translucent so I'm going to look out for that, I don't notice my NC35 skin tone looking pale at all. I will admit I'm going to buy Chanel Poudre Universal and compare the two, so I'll keep you posted....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hpgryffn23 on 1/7/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by hpgryffn23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love love LOVE this product. I use it as a finishing touch after my foundation. It never leaves a white mask or anything of that sort. I usually put it on in the morning (10am) and leave it on throughout my day (till maybe 6-7pm). It soaks up oil pretty well and keeps my face nice and matte. Some cons are I lose some of the product because of the holes but I guess just keep some of the holes covered with the tape it comes in (i.e. don't rip the whole thing off). Really love the product however it's pretty expensive and can be pricey to keep repurchasing. I've purchased NYX's HD finishing powder and hope that'll be a good substitute for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heatherxlane on 12/25/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Heatherxlane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is AMAZING. I have always used a medium coverage foundation and recently I switched to Tarte's BB cream for a more light coverage. I was wanting a finishing powder to go over my BB cream and ended up buying this after all the wonderful reviews. This is literally the best powder I have ever used. It doesn't look cakey, it keeps oil at bay, and helps conceal pores. I have oily skin and this kept my face shine free for about 12 hours. I apply it with a fan brush or a kabuki. The packaging is also pretty good for a loose powder but can be messy if you pour to much powder. I will definitely repurchase when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Loose Powders products