John Frieda • Root Awakening Nourishing Moisture Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* guitarheroine91 on 9/13/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

HOLY COW. This review might be a little premature but I was so thrilled with my hair and the feel of my scalp I HAD to write it.

I used this for the first time today, and just to give you a bit of backstory on my hair, it's coloured a reddish brown, dry at the ends, but also combination dry/oily at the scalp. It itches and I have little flaky things of sebum after using most shampoos. Nature's Gate Tea Tree used to be my HG but after multiple uses the sebum started coming back and my scalp was irritated again. I picked this up on a whim at my local shoppers along with the accompanying conditioner. It was just around $10. It caught my eye because of the eucalyptus and the nourishing properties. Fall and Winter are on their way so I want something moisturizing but not something that will weigh my hair down.

The one thing I am iffy about is the fact there are sulfates in this shampoo. But I have used multiple SLS free shampoos that don't perform half as well as this. This shampoo smells amazing, herbal and minty. It is creamy, but cleanses my hair incredibly deeply, it doesn't feel greasy OR stripped. In fact I could run my fingers through it even before using the conditioner. And for the first time in a long time I've gone a full 12 hours without even once wanting to scratch my scalp.

The packaging is great as well as it ensures you get every bit you pay for, and it looks pretty and inviting. I'll update in a while to see if things change, but for now this shampoo (and the conditioner) are my HG. Hello happy scalp!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PlatinumWaves on 7/12/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by PlatinumWaves

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

So my mom got me a bottle of this shampoo and conditioner a year ago.It smelled nice and minty.It made my hair grow faster and shine.Going to buy some after I run out of keratin smooth from TRESemne.You should always change your shampoo and conditioner instead of always using the same thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinksexyhair on 5/26/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by pinksexyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo. My scalp can get oily but I decided to go with the dry scalp formula because I have dry hair. It gets my hair really clean without drying it out. My favorite thing about this product is that it's peppermint. I love peppermint shampoo's but most of them are too tingly for my liking and give me the chills down my neck. This one is really subtle and doesn't overdo it. I love how it leaves my hair feeling renewed and fresh. I love this with the matching conditioner. Definitely recommend. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tubbyloves on 4/27/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by tubbyloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I originally tried the Root Awakening Strength Restoring shampoo and I loved it! I tried to look for it in drugstores but unfortunately, they changed the packaging and reformulated their products. I could no longer find that one so I opted for this nourishing moisture instead.

I have long straight hair with an oily/dry scalp and dry/damaged ends. My scalp is very sensitive to shampoos and it can get very oily, or very dry.
It is a difficult hair type to work with and many drugstore shampoos leave me disappointed.The Root Awakening line worked surprisingly well for my hair/scalp, I had no allergic reactions to it and I did not experience any buildup.
I cleans my hair reasonably well, however, I do wash my hair everyday. It doesn't dry out my hair and leaves it feeling fresh/clean but still sleek and manageable

The scent is amazing and fresh and it leaves a light scent on the hair after washing. It is a creamy white texture that lathers up really easily. It has pretty good ingredients in it except for the sulfates and the silicone. It is pricier than other drugstore finds but the quality and performance is pretty good.
I don't think that if you had really dry/damaged hair will you find this moisturizing enough. I would recommend this for my normal hair girls!
I like it and will continue to use the one I have now in the shower, and continue using the back up I have stored away. I really would like to go back to the Strength Restoring one though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yummizu on 3/28/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by yummizu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Great Shampoo, smells amazing, is it mint or something in it that makes it so refreshing, after a week of use my hair is super silky and doesn't tangle as much as it used to. This shampoo with matching conditioner adds so much shine, too!
It is quite expensive when you buy both shampoo and conditioner, it can come up to $21, so best time to buy it is when it's on sale in Safeway for about $7-$8.
Packaging is great, allows you to take every drop of the product out.

So yeah, try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chip on 3/14/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by rock_chip

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Average shampoo. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. The mint feeling on the scalp is nice, and it does clean well, but I noticed buildup after 3 or 4 days. I'm using it up as a body wash, so needless to say, I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalaglitzy on 3/12/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by lalaglitzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE the smell. But didn't give my dry hair anymore moisture than when I started using it...not effective but smells delicious so its a love/hate relationship

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zooz13 on 3/10/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by zooz13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVED THIS! cleaned my hair and nourished it just like it said it would. i have long,wavy, and a lot of split ends and this really made my hair feel great. and the smell is great too! but you must use the root awakening nourish conditioner to see results

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsreid55 on 2/8/2013 10:38:00 AM more reviews by mrsreid55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product! I didn't realize how much my other shampoo was weighing down my hair. This cleans my scalp, but also is gentle to my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunkissed127 on 1/15/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by sunkissed127

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product cause i had a very very very dry scalp. After one wash with this shampoo, my hair was so moisturized and my scalp wasn't dry at all! i love this shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Shampoo products