Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Black Honey

4.4

58 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/17/2015 2:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WOW. This is the best lipgloss i'v ever tried!! I'm normally a matte lipstick gal. But I bought this in a set, and figured i'd try it. and oh my gosh. it's so smooth, no too thick, but not too thin it wears off right away. It has no flavor, but a mild scent that I can't quite put my finger on. It lasts about two hours on me, and leaves my lips soft and supple! It feels like I put on a thick lip balm. Great for the winter months. The colour is very lightly tinted, it's almost clear on my pigmented lips.



on 10/29/2014 12:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's not the same color as the classic Almost Lipstick in Black Honey. Not a huge deal IF it was flattering against my NC20/cool-neutral skintone, but sadly it is not. There's too much of a brown/orange undertone and not enough of that beautiful, soft reddish/berry tones of the Almost Lipstick. Too bad because I love the shine, moisture and cushy/balmy feel of the Superbalms and how they can basically replace regular lipbalm/gloss for me. Only issue I had with ALL of them, including this one, is that the formula goes rancid in less than a year (smells awful!).


on 9/8/2014 10:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this. If you're like me and loved the color of Black Honey Almost Lipstick but wanted it to last more than 5 minutes, this is a pumped-up glossy version that is super-moisturizing and really lasts. While the initial glassiness tones down a bit, I still have a thin layer of moisture and a pretty stain on my lips 8 hours later (after eating and drinking). Same shade, but closer in texture to Lip Glass; you squeeze the gel-like gloss out of a tube, so you get slightly more pigment than the Almost Lipstick, but the effect is quite sheer and you can play around with how much product you want to apply.

I don't usually buy lipstick/lip color; I'm pretty happy with my assortment of lip balms and GWP lipsticks in neutrals and berries. I bought this to top off my shopping cart at Sephora to get free shipping about 3 years ago; I had never been a fan of the squeezy tube glosses or high-shine lacquers as I have fuller lips and too much shine is just overkill.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I've been using this mostly in the cooler months, when my skin is more matte and the hyper-glossy lip looks fresh and youthful, not unseemly. And as I said, it's a really excellent moisturizer; I don't have to keep applying lip balm when I use this. Definitely a staple item.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2014 3:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my MUST HAVE. After being a true lover of the black honey almost lipstick Sephora started carrying the Superbalm black honey. It was instant LOVE on my part. Love LOVE LOVE is all I can say and if there were a dupe someone please tell me. I think they only sell the superbalm in black honey at Sephora? I will use this gloss as long as I live.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2014 7:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a nice gloss - fairly thick but not overly sticky, it really is very moisturising and feels great on the lips. The colour is on the sheer side which I like - the lipstick from the same range definitely has more payoff, but being someone who hardly ever wears anything other than lip balm, I prefer the gloss. I probably would not get it again if I lost it because it is expensive for what it is, but I am enjoying it while it lasts.


on 1/9/2014 11:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had purchased 3 tints in these (Curarnt, Raspberry, and Black Honey). I purchased them because I wanted ease of application i.e. apply without a mirror. It is a nice consistency - not too sticky. It feels very pleasant on the lips and keeps my lips hydrated. This colour has to be the most disappoiting colour of the 3. it applied unevenly and made me look tired. I also needed a mirror to apply this which defeated the purpose of buying these to begin with. The lipstick version of this colour is much better. This will be going back to the store because i hardly use it.


on 12/4/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

It is not as pigmented as the black honey lipstick. Not that the lipstick itself is super pigmented though.
It looks nice, I'll give it that. Just a classy amount of shine with one swipe. But it really is sticky. It promises to be moisturizing, well, I wouldn't ever call a sticky gloss moisturizing. But it definitely is not drying. I won't buy it again because pretty as it is, it is nothing special for the price. I have clear glosses I bought for two bucks that would do the trick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2013 12:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It's HG band MLBB this is so wonderfull, my beast my favorite holy grail, I lik so own like four tubes of these, I emotionally well my lips can't be without this moisturizing product and colour, I wear over the plummy Clinique lipglosses, now i know why so many people love it, and it more colour and product shown than the almost li[stick blac honey,b ut this is better as that almost lipstick in black honey is so sheer.


on 8/4/2012 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Well here is another "universally flattering" color that does not flatter me at all, much like NARS orgasm. I have fair skin (though I sometimes fake-tan), light blonde hair, and blue/grey/green eyes. Cool pinks always work the best for me, but even if I try darker colors, cool tones always seem to work better for me. Orange/brown tones just don't seem to work for me. I'm still giving it 3 lippies though because the formula is nice enough and the color seems to be great for other people, but not me.


on 6/15/2012 6:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Donít get me wrong, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this gloss, its only just as sticky as other glosses. I also did not notice any moisturizing effect unfortunately. An advantage is, that this shade really seems to suit any skintone and colour, thatís why I would repurchase even though the price is quite high for a simple lip gloss.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top