MAC • Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(393 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Aritzia on 1/24/2015 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Aritzia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

After using so many setting powders (mufe hd, urban decay, tarte, too faced) and not being impressed by any.. I went to mac for a cheaper alternative and found this. Honestly didn't expect much from it but wow, this keeps me matte for hours on end. I have the oiliest skin (as in I do my makeup at 7 am and already have to blot and re powder by 9 am), not with this. Definitely will be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 persouki on 12/24/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by persouki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This powder is pure perfection. I have been using MAC's Studio Fix powder on top of my foundation for a few years and tired of the orangey appearance that powder gave me I decided to try a transparent one. Prep&Prime powder was exactly what I was looking for.No powdery look,easy to blend,sets make up to last all day and gives the face a beautiful glow. One of the few MAC products that are worth the hype.I have been using it everyday for the last six months and it hasn't broken me out. I am very pleased with it, it's definitely worth its money and I would definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Holly40 on 11/12/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Holly40

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased that at a CCO and have been in love ever since. I use this to set my concealer and my foundation. It's a smooth finish that keeps my make-up in place all day. Yes, I would pay full price for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amitayumi on 11/12/2014 9:53:00 AM more reviews by amitayumi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i have this as substitute of my hd powder from makeup forever ...this powder works perfectly on camera flash without whiteness like makeup forever hd powder does :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anniecrow on 11/1/2014 12:34:00 PM more reviews by anniecrow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this powder recently to try and battle oiliness throughout the day, and so far it totally does the trick! I hate touching up after I leave the house in the morning and this keeps me shine-free and my foundation in place all day. My only qualm is it is a bit messy, difficult to get the right amount out of the bottom reservoir without it exploding on my vanity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gislumy on 6/2/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by Gislumy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It works wonders for my oily skin and used moderately (and blended properly) does not give a white/dead finish even though I am dark-skinned - NC 55

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LarissaQ on 5/9/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by LarissaQ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loooooove this powder!!!!!
It makes my makeup last much longer, my skin looks beautiful with it!
I have an oily T-zone, so during the day i start to "shine". When using this it doesn't happend with me and my makeup stays perfect!
It looks white, but when you set on your skin it disappears completly, very safe to use!
I don't get that "white mask" visual on my makeup, even when retouching.
My skin feels very soft with it too, the imperfections turn into less visible ones, or no visible at all.
This is something that i can't be without when i want that perfect makeup.
I don't use it everyday, but there wouldn't be a problem if i did.
I like to use this under my eyes too, so the concealer last longer and doesn't get into the fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lolo100 on 2/25/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by lolo100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the same as using corn flour on a powder puff. The texture is horrible, it leaves white streaks everywhere, it is un-absorbing and dehydrating on the skin.
Unless your foundation is very wet when applied, I do not see how this product can properly work.

The packaging was not good either, even though I pierced through the plastic for the number of holes I wanted, too much always spilt out.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/28/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love these translucent finishing powders. They are great to use all year round and you can save money and time because you don't need to find a separate powder for each season to match skin tone as it changes - this works for me whether I'm paler or more tan (not that it actually stops me from buying more make-up because I'm a product junkie, but in theory it could. . .). I apply this with a large, fluffy powder brush - usually my MUFE Lg Powder brush - which gives me a thin even layer, then blend it out. It looks white for a few seconds then becomes colourless. I also pat this under my eyes, with a concealer setting brush because the powder is non-drying yet sets concealer perfectly

I like that it doesn't completely mattifify skin, so your skin still looks like real, natural skin - but seems to keep my face shine-free (I have an oily t-zone) all day, minimizes the appearance of pores, and also helps my make-up last for hours longer than it would without. I always check my skin in natural light after doing my make-up, as I hate seeing any demarcation/powdery look, and prefer a natural looking skin and this looks amazing! It blurs any flaws and does not look dry/cakey or powder-like at all! It seems to just melt into skin and looks like absolutely nothing is on your face. It also makes your skin feel sooo soft. It doesn't ever cake when you touch up and doesn't look heavy.

I always keep a back-up, even though one jar lasts me 6-8 months if not more. The only thing I don't like is the messy container but I I transfer a small amount to a travel-friendly brush that holds powder in an attached jar at the bottom so I can touch-up if needed. I also use the MUFE HD powder, which I like a tiny bit better because it seems more finely-milled and silkier than the MAC. The ELF HD powder version is great as well. I alternate a few brands and the differences between them are very minimal.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/26/2014 12:27:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not a fan! Messy to use, not a pretty scent, looks whitish on skin and likes to fly up my nose lol. I did disguise my pores well but my skin looks dry and aged and I'm sure my skin has dried out over the last few days from use.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Loose Powders products