Revlon • ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 2.9(197 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 7/11/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Bought "Top Tomato" and it didn't even pass the hand test. I dotted some on the back of my hand, made sure it was a thin even coat, let it dry for ~5 minutes until it looked thoroughly mattified, and rubbed with a finger. It smeared immediately and a couple more rubs removed all of it.

On reflection I thought maybe this could be because I had sunscreen on the back of my hand, so I cleaned my skin carefully with a baby wipe and tried again. Same result.

I'm looking for something like the Maybelline 24-hour lipcolors, with a less sad color selection. This is not it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Maggieyso on 5/19/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Maggieyso

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has been hit or miss with me. I have 3 shades, 025, 055, and 040. Sorry I don't remember the names. 025 and 055 are decent. They are smooth when they go on but then dry out. But I have found if I really more than once the color piles up around the edges of my lips and looks bad. 040 is the worst lipstick I have ever used. How does it come off so quickly yet stay on only around the edges of my lips so much I have to scrub to get it off?? Also it applies really unevenly. I'll use up the ok shades, but I definitely won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sindoodoo on 5/18/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This was amazing. A tube of Royal Raisin lasted me almost five months, for a few days every week. It goes on smoothly, doesn't dry the lips out, and LASTS ALL DAY. That can't be emphasized enough. It is a little sticky, but if you just leave it for a minute or two after drying, the stickiness won't be a problem. The color itself is also very vibrant and natural-looking, without being too dark (which is difficult to find on my dark skin).

I only wish the applicator was more pointed so that I didn't have to worry about using lipliner to keep myself from "coloring outside the lines" (which can then stain and last if you're not careful about checking application).

I can't wait to try out the other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ultrame on 4/1/2014 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Ultrame

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This goes on smoothly and easily. As it is drying, it is extremely sticky and transfers for a long time. The color is long lasting, but it gets really flaky and gross looking if you don't continue to apply a balm regularly. I don't hate it, the color is nice and almost iridescent, but I probably won't buy it again because I own other products by revlon and others that don't flake and crack and dry, so it's just not sensible to me. I felt like it made my lips look old. Lasting power it does have, in this case however, it's for better or for worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AyaDoll on 3/9/2014 6:14:00 AM more reviews by AyaDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to lipstick. As a uni student I'm always eating out. I can eat very oily foods and still have my lipstick untouched. I used to use the superstay lipcolor by maybelline but it has been discontinued. I'd have to stay revlon does it better. The color is light and not too overpowering for everyday use. I find that it only flakes if I try to layer it on top of another lipstick or try to build the color. I have this in nude, platinum petal and precious pink (my favourite which I just bought today). I don't usual wear pinks as I'm more reds or nude but the colour is quite subtle but still very noticeable. I wouldn't say it lasts 24hrs but it does last all day and night of drinks with only 1 touch up. I would like to add that it does feel sticky but if you touch your lips it's not sticky. It does take a little getting use to because it feels drying but it actually isn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missjjww on 3/6/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by missjjww

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh! I bought this lipstick and found it to be really sticky, also drying and flaky. I bought the colour, 'Brilliant Bordeaux' which is still a lovely colour, but what a shame about the formula! It should just be a normal lipstick!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eadinsmo on 10/7/2013 9:31:00 AM more reviews by eadinsmo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am going to try some of the application tips I've seen here for this product because I LOVE the color. I got Best Bubbly and it's a gorgeous nude on me. I usually like a little more pigmentation, but this looks very polished and professional.

Unfortunately, the way I applied it, it felt so weird after a while that I couldn't stand it. I'm familiar with lip paints and I was OK with letting it sit and dry (for a pretty long time actually). It requires patience, but the long wear you get out of it is the payoff.

Except with this product, it about glued my lips together, even an hour or two after application. I tried putting balm on top, and then the color sort of balled up.

Eh - formulations like this can be fiddly. I think the color is worth a few more attempts!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ClassyNeverTrashy on 9/28/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by ClassyNeverTrashy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not gonna lie, I just bought this today and I cannot describe how ineffably terrible this stuff tastes/smells. I have it in Ultimate Orchid, I always wanted to trya lavender lip and the color is so pretty and unique! It's a bright lavender and it stays and stains so well. Revlon lip products never disappoint me, in all honesty. It is a bit sticky though, but dries fairly quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KellyLee1988 on 7/25/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by KellyLee1988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lipcolor in Miracle Mauve, and I love it so much I'm considering buying a back up just in case they discontinue it (Revlon: DON'T DISCONTINUE!!! PLEASE!!!)

