Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer


125 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$


Isododecane, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Beeswax, Silica, Boron Nitride, Quaternium-90 Bentonite, Talc, Microcrystalline Wax, Propylene Carbonate, Cetyl PEG/PPG10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-12 Glyceryl DiMyristate, Water, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Betaine, Glycerin, Potassium Sorbate, Tremella Fuciformis Sporocarp Extract. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron oxide

on 9/23/2015 12:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this primer. It keeps my eyeshadow and liner in place for the whole day and sometimes, when I fall asleep on the couch, throughout the night. I too was surprised by so many bad reviews on here and I suspect that many of them may be due to a lack of practice with this primer. It is thicker than most and does require a minute or two to sort of soak into your lid. Otherwise, your creamier shadows or liquid liners will slip right off. Think about it cream primer and a cream eyeshadow? Basic science says those two will just mix together. I apply this primer after my moisturizer or BB cream and let all of that soak in for a minute. Then I continue with my make up job. With this primer, it does intensify shadows some, especially if you apply the primer really thick at first so you can choose to use that to your advantage if you want. I especially love this primer for a night time look when I'm doing a heavy smokey eye because nothing moves. All of my blending works stays exactly where I blended it and I don't have that racoony, melted off eye look at the end of the night. I'm also notorious for forgetting that I have make-up on during the day, and after working those long 12-13 hour days I've been known to rub my eyes and yell "Ach! I forgot I had on make-up!" while running to a mirror. But this primer helps stave off any major drama when I do that and keeps things in place!

When it's done, it's done. There is no scraping the sides of the tube. You need to go buy a new one. And if you don't close the tube tightly, it will dry out. If you are rubbing your eye too much when applying, you either didn't put enough on, or your tube is empty/dried out and need to buy a new one.

All in all, this is one of my top two eyelid primers year round.

on 8/11/2015 8:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm glad I gave this a second chance, I got this in a kit and tried it in the winter and thought it was the worst primer. It made my eyelids dry and crepey, my eyeshadow powdery and uneven.

Come summer when out of desperation with the heat causing my lids to be oily I tried the Smashbox primer again because I had no time to research for a new one.

This time, in the summer humidity, the primer went on much more moist and gave a good base for my shadows. It stayed semi matte for about 4-6 hours and even with oil breakthrough it didn't look bad. It leaves a tinted base and made my shimmery shadows matte though. I think this can double as a concealer too.

on 7/23/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually use the Nars eye primer but in comparison this one worked just as well. It's a little thicker and tackier than the Nars primer and I could see it being a little drying but it kept my eye shadow from creasing and kept it in one place so I can't ask for much more

on 7/19/2015 1:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had been using UDPP in Eden which I loved for it's tinted formula, but as I have gotten older I found it too drying. NARS has a great formula, but it only comes in clear. I have dark/discolored lids so a tinted primer is a must. This really helps correct and cover any discoloration or darkness on the lids. I like that this applies smoothly and best of all it isn't drying. This works well with both matte and shimmer eyeshadow shades.

on 7/6/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Deluxe sample from a Sephora Favorites kit. At first, I thought it was just a really dry formula, and it may be, but my bottle was so dry that I had to give up and toss it. Not worth the priming if you're being rough on your delicate eye area to blend it in.

on 5/8/2015 10:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews on this product because it is awesome!! I have used many eyelid primers before (Urban Decay/MAC). The difference here is that this has this awesome creamy texture that basically acts like glue. It will hold on to anything you put on your lid!! My friend didn't understand what the use of an eyelid primer was until I did a demo on my hand. I swatched the primer and put some sheer eyeshadow on top of it. Then swatched it without the primer & the results were undeniable! Love it!

on 2/3/2015 4:15:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have super challenging eyelids for eye makeup - very hooded (similar to Charlotte Rampling at age 50) plus dry and crepey. I have to use a primer under any liner or powder or I end up with the liner on my upper eyelid.

This is not the primer for me. The beige color really increases the look of lid wrinkles and dryness. I'm pale and this color shows up too peachy for the look I'm going for.

on 9/26/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I prefer a natural look and I have dark eye lids (olive skin tones). I am trying to brighten up my eyes. I use the primer with eye shadow dusted on top and it lasts exactly the way I applied it until bed time when I wash it off. The eye shadow I use is Bobbi Brown Ivory. Oh and also I am using Smashbox Full Exposure mascara.

I have been using this primer for a couple of months. I have tried two other primers: Too Faced and Urban Decay. This is the best of all. I apply it with a long handled small flat brush - I don't use their applicator. I can control the coverage better with my brush.

Super good product and this is the first time I've ever bought Smashbox cosmetics - I'm impressed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/24/2014 12:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoyed this product! In the past eye lid primers have dried out my eyelids, but this was not the case! It went on very well and was neither thick nor heavy. However I use the product sparingly, after all there is no need to cake on primer! I was worried the colour of the primer would show through, but I did not at all! Also this primer can be used as a good cover up, so it acts as a two in one product!

on 9/6/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It's a good product. It does what it's supposed to- hold your eye make up in place. But I must admit, I don't wear heavy eye-shadow on a regular basis, and mostly just use it to keep my eyeliner in place. I like it. I haven't tried any other eye primers so I can't really compare. I didn't pay a lot of money for it because I got it at Winners, so I have no complaints. It applies with a peachy colour, but that fades after it dries.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 11 by fionaman

Top Rated Smashbox Products


Brow tech

358 reviews
Back to Top