MAC Lustre in Lady Bug

4.4

135 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/2/2015 6:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A nice, glossy, slightly sheer bright red with subtle orange undertones. It applies very evenly and smoothly and, like most MAC Lustres, is hydrating on the lips. It applies sheerly but is buildable so you can apply it lightly during the day for a subtle punch of red and then build it up to a bright attention grabbing colour for night. A nice, easy to wear red. I love it. For reference, I am NC20.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/26/2015 12:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a red lipstick kind of girl. I just love the classic look of red lips. In fact, I have all the popular reds from Mac- Russian Red, Ruby Woo, MAC Red, Lady Danger, Viva Glam I and even Chili.
I was browsing thru the Mac website and saw Lady Bug. It's in Lustre finish. I thought this would be very wearable, especially on days when you just want subdued red lips. It's moisturizing too, it's like wearing a lip balm. I wasn't expecting a long wearing formula from this one because it's in lustre finish. So no disappointments. Needless to say, I love it! Would definitely repurchase.


on 7/3/2015 5:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Perfect starter red. I already have multiple reds from MAC (Ruby Woo, Russian Red and Lady Danger) but I was missing a sheer red that is really red (don't you just hate it when a sheer red turns out dark pink..?). This is just that, a perfect sheer red red. This is a brilliant lipstick for those hot summer days when you just don't want to wear too much make-up but still have a little decent colour on the lips. The colour is a warm red, indeed very aptly named, as it does look like the colour of a lady bug. Formula is creamy, doesn't feel drying at all, I even have moisturized lips at the end of a day wearing this. The only cons are that it does tend to stick to dry skin on your lips and the longevity is non-existent. I have to reapply constantly -.-'


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

FTR: I own six red lipsticks. Out of the ones that I have, this is the brightest. On me, this is a classic bright stop sign red. I get compliments on it a lot. I would say it's suited to fairer skin tones.

My skin is very, very pale. I have no clue about my skin's undertones... I can wear coral and dijon yellow very well, if that mean's anything. I look ill in lavender. If that sounds like your skin tone, then this colour will work for you.

This is definitely a yellow-based red. It's a light red, but very bright. This is not a vampy, glamorous red. It's quite glossy, thin in texture, but stays on quite well. Except for one issue - this is the only lipstick that seems to end up on my teeth.


on 4/21/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I usually shy away from red lipsticks, but Lady Bug isn't an intimidating red. The shade isn't too bright and you can layer the colour from pretty sheer to opaque. The name of the lipstick describes the shade perfectly. I love the shiny finish, it makes my lips look moisturized and slightly fuller. Many of my MAC lipsticks are drying, but Lady Bug's texture is creamy and even moisturizing. Best of all, it makes my teeth look whiter.

The downside of the texture is that it transfers very easily and the staying power isn't great, so you have to reapply often. It lasts on me around 2-3 hours if I don't drink. Lip liner helps to control the sliding. I use MAC's Pro Longwear Lip Pencil in Kiss Me Quick, which is a good colour match.

Despite its flaws, I love the shade and finish, so I would buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous, very wearable red. It has a nice sheen that keeps my lips moisturized for hours. The red colour is not sharp or shocking, it's a bright yet gentle red that's perfect for the office and every day use. My favourite red and my favourite MAC lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 8:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite red lipstick. Mac's lustre finish leaves a glossy shine, hydrates the lips and is comfortable to wear. This red doesn't lean too blue nor too orange and as such, is the perfect neutral red for my NC20 skin tone. It can be worn quite sheerly in one or two coats - suitable for daily wear, and can be built up to a bright, show-stopping red quite easily - perfect for nights out and glamorous occasions. This lipstick is my go-to red.


on 1/19/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This lipstick is my favourite red, it is a beautiful shade and looks amazing on my lips. For some people this may be a slightly bright colour so I would recommend using a lip brush if you are looking for a more natural look. I also feel this lipstick could look amazing on any skin tone as it it looks beautiful and has a really nice finish.

The staying power isn't great but I still think it is worth the price as apart from this it has all of the quality you would expect from MAC, plus as always it comes in the traditional MAC packaging which I feel adds a touch of elegance to my makeup collection.

I would definitely recommend this lipstick to a friend.


on 11/17/2014 8:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Nice neutral/ almost sheer red. If your lips are always cracked, this is for you, will not highlight any cracks or dry lips. A major con is the lasting power, 2 hours max

Edit:
I wouldn't call it neutral, it is bright but very flattering on my NC45 skin. It is less sheer and more opaque if you don't wear a balm under.


on 9/13/2014 7:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this from MAC having read reviews and expected an orangey-red shade but on me it's a pink-red and looks very matronly. I think it's a very boring shade, not that it lasts very long. It needed reapplying within minutes as it glides right off. It has a really strong smell too, more than any other MAC lipstick that I own (and I own many).


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
216 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
27 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top