Let me start out by saying that, were I to choose a darker color, I don't know if it would wear as well. This shade is about two shades brighter/warmer/pinker/darker than my lip color, so when it does start to wear off, it does not show.

I do find it drying, but then, I find EVERYTHING drying. I'm one of those people who has multiple lip balms in every room of the house. :D I do wear this with a clear gloss (also by Revlon, I use their Superlustrous gloss in Shine City which I'm not sure they make anymore), which I don't mind one bit- I WANTED a stain, which I could reapply balm/gloss over at will, without having to worry about it. I read the reviews before buying this product and pretty much knew what to expect.

This turned out to be a perfect "everyday" color. I can eat hot wings for lunch and not worry that by the end of my lunch break, I look ridiculous until I can run to the locker room to fix my lipstick. I can eat and drink (which I do carefully out of habit when I'm wearing any sort of lip color) without worry. I reapply gloss when it gets dry (without a mirror even) and don't have to be concerned that it's coming off (and it hardly leaves any stain on the gloss applicator, even!)

It also doesn't bleed at the edges of my lips (I usually wore a tinted balm before and sheesh! If I wasn't careful, by the end of the day I'd have a smudge of tinted balm ALL THE WAY AROUND my lips!!!! This does not happen with this, and since I'm applying a CLEAR gloss on top, I don't need to worry about making a mess of my face if I don't happen to have a mirror available.)

One thing I will say is that the application of a balm or gloss on top of this lipstick does reduce the transfer-resistance and seems to reduce the longevity of it, which stands to reason since most of those products contain oil, and oil is what is typically used to remove longwearing products. If I didn't have the sort of lips that became horribly uncomfortable without being coated in balm/gloss all of the time, this product might well stand up to its (and other reivewers') claims of not wearing off at all after so many hours, but that is not how I wear this lipstick, which likely has an impact on longevity.

All that being said, I apply a dot in the center of each lip, spread it with my finger (like a stain), let it dry (yes, it DOES feel weird) and then apply clear gloss on top. So far I've had to reapply once (only once) in 10 hours' time, with eating and drinking, and I could have gotten away without doing so, but I have OCD and wanted it to be perfect! :) I also was totally NOT careful while eating my greasy Chinese takeout.

At some point I'll probably try a different color (I was eyeing up the darker shades but decided to go with one I didn't already have a close match for in another formula), I'm curious as to how the darker shades wear compared to the lighter ones, but I love, love, LOVE this color!

I also think they may have changed the packaging recently, as mine DOES seem to have the little thing to prevent dispensing too much product, which other reviewers complained about it not having. There's also very little scent to speak of in this, and what IS there, is gone as soon as it dries.

ETA: I love this stuff more and more. Since purchasing this I have to practically force myself to wear anything else. It's just that good. It doesn't dry my lips out, actually, even the odd feeling of wearing this has gone away now, I don't know if I've gotten used to it or what, but it's only a tiny bit sticky and doesn't feel dry or like my lips are coated at all now. I still do prefer to wear a clear gloss over this...but I found it interesting and worth noting that the particular "coated" characteristic had diminished with time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ice222 on 6/21/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Ice222

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I agree with many reviews that say this lip colour is drying, this is a find that really surprised me. At first I was bit put off by the applicator, sticky texture and odd smell, but completely won over when I found out just how fantastic the staying power is! I can eat, drink, and ignore it all day, and at the end of the day I can still see most of the colour. It seems to fade pretty evenly too, so none of that coloured-edge look you can get from other lipsticks fading.

To offset the dryness, I usually apply a lip balm over the top, or a very light layer of balm before applying the colour so that it doesn't prevent the liquid lipstick from fixing. I find the best technique to applying this lipstick is to get as little colour on the brush as possible. Apply a 2 dots of colour, one on the center of each lip, and use the applicator to spread the colour evenly from there. Once on the lip, it does get tacky at first as it dries, I either blot it with a tissue if I can't be bothered waiting or let it dry before applying a balm, but once completely dry, it gives great colour, looks natural andm ost importantly stays on.

I have 2 colours "Stella Sunrise" a red-ish coral with silver shimmer and "Superb Sangria" a dark wine red with gold shimmer. Both are great colours, and i've even had success mixing and wearing the two. They were also very cheap, around $7 NZD (about $5US I think?) and I use them almost every day. or under another lipstick so that when that fades, my lips won't look naked. I'm always on the lookout on these at make-up sales because I'm keen to pick up more colours. They are my favourite lipstick so far, purely because I'm lazy and just LOVE their amazing staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products