MAC • Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.5(90 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kiyoshi001 on 11/12/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by kiyoshi001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I went to the mac store today and I wanted a primer and was offered this one. I was bit worried because after seeing the reviews here I wasn't so sure I wanted it. But they let me test it and I told them I'd get back to them if I like it. Anyways it's 7:30pm and I used this 11am in the morning. My nose still isn't greasing, my forehead is "shineless". Everywhere I put it is perfect, it keeps you but not overly dry which is good plus my skin feels so smooooooth. Only issue: it's friggin small like sooo small you can't afford to be wasteful with it. Just use it where you're really oily. Oh and of course it's expensive like every other mac product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 camcamz223 on 5/26/2014 1:26:00 AM more reviews by camcamz223

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's okay, it works when you mix it with other primers but I returned it and bought the Lorac mattifying primer instead. Waaaaay better and 1.7 ounces, it's impressive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gislumy on 5/24/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Gislumy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has become my holy grail of face primers. Works like a charm on my very oily skin. Don't get me wrong, with skin like mine the oil will come, but a light blot with even tissue restores makeup as though it was freshly applied. Normally I would need to use two blotting sheets and then re-apply powder. All of that effort is not required with this product. Excellent product! I buy two at a time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lorensx on 12/17/2013 5:13:00 AM more reviews by Lorensx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have super oily skin and i have tried a heap of primers and this is the only one that has kept my skin completely matte for hours. It felt smooth on my skin and you really dont have to use very much, just a couple of drops, I will definitely keep buying this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mummykel25 on 9/15/2013 3:41:00 AM more reviews by Mummykel25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't have a huge problem with pores but on reading reviews I thought I'd give it a try. The products in a nice little black tube it is small but I've paid a lot more for primers in the past and they do normally last a long time so I thought £15/16 was reasonable. I tried the primer at first on its own over moisturiser and then again over the primer I usually favour the mac prep and prime skin base visage using it only in the areas I felt I needed it, I was expecting it to allow me to apply my foundation smoothly but I found it left the areas I used it very matt and dried out, I already struggle with dry skin and eczema so this was the last thing I needed in a primer I had to remove the product and re moisturise my face. I won't be using this primer again so I can't comment I whether long term use off it would help with pores and lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PaintInkChick on 4/13/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by PaintInkChick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

So I received this about a month ago as a lovely extra from a sweet Mua'er:) I probably would have never thought to pick this up due to size & pricing unless someone had recommend it. First off I don't have oily skin per say,but I guess if I "accidently" grad a wrong product,it tends to increase the oil in my skin. Example, I stopped my Mac & since its right next to the Clinque counter I asked the mua if she'd mind grabbing my mositurizer for me so I can pay all @ once. But I didn't notice she got the #3 very dry,and I think this added more oil in my skin,which I didn't need making my nose very oily. So this product came just in time. A little goes a long way,a just apply a couple small dots to my nose & the sides and I can tell a big difference. I don't find it shrinks the pores,but it does minimalizes them and makes the oily parts matter. Since I don't really wear foundation too much,just Msfn normally I had to wait & see how it did with that. And it wore pretty well. Overall,I do like this product & if I fell a need for it I'll probably purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyclops68 on 12/13/2012 3:38:00 PM more reviews by cyclops68

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and my T-zone gets shiny with a layer of MAC Blot after 4-5 hours, even in winter when there is almost no humidity. Now that I have tested the Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone for more than a year and gone through 2 tubes of it, I am ready to give it a glowing review.

I was first recommended Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone when it first came out back in summer 2008 by a MAC senior makeup artist during a makeover session, when I voiced my concerns that my foundation didn't seem to be going on evenly. It didn't appeal to me then because I hardly use foundation, and still rarely do. At that time I was using Prep and Prime Skin (without SPF) or Prep and Prime Face Protect (with SPF50). When I finally ran out, I decided to give Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone a try. I use it two dots on my forehead, a dot on my nose and a dot on my chin, over which I might apply concealer (if there are blemishes to cover) and then a layer of MAC Blot (pressed) to set, following by a mist of Fix+. I am delighted to report that combining Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone and MAC Blot manages to keep my face shine free for almost 12 hours! To be precise, it gets ever so slightly dewy on my nose about 7-8 hours in, but it can be ignored or taken care of by lightly blotting with a piece of tissue paper... or even the back of my hand. After 12 hours of wear though, it is advisable to touch up with a layer of MAC Blot. I have tried this combination in all weathers and seasons, and it works perfectly even in Mediterranean summer. However, I noticed when I was on holiday in a tropical climate that was extremely humid that due to increased perspiration, my skin got dewy within 5-6 hours and needed a touch up.

I have tried Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone in combination with other powders for oil control, such as Prep and Prime Transparent Finishing Powder, and MAC Studio Careblend. I found that Skin Refined Zone + Transparent Finishing Powder didn't work as well (5 hours without shine), and Skin Refined Zone + Careblend worked slightly better (about 6-7 hours without shine). Regardless of the powder used to set, it is evident that Prep and Prime Skin Refined Zone still contributes to some oil control properties on its own. I can confidently say that I have found my staple, holy grail makeup primer, and I highly recommend combining it with MAC Blot to anyone who might have combination skin.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MelissaJuice on 9/30/2012 12:42:00 PM more reviews by MelissaJuice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I must admit that this is the first primer I've ever tried, I saw it and thought I'd just give it a try since I find the pressed Prep + Prime finishing powder quite amazing...
I'm not terribly impressed with this primer, but i do get some use out of it.
It mattifies quite well, makes the skin surface definitely smoother and the (Clarins Ever Matte) foundation easier to blend... however, the mattifying effect doesn't last more than a few hours before the oil wins again, but what I really like about this primer is that it makes my foundation last much longer.
For some reason it doesn't work with MAC's Pro Longwear foundation on me though... tried it only once, and the PL just became completely patchy and virtually unblendable... like if you'd use a very mattifying foundation on very dry skin :(
I think I would repurchase this product, but I'd also really like to test another one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neillxoxoxo on 9/24/2012 10:55:00 AM more reviews by neillxoxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this primer. BEST I've used. I usually apply this onto my T zone after I've applied my dermablend primer all over. Literally no pores, no oiliness, nothing. Does exactly what you want.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 stella0r on 9/4/2012 2:39:00 AM more reviews by stella0r

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This broke me out! If I apply before makeup as base, it doesn't control oil, which is exactly what it's supposed to do. The SA from Mac taught me that this can be used for touch ups to mattify the shiny areas - it doesn't prolong the oilies either. Nothing a blotting paper can't do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products