Muji • Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Aralechan on 2/4/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Aralechan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got the travel-sized version which has a pump and cap that goes over it so you don't have to worry about spillage. The formula is on the thicker side for an oil cleanser. It does a great job at removing mascara and rinses cleanly. I got this at the new Muji in Hollywood, CA which is a gorgeous store. Too bad the parking validation is only for an hour because I could spend hours going through all their simple and beautiful items. The only drawback to this cleanser is the price, a little bit too steep to make it a staple. But the travel-sized version is affordable and has great packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loobyloo1 on 1/10/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by loobyloo1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use cleansing oils as the first step in a two step cleansing routine at night. The cleansing oil step is to remove makeup (although not eye-makeup, I prefer to use a dedicated eye makeup remover) before I clean my skin with my Clarisonic Mia with a gentle foaming cleanser.

I came across this oil while shopping in a Muji store just before the holiday, and as I'd run out of my previous cleansing oil, I thought why not? I purchased a sample size bottle.

This oil is thicker than say Shu Uemura's cleansing oil, but it does rinse away very cleanly. My skin seems to like the combination of oils involved and it does a great job of removing my makeup. At $16.50 for a full size bottle I'll definitely purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laizagrace on 1/2/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by laizagrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oil that removes oil ^^ yes! And not only that. It also removes grim and grease from make up and all day skin clogs. I have oily face and I dislike synthetic products. They do smell good but would only contribute more clogs in your face. I've been looking for something simple but effective. Something that will respect my skin's texture.

So this is what I just did when I first tried it last week. I was fully made up that night and I tried this muji cleansing oil. 2 to 3 drops on my palm and genly rubbed it all over my face. It felt funny I was not sure if I did the right thing. By the way I don't understand instruction in Japanese characters so I trusted my gut. ^^ so going back, while I was massaging it all over my face I noticed white stuff forming sud-like properties. I was thinking it could have been the ingredients taking out the oil and dirt. Then I added a bit of water. About 30 seconds of massage I washed my face with water patting it dry with towel.

So here's the catch. I took a cotton ball with my favorite astringent. I wanted to test if the cleasing oil really cleaned my face and took off all makeup and dirt. I expected a lot of dirt but woahhhhh! none! No trace of any dirt, baby!

You're asking if I am buying it again? Yes oh yes! ^^

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellokittybrock on 8/18/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is a cheap and good product to use. It is really dirt cheap and yet it removes makeup well. I think i prefer this over dhc. The down side is, its drying, same like dhc.

I will purchase again if I have the mood to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LenaInJkt on 4/21/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by LenaInJkt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best cleansing oil I've tried so far (and I've tried Shu, Biore, Fancl, Revlon, etc). I like the one for sensitive skin, due to its ingredients, and it's so good I don't even feel the need to try the other versions. Have used this for afternoon/night cleansing (only when I wear makeup) for the past 3 years.
PROs:
- removes everything, even waterproof eyeliners, mascaras, etc
- do not sting eyes!
- emulsify nicely and leaves skin very clean after being washed off (no oily feel/residue)

CONs:
not available in indonesia!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tofusteak on 3/28/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by tofusteak

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Cleansing Oil for sensitive skin. The oil is a bit heavy on the skin, however it does remove eye makeup fairly well although I do have to rub it on my lids and lashes. However, I do believe that baby oil also does the trick. What I do like is the packaging...mine comes in the pump bottle so it isn't messy at all. However, the product is nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chusuyuki on 1/3/2013 3:21:00 AM more reviews by chusuyuki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I've gone through 2 bottles of this (400ml) and really like this. It cost SGD$23 for a 400ml bottle. This used to come with a pump previously, but now, the pump is an additional SGD$3.30.

I'm using the one for normal skin. It's not oily and removes my MU fairly well. I used 2 pumps, spread and massage onto my face, use a small amount of water to emulsify the oil on my face, massage, and thereafter, rinse my face.

One bottle last me about 7-8 months, considering that I used this 1-2x a day.

Affordable cleansing oil. Will buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CemmaW on 6/30/2012 10:52:00 PM more reviews by CemmaW

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Mine is the normal skin one. I haven't tried out the sensitive one but heard that that one's very oily so I think I will skip it.

Back to the topic. I am amazed by this product! And it's so unfair that it's not a highly raved product.

I used to swear by the DHC cleansing oil but I'm converting to Muji now. The DHC one is still good, just that Muji one is just as good and less than half the price.

I need cleansing oil to remove my face makeup. I tried using my beloved Bioderma Sensibio to get rid of my foundation, blush but it somehow didn't work out fine. My skin looked clean and fresh and feel just the same after I remove it with the Bioderma. I didn't have breakout the next day either. But somehow, the next day, my cheeks feels very rough when I touch them(still looked very smooth), a few days later, I noticed I had some dead skin flaking off. This had never happened before so I was kinda worried. Then I switched back to my DHC and everything's back to normal again. Whew!

But with my DHC running out and I'm unwilling to spend that much on a cleansing oil, I decided to give Muji a try and figure if I don't like it as makeup remover, I can always use it as facial wash. Well, let's just say I'm so glad I gave it a go.

It feels like the DHC one, not heavy, emulsifies very well and rinses off easily. I don't get flakey patches the next day not do I get breakouts. That's really all you can ask for in a cleansing oil.

The packing is very chic, like all Muji packaging. At first I was a little worried about the cap. I was afraid that every time I use it I'll get some around the cap area and it gets oily and sticky and basically, disgusting. I've always prefer a pump. But to my relief, nothing like that happened. The cap was well-designed, when you pour the oil out, it goes only into your palm and no messes around the cap. And it shuts well too, very sturdy, no leaking. I'm very impressed.

I got mine for HKD128, that's like roughly USD16.5, and it's 400ml. So real good deal! I'm going back to it when I finished this bottle which is unlikely to happen anytime soon.

I absolutely adore this product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 idiewmil on 6/13/2012 7:05:00 AM more reviews by idiewmil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm using the one for sensitive skin (not sure what's the difference from the normal one) and it's really a no-frills makeup remove.

I use 2 - 3 pumps for my entire face and it removes makeup effectively, although I always double-cleanse with a mild facial wash after that. I always use a separate makeup remover for my eyes, but this does remove whatever I have on my eyes effortlessly, except for some really stubborn Japanese mascara.

It is also really affordable, especially if you compare it to brands like Fancl, DHC and Shu Uemura. I have tried all of them and personally find them to be equally good.

I have also re-purchased many bottles of this (lost count) but I hope Muji doesn't stop producing them!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kennymoron on 3/27/2012 5:18:00 AM more reviews by kennymoron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing. Love it. I'm a regular user of cleansing oil and I already tried several brands such as DHC and Shu Uemura. IMO, this stuff is even better than my favorite DHC deep cleansing oil. I have a normal to oily skin so I bought the Normal version of MUJI Cleansing Oil with blue Japanese letter on the bottle.

The oil is a bit runny, not as thick as DHC Deep Cleasing Oil, it emulsifies and washes off easily. It has a lil bit of citrusy smell and it leaves my skin soft and supple. Unexpectedly this product has an amazing cleansing power. I used my Majolica Majorca mascara that is usually very hard to remove (even with DHC), but with MUJI it's gone in seconds!

Additionally, this cleansing oil is very cheap compared to the other brands, doesn't cause break out to my skin, and I love the packaging.

Currently, this is my HG cleansing oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Muji products

More Cleansers products