Simple • Replenishing Rich Moisturiser • Moisturizers

rated 3.2(122 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xpgr1 on 2/20/2015 4:52:00 PM more reviews by xpgr1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I think this is a basic, average moisturizer. I have very sensitive, dry skin due to chronic medical conditions and am always on the lookout for ways to hydrate my skin. I thought that the moisturizing capabilities of this product were average. It didn't really do it for me, but I think that someone with oilier skin would like it. Where it did excel, though, was not irritating my skin ver much (yay!). Almost all products will sting my skin really badly. Even the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream burned my skin like heck, but this didn't. It only stung a little, and that is a win in my book. All in all, I think this is a basic moisturizer without any frills or embellishments. I would recommend this more for oily skin, even if it says "rich".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Torontogirl on 2/18/2015 8:39:00 PM more reviews by Torontogirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Our Targets are shutting down here in Canada, which is disappointing as I love Target, but I digress.... I wanted to take advantage of the sales and saw this moisturizer and I liked the fact it is perfume and fragrance free. I have allergies and perfume in products start them up. It's hard to find moisturizers without strong perfume scents. I have been using it for two weeks now. I apply it just before bed (I use a different kind for daytime use).
So here are my pros and cons:

PROS: Price, Packaging, easy to use, very soothing when applied, makes my face feel silky. Doesn't burn; didn't cause any breakouts or rash.
CONS: Weird smell. Yes it's fragrance free, but it still has a very odd smell. Hard to explain.Plastic maybe? It can be off-putting, but after two weeks I'm getting more used to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yallagabig on 2/16/2015 5:36:00 PM more reviews by yallagabig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this moisturizer. I am on my second bottle. It is, as its name suggests, simple and does its job of moisturizing without any irritating fragrance or dye. I love the texture -- very silky and smooth. I can see how other reviewers say it is "gluey," and that is a good word to describe it, but it's not too bad and I find that it does spread very easily. As other reviewers have commented, it does tingle a little bit upon application. Maybe it's just me, but I actually like the tingling -- it does not feel like a synthetic, menthol tingle. Just kind of invigorating. It brings a nice glow to my skin. This does a nice job of moisturizing without irritating or exacerbating any issues in my sensitive skin. Does not clog pores, not even on my nose. Even though it contains mineral oil, somehow it does not make me greasy and I can wear this during the day without it making me oily. Overall, I really like this moisturizer. I don't think it does anything extraordinary, but it definitely fulfills all of my moisturizer needs without any negative side effects or creating any new problems. Highly recommend and will absolutely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Clover04750 on 1/20/2015 1:45:00 PM more reviews by Clover04750

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product for $5 at Walmart. I normally use Olay active hydrating beauty fluid lotion.

I used this lotion once a day for 3 days. I used Simple Moisturizing facial wash in the shower and applied about two pea-sized drops of the lotion imediately after my shower. It has a lot of liquid, which is opposite of the thick gluey face wash. It smells like cardboard and burns a little after application. The lotion does not flake off. It seems to sting, stiffen, and evaporate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smugflog on 1/2/2015 1:41:00 AM more reviews by smugflog

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product because it was on sale, and I had just ran out of my usual moisturizer. I've been using this for about a month or two now. My first impression of the product was that it smelt like goat cheese. I know it's unscented, so a weird smell is kinda expected, but still. It was a little bit nasty at first, but I actually got used to the smell after a week and now I don't even smell it at all when I apply it.

I actually like it a lot! I don't need a lot to moisturize my whole face. A little bit goes a long way. I have combination skin that leans a bit more to the oily side, and this does a good job of moisturizing my face as well as not making me extremely greasy. I'm also prone to comedogenic breakouts, and this hasn't ever made me break out, so it's a keeper.

I use this product in the mornings and in the evenings right after I wash my face and apply toner. If I'm too lazy to apply an eye cream, I'll put it around my eye area as well. It hasn't ever irritated my eyes. While it's called a "rich moisturizer," it feels really light on my face. It's also very easily absorbed. It's a great product to use under makeup.

