Gigi Brazilian Wax

4.2

18 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/20/2015 10:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love this! I bought it (not the kit, just the wax) on ebay for $16 (free worldwide shipping) and I've just used it for the first time this afternoon. I've never gotten a brazilian wax before so that was my first time ever! I've been waxing my armpits for years now (using strip wax) so I thought I could save the embarrassment and money and just do it myself. Yes I can be so brave sometimes. Plus I'm not that hairy down there, I'm pretty much hairless beyond the bikini region so that made it easier I guess.

I can't lie though, it was painful! But bearable. I didn't get a completely smooth result though, I still have bits of hair here and there but I decided to stop because it was getting too painful lol. It was my first time anyway so I still haven't acquired the skills. YET.

People are commenting about how messy it is but it really isn't that messy! Make sure you twist your applicator around a few times when picking up the wax so you won't get a stringy mess. Also, microwave the whole container for 1 minute before storing it after you're done. That way you can clean up, melt off and scrape off the wax around the rim of the container with the hot wax before it hardens so that you can reseal and re-screw the cap on! Clean the clumped up wax off your applicator stick too so you don't waste a ton of wax. That's what I did and my container looks good as new!

EDIT/UPDATE:

Took down one lippie because I find that this wax doesn't really do well with finer hairs, so I have to use a combination of sugaring (for finer hairs around bikini line) and this hard wax (for coarser hairs) to do a complete brazilian wax.



on 12/24/2014 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think this hard wax works well for a home kit, especially compared to other kinds of wax products I've used. I've only used it once, but had been getting hard waxes professionally. I used it for my upper lip and not a Brazilian. It says not to microwave longer than a minute all together, but it took me about 2 minutes to melt it all. I may have heated it too long since it was very runny and messy. I had to let it sit for a while so I could at least apply it without wax dripping everywhere. It kind of reminds me of hot glue when it starts cooling because it can get really stringy. It was especially hard to get off my fingers and where it happened to drip in my sink. The Wax Off lotion didn't work very well. It did harden well and removed hair with one try. Total time for the whole process was about 20 minutes. It did not irritate my facial skin or cause breakouts...which is why I prefer hard wax over soft wax. It is a lot easier, gentler, and needs less supplies. I wish there was some kind of soothing product to use afterward, but I can get by. Overall, I am pleased with this product and got near the same results as the salon I go to. I think with more use I will get better.


on 2/24/2014 2:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am defiantly new at DIY Brazilian waxing and I found this kit great for beginners. Here are my recommendations:

1. Have a professional Brazilian wax first so that you can gauge your pain tolerance and if this the route for you. Personally, I had a great experience with my aesthetician, however, I am studying out of town and the town I am in charge way too much!
2. There is defiantly a learning curve and after the 4th time I have used my kit I am getting much more efficient at the process. Therefore, don't give up and you will thank yourself later for saving your money and time.
3. I set the warmer at high and about 20 - 30 minutes the circumference of the wax will be melted and the the centre will be solid. At this time I will set the warmer to low - medium and wait for another 10 - 15 minutes. Afterwards, I come back and use an applicator to test if the wax has a honey consistency and test on my wrist to make sure it's not too hot. Personally, I find placing my warmer and applicators on a chair next to my bed the most comfortable. I lay out 2 - 3 paper towels and I lay on top of that and begin my work! At this time I also turn off my warmer and I am able to complete a Brazilian wax in under 20 minutes and the wax remains the perfect consistency.
4. I don't use the pre depilation oil personally just because I find that an unnecessary step for me. I personally don't see a difference by using it nor taking pain medication.
5. Start waxing away! Remember to never double dip and to never overload your applicator or you will end up dripping the wax and making a mess.
6. I use a magnifying hand held mirror (the ones that are used for eyebrow tweezing) for the hard to reach places.
7. I use 100% argan oil afterward to get any residue wax on fingers or bikini area. After I use a baby wipe to clean up the oil and it also cleans up the residual wax.
8. Finally, I use aloe vera on the bikini area to soothe my skin.

The Gigi Brazillian Wax Kit is a great investment at under $40, which is less expensive than ONE wax at a salon! After my 4th wax I have more than a 2/3 full can, but will requires to purchase more wax applicators (which are not expensive). Additionally, the convenience of waxing at home is incomparable since there's no wasted travel time or aestheticians pushing products on you. Overall, this is a great product for those who want to stay smooth without breaking the bank!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2014 5:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Compared to a polymer-based hot film wax that I also use, the Gigi Brazilian wax gives a much more thorough hair removal result and leaves the skin feeling very soft, smooth and pampered. I also get fewer ingrown hairs with this product.
You absolutely MUST use the pre-epilation oil before applying the wax. If you don't, the wax will stick to the skin and will be extremely difficult and even more painful to remove. This wax is not meant to be used with muslin strips; you apply it generously, flip up the edge to give you a "lip" to pull on, let it set (but not harden) for several seconds and then pull on the lip, holding the skin taut with the other hand. The only time you might want to use a strip is on hard to reach areas, in which case the easiest way is to apply the wax to the strip and then press onto the area to be waxed.
Tip; apply with a spatula against the hairs and then smooth down in the direction of hair growth. This ensures that the hairs are coated all round with the wax, which makes them easier to remove.
The hot film waxes can be applied more thinly, so it sets quickly and can also be more economical to use. I use the hot film when I'm in a hurry, but the Gigi wax is really worth the time and effort for a comfortable treatment with a professional finish. I can get 3-4 waxes out of a can, so it's still hugely cheaper than a salon treatment!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2013 10:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently purchased Gigi Brazilian Wax and I was pleasantly surprised. it took me a while to make a decision on this because of past experience with other waxes for this purpose. If you use the pre-epilation oil from Gigi it makes removal much easier because the wax will adhere to the hair and not the skin. The first time that I did this it took about 45 minutes and like other reviewers, I had to run to the microwave a couple of times in order to reheat it. After I finish the microwaveable bottle, I will buy the metal container and a wax warmer so I don't have to run back and forth to the microwave. It is highly advisable that you follow the directions and make sure the hair is quarter of an inch otherwise removal will be difficult if longer. This particular kit does not have a mirror but I highly recommend a mirror so you can see what you are doing. Overall, I was happy that I did this and I don't know why I waited so long to do this. It is much, much better than shaving. I would not recommend doing this yourself if you are not experienced with waxing otherwise have a professional do it the first few times.


