MAC Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone

3.5

94 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Silica, Dimethicone, Isododecane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Sucrose, Trehalose, Caffeine, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Mannose Phosphate, Polyglyceryl-3 Disiloxane Dimethicone, Laureth-9, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Salicylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer-3, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/Vp Copolymer, Cyclopentasiloxane, Di-C12-18 Alkyl Dimonium Chloride, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Citrate, Disodium Edta, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol


on 6/11/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am not certain why but my experience with this product is a bit odd. The first week that I used this product, I loved it. It looked good and kept my powder foundation intact. The following weeks, my skin started getting oilier and oilier. Could it be that the product was clogging my pores? I am not sure, but I ended up returning the product.



on 4/10/2015 9:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely oily skin and large pores. This product definitely has it's pros and it's cons.

Con-this isn't a product you want to wear under makeup. You would have to apply a very small amount in a thin layer to do so successfully. It will ball up under / over any foundation that has silica in it. Which pretty much every foundation does. Reason being Refined Skin Zone is made up mostly of silica. When two products with silica come in contact with eachother it repels and balls up.

It's pro is that it works great as a night treatment. It clears out pores and shrinks them while keeping your oil in check throughout the night.

If you don't wear makeup or don't plan on wearing makeup in the spots you put it this product it will work great for you. Otherwise just use it as a night treatment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2015 9:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was so disappointed with this product. I assumed this would be a decent primer because of macs prep & prime line but it totally was not. I applied it to my T zone area and applied foundation right after. I noticed that the foundation went on splotchy and uneven so I removed it and tried again. The second time, I allowed the primer to dry completely (5 mins) and I noticed that even though i applied the foundation with a brush, there were visible finger prints and smeared lines around where i applied the primer. This stuff is so difficult to work with. The foundation still didnt apply evenly which defeats the purpose of using a primer. Although it may be because my skin is a tad dryer than usual but regardless, I've never had a problem like this with any other primers. I was disappointed with this product and would not buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2014 12:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

This is the only primer what keeps me non-oily for few hours (it is good- my T-zone gets veeeeeeery oily) which many high rated mattifiers didn't. I'll repeat it. it is THE ONLY ONE after trying plenty. I'm on 4th or 5th tube of this. It's small but you need just a bit for large area. I like that there is a little tip at the end- it makes it easy to apply (and its hygienic) BUT whenever I open it its runny. MAC please fix this! It is so annoying when you waste expensive product!
Another thing- I can't blend my foundation over it so I just don't apply foundation on my T-zone. If you dont wear make up and youre oily- this will be great for you.
You can use it on the foundation and it works BUT you have to be really careful because you can easily smudge the make up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2014 1:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay so I went to the mac store today and I wanted a primer and was offered this one. I was bit worried because after seeing the reviews here I wasn't so sure I wanted it. But they let me test it and I told them I'd get back to them if I like it. Anyways it's 7:30pm and I used this 11am in the morning. My nose still isn't greasing, my forehead is "shineless". Everywhere I put it is perfect, it keeps you but not overly dry which is good plus my skin feels so smooooooth. Only issue: it's friggin small like sooo small you can't afford to be wasteful with it. Just use it where you're really oily. Oh and of course it's expensive like every other mac product.


on 5/26/2014 1:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It's okay, it works when you mix it with other primers but I returned it and bought the Lorac mattifying primer instead. Waaaaay better and 1.7 ounces, it's impressive.


on 5/24/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has become my holy grail of face primers. Works like a charm on my very oily skin. Don't get me wrong, with skin like mine the oil will come, but a light blot with even tissue restores makeup as though it was freshly applied. Normally I would need to use two blotting sheets and then re-apply powder. All of that effort is not required with this product. Excellent product! I buy two at a time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2013 5:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have super oily skin and i have tried a heap of primers and this is the only one that has kept my skin completely matte for hours. It felt smooth on my skin and you really dont have to use very much, just a couple of drops, I will definitely keep buying this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2013 3:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I don't have a huge problem with pores but on reading reviews I thought I'd give it a try. The products in a nice little black tube it is small but I've paid a lot more for primers in the past and they do normally last a long time so I thought £15/16 was reasonable. I tried the primer at first on its own over moisturiser and then again over the primer I usually favour the mac prep and prime skin base visage using it only in the areas I felt I needed it, I was expecting it to allow me to apply my foundation smoothly but I found it left the areas I used it very matt and dried out, I already struggle with dry skin and eczema so this was the last thing I needed in a primer I had to remove the product and re moisturise my face. I won't be using this primer again so I can't comment I whether long term use off it would help with pores and lines.


on 4/13/2013 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Green

So I received this about a month ago as a lovely extra from a sweet Mua'er:) I probably would have never thought to pick this up due to size & pricing unless someone had recommend it. First off I don't have oily skin per say,but I guess if I "accidently" grad a wrong product,it tends to increase the oil in my skin. Example, I stopped my Mac & since its right next to the Clinque counter I asked the mua if she'd mind grabbing my mositurizer for me so I can pay all @ once. But I didn't notice she got the #3 very dry,and I think this added more oil in my skin,which I didn't need making my nose very oily. So this product came just in time. A little goes a long way,a just apply a couple small dots to my nose & the sides and I can tell a big difference. I don't find it shrinks the pores,but it does minimalizes them and makes the oily parts matter. Since I don't really wear foundation too much,just Msfn normally I had to wait & see how it did with that. And it wore pretty well. Overall,I do like this product & if I fell a need for it I'll probably purchase it.


Back to Top