Stila • Runway • Palettes

rated 4.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mulletoftruth on 1/22/2011 12:42:00 PM more reviews by mulletoftruth

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I'm a long-time Stila fan and collector & have bought many of their palettes over the years. To be perfectly honest, very few of them really "work". Most have at least one color that doesn't work with the rest, so the palette is a dud on the whole, even though some colors might be pretty. This is one of those few instances where Stila really hits it out of the park.

I have neutral light skin (I usually wear the 2nd or 3rd lightest color in a foundation range) and grey-ish eyes that can look green or blue depending on what I'm wearing. I can't do makeup that's too heavily cool-colored or too heavily warm - somewhere in between is what works best.

The lightest color in this trio is a nude -- not quite, but almost matte -- that has peachy and pink undertones. It's basically the same color as my bare skin so it works well as an all-over shade to kind of prime the whole lid and highlight the browbone.

The middle shade is a gorgeous coppery color - similar to the color of a well-used penny. It brings out the green in my eyes and is a perfect everyday neutral. It's a bit like Golightly but more understated. It's kinda gold, kinda bronze, but not orange-y, and more cool than warm -- which is hard to find in the bronze/copper range. The two lighter shades work really nicely together for casual makeup days when I want to look put-together but not done-up. It's shimmery, but low-shimmer.

The darkest is a beautiful russet-y brown with purplish undertones. This is another color that I often can't pull off - anything with reddish undertones will make me look ruddy and sick. It's definitely a brown, but really different from any other browns in the Stila range -- I almost want to call it burgundy but that might be overstating the purple undertone. Anyway, it's gorgeous and looks great with the other 2 shades to pull off a more dramatic look and it really makes my eyes pop.

What's great about this palette is that it works for any situation -- toned-down for a barely-there jeans and sweater day, or dressed-up and smoked out for evenings.

Like lots of Stila LE products, these can still be found at various etailers. I got mine at beautycrunch for $15 or so. Great purchase; highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinknplush on 10/12/2010 5:54:00 AM more reviews by pinknplush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this collection! First off the colors in the palette are highly wearable. The lightest pinky kinda nude e/s is super pigmented and very easy to apply. It's shade is somewhat close to Bouquet but more pigmented. I wore this earlier and forgot to apply my eye concealer and it worked great! Did a good job hiding my lid veins :) the middle shimmery-sheer light brown e/s is less pigmented and would be just a good lid highlighter. The darkest plummy deep brown e/s has a matte finish and is a lovely crease or outer-v color. I'm wearing all three today and my hubby likes it a lot! haha The liner is just okay.

Overall if this is not a limited ed palette I'd buy again since the packaging is really elegant and the brooch-like florette is super cute! Can be worn as an accessory!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lemonazo on 5/20/2010 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Lemonazo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It's good and bad. The lightest color is similar to yogurt, but slightly less chalky. The middle color isn't very pigmented, and takes a lot to show up. The dark color is very similar to Nanda Devi, just with a little more warm/red tones. But once blended into everything, you couldn't really tell the difference. Overall, it's alright, good for an everyday look. If I don't want to pull out a bunch of colors and make decisions, then this is nice to have those colors to stick with. But I honestly don't use it much because I have other colors that are so similar. I guess I'm kinda disappointed that the middle color wasn't more pigmented, and the last color wasn't more reddish/purple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 5/5/2010 12:04:00 AM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This is my go to palette for day and night look. These 3 shadows are very very very versatile and works so well with other colors. It comes with a flower that I like to tie on my wrist for an evening look. The taupe shadow in the middle is so unique, I'm trying to find an alternative in case I run out but no luck so far. This palette creates an amazing smokey look that is softer than the regular black smokey and still makes a statement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ketu86 on 4/9/2010 7:27:00 AM more reviews by ketu86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette, the colours are great (I have pale oriental skin, dark brown eyes). I use the palette almost all the time, whether its by itself or mixing with other colours. The eyeshadows have really good pigmentation and blend well. The eyeliner is a bit of a let down though, too soft and gives me panda eyes and if it weren't for the eyeliner I would give it a 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harls321 on 2/1/2010 12:06:00 PM more reviews by harls321

