Muji • Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Skytenshi on 11/5/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by Skytenshi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at my nearby Muji store because I ran out of my Dermalogica Precleanse.

I am relatively new to the oil cleansing method, and Dermalogica Precleanse was my first cleansing oil.

I must say that I'm impressed with this Muji cleansing oil!

- It removes make up better than Dermalogica.
- It is cheap.
- It comes in a large bottle.
- It is readily available (particularly since I live in Japan).

Dermalogica recommends using the Precleanse morning and night (i.e. Dermalogica doesn't really advertise it as a make up remover). I have also read on the net the pros of using an oil cleanser even in the morning, so I use this Muji cleansing oil twice a day, morning and night, even when I'm not wearing make up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 7/28/2014 12:54:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

New HG cleansing oil! I was running out of DHC Cleansing Oil (which is usually around $30/bottle), so I decided to try Muji's version on a whim. They are both olive oil-based and work exactly the same way, although DHC's version is a darker color and slightly thicker (texture-wise). Best part is, Muji's Cleansing Oil is just as effective but much cheaper, around $16/bottle!

All you need to do is squirt 1-2 pumps of oil on your dry hands and buff / massage the oil all over your dry face until your makeup is fully dissolved. (It takes off waterproof and non-waterproof makeup easily.) Then you just need to rinse everythign off thoroughly with water. Just like DHC's Cleansing Oil, the Muji oil turns a faintly milky color when it mixes with water, which helps alert you if you still have any left oil on your face.

I highly recommend getting your hands on this product if you have a Muji store nearby. It's cheaper and just as effective as the best oil cleansers out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vuvie on 7/27/2014 1:13:00 AM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my HG SKII cleansing oil while away from my country so I bought this. It has the same function and cleanses well. Also a fraction of the price.

But it it drying somehow. So I get little bumps beneath my skin.

Oh well, SKII it is for me then. I was so hoping I can transition to something cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizabethyong on 6/8/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This works great for removing my makeup. Took a lippie off coz I don't quite like the scent. I can live with it tho- its better value compared to my other makeup removing oils.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aralechan on 2/4/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Aralechan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got the travel-sized version which has a pump and cap that goes over it so you don't have to worry about spillage. The formula is on the thicker side for an oil cleanser. It does a great job at removing mascara and rinses cleanly. I got this at the new Muji in Hollywood, CA which is a gorgeous store. Too bad the parking validation is only for an hour because I could spend hours going through all their simple and beautiful items. The only drawback to this cleanser is the price, a little bit too steep to make it a staple. But the travel-sized version is affordable and has great packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loobyloo1 on 1/10/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by loobyloo1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use cleansing oils as the first step in a two step cleansing routine at night. The cleansing oil step is to remove makeup (although not eye-makeup, I prefer to use a dedicated eye makeup remover) before I clean my skin with my Clarisonic Mia with a gentle foaming cleanser.

I came across this oil while shopping in a Muji store just before the holiday, and as I'd run out of my previous cleansing oil, I thought why not? I purchased a sample size bottle.

This oil is thicker than say Shu Uemura's cleansing oil, but it does rinse away very cleanly. My skin seems to like the combination of oils involved and it does a great job of removing my makeup. At $16.50 for a full size bottle I'll definitely purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laizagrace on 1/2/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by laizagrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oil that removes oil ^^ yes! And not only that. It also removes grim and grease from make up and all day skin clogs. I have oily face and I dislike synthetic products. They do smell good but would only contribute more clogs in your face. I've been looking for something simple but effective. Something that will respect my skin's texture.

So this is what I just did when I first tried it last week. I was fully made up that night and I tried this muji cleansing oil. 2 to 3 drops on my palm and genly rubbed it all over my face. It felt funny I was not sure if I did the right thing. By the way I don't understand instruction in Japanese characters so I trusted my gut. ^^ so going back, while I was massaging it all over my face I noticed white stuff forming sud-like properties. I was thinking it could have been the ingredients taking out the oil and dirt. Then I added a bit of water. About 30 seconds of massage I washed my face with water patting it dry with towel.

So here's the catch. I took a cotton ball with my favorite astringent. I wanted to test if the cleasing oil really cleaned my face and took off all makeup and dirt. I expected a lot of dirt but woahhhhh! none! No trace of any dirt, baby!

You're asking if I am buying it again? Yes oh yes! ^^

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellokittybrock on 8/18/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is a cheap and good product to use. It is really dirt cheap and yet it removes makeup well. I think i prefer this over dhc. The down side is, its drying, same like dhc.

I will purchase again if I have the mood to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LenaInJkt on 4/21/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by LenaInJkt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best cleansing oil I've tried so far (and I've tried Shu, Biore, Fancl, Revlon, etc). I like the one for sensitive skin, due to its ingredients, and it's so good I don't even feel the need to try the other versions. Have used this for afternoon/night cleansing (only when I wear makeup) for the past 3 years.
PROs:
- removes everything, even waterproof eyeliners, mascaras, etc
- do not sting eyes!
- emulsify nicely and leaves skin very clean after being washed off (no oily feel/residue)

CONs:
not available in indonesia!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tofusteak on 3/28/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by tofusteak

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Cleansing Oil for sensitive skin. The oil is a bit heavy on the skin, however it does remove eye makeup fairly well although I do have to rub it on my lids and lashes. However, I do believe that baby oil also does the trick. What I do like is the packaging...mine comes in the pump bottle so it isn't messy at all. However, the product is nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Muji products

More Cleansers products