MAC • Lipglass in Desire • Lip Gloss

rated 4.2(65 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 eva23 on 8/22/2012 8:40:00 PM more reviews by eva23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this lipglass. Its has a beautiful plummy burgundy shade and the color is totally buildable. I am paler than NW 15(I mix my foundation with a white foundation) and I don't mind putting this much dark color on my lips. Its all about the taste and style. If you like dark plummy shades I say go for this one. If you tone down the eyes It look so feminine. I like to use this lipglass with my MAC Vino lip pencil

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rachell32480 on 8/7/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by Rachell32480

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

For reference, I'm NW45/NC50/Revlon ColorStay Cappucino with full pigmented lips. I would supposed this color would flatter all shades, but it would be a bit dark on fairer skin tones. I love the color. It has a cranberry color that gives me moderate coverage. It is not as a dramatic lip color for me, because of my deep skin color.

I don't know if I would buy it again. I love the color, but NYX's Garnet is practically a dupe for this color (at least, on my lips, it is) at the fraction of the cost. But NYX wears pretty good, but not as long as MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sage6o4 on 8/21/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by Sage6o4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I found desire to be a very deep, plummy berry/wine colour with just a hint of shimmer, the perfect combo of red and plum. I'm an NC35 and I need to apply this lightly (it's one of those colours that really gets darker the more you apply). I can also only wear this in the fall/winter months because it's just too dark for spring/summer. It is truly a nice berry lipgloss but I can deff see it not working for people who apply too much, who have fair skin or are faint hearted when it comes to their lip colours! Overall a nice shade to have around and as usual, great scent and lasting power courtesy of MAC!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmfuller on 4/12/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by jmfuller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This color is just the right level of drama for my NC30 skin-I could see this being a little bit scary if you're much lighter than that. I like that there's no shimmer with this, it sort of reminds me of the original version of Chanel's Vamp Nail Polish. I took off a lippie because I find with this color, you have to really glop it on to get it to the color in the tube, which I haven't found to be true with other lipglasses, and the consistency is already pretty syrupy. I'm pretty sure I'll repurchase though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MOIx2 on 3/9/2011 3:38:00 PM more reviews by MOIx2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a NC42 with pretty pigmented lips and this color is a nice dark berry color. The lasting power is great and the pigmentation is awesome. No shimmer at all. Great lipglass for all year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mandibulo on 11/4/2010 7:45:00 AM more reviews by Mandibulo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have pale NC25 skin and this looks beautiful on my lips over a deep burgundy lipstick. It's a sheer but buildable dark wine gloss that can be worn on its own for a "bitten lip" effect, or over other colors. The problem with it worn alone is it can set into cracks/fine lines and bleed like crazy (an issue I haven't had with any other lip product), while still looking glossy and shiny, which makes it look like you applied it badly in the first place. That's why I prefer it over dark red/wine/burgundy/berry lipsticks, it just adds that extra bit of glamourous drama. I've read it's not particularly recommended for pale skintones but rather for darker ones where it stands out a little less, but I disagree, I think it looks just gorgeous on fair complexions, giving them that sort of mysterious/vampy look. Would repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uberuninspired on 8/20/2010 1:52:00 AM more reviews by uberuninspired

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i got this from a gal friend who found the colour too dark for her and gave it to me on a whim while we were touching up in the ladies. prob wouldn't suit you if your skin was pale or fair, but on medium skin tones would work well. i'm a big fan of plums and purples and this is no exception. it makes my lips look good - without the need for a liner or anything else. the lovely smell is a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsbookworm on 11/23/2009 9:41:00 PM more reviews by mrsbookworm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Desire is such a beautiful deep wine color. With one coat, this lip glass creates a nice plum color. With more coats, it creates a more vampy look. I love it! I like the lipstick for fall and winter, but switch to the lip glass for the spring and summer months when I want a darker color, but more lightweight coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 captainlindarg on 4/10/2009 2:35:00 PM more reviews by captainlindarg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I believe I bought this from a LiveJournal user selling some of her stash, though I am not quite sure. Upon first receiving it, I will admit I was a bit intimidated by the color. I have fairly large lips, and have always felt that anything too dark or bright makes me look ridiculous. But I was determined to make this lipglass work for me, as I absolutely adored the color.

The first thing I did that worked for me was I would apply it lightly, and blot if necessary. This toned it down quite a bit and I was happy with the results. I will often do this for work or during the day when I don't want a dramatic look. For a night out, I'll wear it full force :D

Like an earlier review said, it does leave a little stain on your lips that looks like you've been "sipping wine." I get compliments on this color even after the gloss has worn off and all that's left is the stain! People will tell me, "I love your lipstick." I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leenie88 on 10/26/2008 11:46:00 PM more reviews by leenie88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this color in a gift set, and I liked this one the least. It looks harsh with my coloring, in my opinion. I am a cool toned blonde, and although I like some dark colors, this over-did it a bit. However, it looks great on my other, who has cool-toned deep olive skin and dark hair (a "winter," if you will). Blotting the gloss does help make this color wearable for me, but it is generally not suited for someone like me. There are much flattering colors out there by MAC for someone who is a "summer," like myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Gloss products