on 10/13/2012 12:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Here we go...

I've spent way too much money on bikini waxes and this has been an excellent alternative. Remember, this is for bikini waxing, I wouldn't/haven't tried it on any other part of my body. I bought mine on Amazon.com for about 40$.

The wax takes about 40 minutes to heat up (I'd take a ibuprofen around when you turn it on) and you can jump in the shower while you wait which makes waxing easier.

HAVE PATIENCE AND TAKE YOUR TIME

I recommend starting from the outside and bottom, going in and up. I didn't use strips with it (even though it is a hardwax) like others have, but could see how it would have the potential of pulling it off easier.
Start small and in an area with fewer hairs to test it, and see how you like the consistency and temperature to pull the wax off.

Use the pre-oil and cooling gel (if you get the pack).

It takes time and patience, but with practice it will get easier and less painful. Took me about an hour to do a bikini plus, but I was amazed with the at-home results. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone who isn't a seasoned waxer or doesn't feel confident they can do this to themselves.

It was relatively painless- but you're still waxing your "area". Good luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2012 1:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have always gone to a salon to get my bikini waxes, I had tried myself a few years ago using several different hard waxes and it was ok, messy at times and lots of residue. First thing I did this time was research all the available brands out there and stumbled upon Gigi right here on MUA. After reading the great reviews I was convinced, I dahsed out to a Sally during my lunch break and embarked on my waxing session last night. It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, definitely less painful than other brands I'd used before. I purchased the strip less hard wax kit, which comes with all the pre and post lotions and gels. Bikini waxes are painful, but if you take advil 1 hour before and follow the instruction, it will make it more bearable.


on 5/20/2012 11:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did careful research before buying this product. I read over the instructions given on these reviews twice before trying it. I have only done my underams so far, but I am amazed!

I bought the Brazilian kit and used all the products in it as directed. I applied the wax and let it cool for about 5-10 seconds. Then I grabbed an edge, held my skin taut and pulled it down quickly, I was in shock that all the hair came out. I just stood there staring at it. It left a few hairs, but I just applied wax over those tiny areas to get the rest. I did all this about 8 hours ago and my underarms are a bit sore, but I forgot to take tylenol and wasn't worried about my pits hurting, anyway. When I go to do my bikini line, I will definitely be buying the numbing spray and taking tylenol.

This is an awesome product and I'm sure it will work just as well on my bikini line as that's what it's really for. I recommend this for any ladies out there who prefer to DIY, like me and will take the time to read directions and advice thoroughly. It's worth it....my pits are silky smooth in a way that can never be achieved with shaving....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 11:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Let me start by saying the last reviewer was using this product completely wrong!!!! It is NOT supposed to be used with muslim strips it is a hard wax and mustbe used in conjuction with a wax warmer suited for this pot of wax. The application should be small areas only...max 22 area and then tested for tackyness before removing. It is meant for coarse hair, hence Brazilian waxing. Skin should have a bit of the Brazilian oil applied to it to help with easier and less painful hair removal. That being said, it is a great wax to use for the entire bikini area because it can be overlapped over the last treated area without over exfoliation...no skin tearing. Any leftover residue can be removed with wax remover. Get educated before using this stuff. Get all the proper pre-treatment products and a good wax warmer.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product did not work for me!!! I was drawn by the reviews on here and youtube, and I've been thinking of waxing for weeks so I gave this a shot. I used muslin strips with this. I only successfully completed 2 areas with no problem. Had to reheat it like every strip because it wouldn't stay at the right consistency I needed. Every other place I put this got STUCK in my hairs and on my skin. I had to spend an hour removing this mess. Not to mention it was painful. The actual act of waxing was tolerable, I give it a 6 out of 10. Results did turn out well for the areas it managed. However it was not worth the pain and anguish I went through trying to remove this wax from my skin. The "Wax Off" bottle did absolutely nothing to help remove it, either. I really wanted this to work for me. Next time I put wax down there, it will be a PROFESSIONAL JOB! I don't care about saving money, this kit was definitely not WORTH saving money for what I went through. I don't plan to use this again anytime soon. This is what I get for penny pinching.


Popular Hair Removal Products


Silk'n Flash&Go
10 Reviews
SensEpil
28 Reviews
Brazilian Wax
18 Reviews

Top Rated Hair Removal

image

Silk'n SensEpil

28 reviews


Back to Top