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I love this look. I have dark brown eyes and hair and the colors give a nice brownish wine look. Not too shimmery. I see myself using this palette a lot. The eyeliner is great too. I like to smudge it with the darkest eye shadow shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 niki0315 on 11/26/2009 1:48:00 AM more reviews by niki0315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was surprised that this Runway palette gets a really good review. It is a good one but not too impressive to me. Especially when comparing with the other Stila Barbie love Stila FOXY paint can eyeshadow palette. The Foxy has more shimmer and more pigment than the Runway look. But it is still a good basic everyday use palette. The color works good and easy to makeup beginners. The liner pencil is very pigment and soft. Also I like the leather rose but not yet find the way to use it. (necklace?) The packaging of this eyeshadow was just ok. It does not look that delicate as on the photos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Josie4468 on 10/7/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by Josie4468

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

One of the best palettes I've found. All colors work well and are beautiful, great pigmentation, long lasting, and can be worn year round. Although I've only had it a short time, it's become my fave "go-to" palette. I actually think if I had to choose only one palette to keep, this would be it, and that's saying a WHOLE lot...LOL...and best of all, I got it free when I purchased some Barbie palettes for Christmas gifts :). Finally, the packaging is adorable with the detachable flower, which I have worn as a choker necklace and bracelet. I can't speak to the eyeliner since I gave it to my daughter but she seems happy with it...:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 esque on 9/20/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by esque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Loved this, and was bummed to find that they were giving it away after I bought it for full price!

The lightest colour, pale matte pink, is pretty dupable, MAC's Yogurt comes to mind.

The second - probably one of the most flattering colours . A plummy,bronzy/gold mix, if anyone has seen a dupe for this PLEASE CONTACT ME :)

The darkest is a deep brown, shimmery with copper-red undertones.

They all go very well together.

However, the kajal liner in Smokey Quartz is horrendous. It breaks and smudges, and just snaps when you sharpen it.

Packaging is faux black leather with a mirror. Comes with the small sized kajal liner and a leather rose with tie. Cute, but not really worth the price.

Briefly, pros:
PROS
- the two darker e/s shades
- packaging
- colour combination
- overall quality
- you can't buy the e/s colours otherwise

CONS:
- pretty dupable
- quality is good, but not great
- kajal liner was terrible
- cost
- you can't buy the e/s colours otherwise - if you want to repurchase singly
- the colours aren't named

I find with Stila, the LE e/s palettes aren't as good as their usual range. The quality is still good, but not as good as say, their single pans like Kitten etc.
I find that their dark colours,and the mattes are not as good as their lighter, sparkly ones, such as Oasis and Kitten, for instance. The matte ones and the darker shades, especially the browns, are easily dupable (but then again most shades of brown are!) and the matte ones are a bit crumbly (well, matte shadows are hard to perfect anyway) But yes, given a choice I'd stick with buying the light, shimmery, goldtoned ones that also double as a highlighter and last for ages.

Also what erks me is that they don't name the colours (probably cos they aren't planning to reproduce them) and the very fact in the brackets - that they don't reproduce them and sell them separately!

Lastly: please, if anyone knows a dupe for the middle colour, please leave me a message! I was thinking MAC's Style Snob or possible EL's Cinnamon, but have only seen swatches of them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrz329 on 6/3/2009 7:46:00 PM more reviews by starrz329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this palette. I remember seeing this originally in Sephora but I didn't want to pay that much fro it. I think it was 38 dollars at the time. I forgot about it. Then last week I was in my CCO, looking around and imagine my surprise. I was sooooooooooooooooooo excited. And it was the last one they had. I snatched it up so fast. It was only 8.99!!!! I absolutely love the colors. This palette can be used for day and night. Just depends on ho you apply the color. Very pigmented shadows. Im in love. This is def like one of my faves in my growing collection <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Palettes products