This product is a great everyday moisturizer! However, I initially bought this as more of a night time product because I thought it would be a lot richer, as it was advertised. So I wouldn't buy this if you were looking for a night cream. However, as a day cream, it's awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 inthemindsofangels on 1/2/2015 1:23:00 AM more reviews by inthemindsofangels

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a high school student with combination/oily skin. This moisturizer not only quenches my dry areas but leaves my whole face feeling soft, supple, and moisturized. I purchased a travel-size of this along with a 7-pack of wipes and mini cleanser and I wasn't disappointed with any of the products. Simple's Replenishing Rich Moisturizer is just that-- incredibly rich. It does its job and even controls my oil to an extent. I'll definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SpicyOrange on 12/22/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by SpicyOrange

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Has funky smell. Moisturizes great. — unlike it's ultra-light gel relative (which is an HG), this lotion is not totally scentless. It has a funk to it that I hate smelling when I kiss my husband's cheek who also uses it. Both of our faces respond well to it though. Hubby's face is sensitive to perfumes and chemicals and has no prob with this lotion. I will not repurchase so my husband can stop getting a sour face from me when he puts his face near my nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanhal on 12/10/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by shanhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG!!!
I'v been using this lotion for two years now, twice a day. I use the rich moisturizer because i'm in a province that has snow most of the year. It soaks in quickly, and keeps my normal/oily skin balanced and happy. it doesn't break me out, and makes my skin look glowing and even. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ammyy7993 on 12/7/2014 12:13:00 AM more reviews by ammyy7993

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

You know those products that you use once and then say "never again"? Well this is one of those for me. I got this in a sample pack from Walmart, so luckily I'm not wasting much product or money.

First, this moisturizer just sat on my skin! Literally, it has been an hour now and I can still feel it. It's like a layer of glue! I do not feel hydrated or like my skin has been replenished. I have combo skin, and even my dry cheeks aren't soaking this up.

The texture is like a gel/lotion combo, which was a bit unexpected. I thought it would be a thicker cream like Ceravae or something. It also has a weird glue smell. It's great there are any fragrances, but it's distracting. The plus side is it didn't sting my skin (like others have mentioned). But really, I do not see any benefits in using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KayleeC on 9/29/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by KayleeC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently purchased this moisturizer along with the Simple Moisturizing Face Cleanser. I actually wanted the Simple gel moisturizer, but where I was shopping they only had those two Simple products. I was worried about trying this moisturizer at all because my face is generally pretty oily to begin with and I wasn't sure how my skin would react with something that is supposed to be super moisturizing. I bought the product anyway, just because I had already researched the Simple products and read reviews about them. I'm one of those people who reads the reviews of just about every skincare/makeup product I'm interested before I buy it, and I wasn't about to stand around in the skincare isle checking reviews on my phone. So, to my actual review of this product - I found it to be a pretty good moisturizer and it actually isn't anything like I thought it would be. It is moisturizing, but not nearly as moisturizing as I thought it would be based on product description. That being said, it does last all day for me, but maybe that's just because my skin isn't that dry to begin with. It has a watery consistency and a little bit goes a long way, which I appreciate because it will last me that much longer. I know some people have complained about this product stinging their skin and having a weird smell, but I didn't experience either of those issues. My big complaint with this product is that since I have started using it I have seen an incredible increase of blackheads all over my face. I generally always have a few on my nose, but I am now noticing blackheads on my chin and even my cheecks which I have never seen before. Although I do love the fact that this product is moisturizing without over moisturizing and sinks right into my skin upon applying, I am starting to wonder if I need to switch up my products. Blackheads aren't really something I'm willing to deal with no matter how much I like a product. For now I will continue to use this moisturizer until I descover something better, but I don't forsee myself buying this particular Simple product again.

So I wanted to come back and update this, since I suspected it was giving me blackheads and I wanted to switch to something new. I switched to an olay complete moisturizer, a couple of week ago, and I am back to my normal amount of small blackheads on my nose, and the larger blackheads on my cheeks are gone, and the number of blackheads on my chin, and nose, have decreased. With this I would conclude that this moisturizer did in fact cause the extra blackheads. I had honestly wished it was something aside from this moisturizer, because like I stated before I did really like the way this product made my skin feel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Simple products

More Moisturizers products