Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1696 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 5/9/2015 7:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Had a large sample from Sephora. I could've used it for several nights. The sample was included in my last order. I'm VIB Rouge so I order often. As soon as I applied this, I had to wash it off. The smell was awful. Not perfumey or chemical like, just bad. I couldn't wash it off fast enough. Maybe it was the sample but will not buy after that experience.



on 5/7/2015 10:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SUPER LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!

Pro
1 light weight
2 fast and easy to absorb
3 LOVE THE SCENT

Con
Priceyyyyy






on 5/3/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a deluxe sample of this moisturizer and I ended up throwing it out! Though, not before using it for nearly two months. I wish that I had the courage to throw it out sooner! I have normal/combo skin with an oily t-zone. I would put it on twice a day (morning and evening) after my serum. It smelled funny but absorbs fast. Perhaps a little too fast, as my skin still felt dry and tight. And since my skin was still dry, I would apply a little bit more, bit mistake! My skin felt sticky and gross. But if I didn't, then my skin would get really oily trying to rehydrate my skin. I cannot recommend this moisturizer and I'm glad that I got it for free!


on 5/1/2015 2:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The smell, oh the smell... What is that?! It smells like some clinical melted plastic that lingers for hours. I'm not sure if others around me can smell it but I can smell my face the whole morning and it's a little... Overwhelming. The texture is of a smooth glidy slippery substance when you scoop it out of the jar, and when spreading it on the face, it turns into a balmy? sort of thing that takes a while to absorb. Overall I don't know how it works as I'm trying my best to use it up but I always stray to other moisturisers. It has been many months and I think it's time to toss this jar in the bin. Like it's name, it's hope in a jar. Hope, is an expectation, and this one disappoints.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2015 1:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Actual Rating: 2.5/5

I've been using Philosophy's Purity Cleanser, Hope in a Jar Moisturiser, Eye Hope & Hope in a Jar Night for about 3-4 months now.

The whole range worked beautifully for me especially with my Clarisonic Mia 2. But in the past week, everything went topsy-turvy. when I used Hope in a Jar, my skin started tingling and I felt a light burning sensation over, redness, dry patches and even some stinging. I tried to eliminate which particular product is causing it over the week but sadly, it seemed that all of it seemed to cause the irritation. I immediately put away the whole range and did an overhaul of my skincare products.

I don't want to throw it away becuase it was a great product and I'm still going to try to figure out what went wrong but maybe after my skin recovers.


on 4/6/2015 10:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My skin is naturally very dry. I LOVE this stuff. It has a mild pleasant scent (scents don't bother me) and I find it so moisturizing. I can't get enough, I literally apply it to my face morning and night, religiously. Kind of pricey, but I find it to be worth it.


on 4/6/2015 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just tried it now....first impression...: the smell. UGH. disgusting smell. I'd rather smell my own fart than this. It throws my gag reflex a party. Let's see if anything happens to my skin in the morning. Ugh. So glad I only bought a tiny jar of it. Maybe I'll use it as a body lotion or something and then spray on a body mist to mask the scent. Yuck. Price smelled just as bad.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Received the purity made simple cleanser, daily exfoliating wash and hope in a jar as a pre-Christmas gift.

Hope in a jar leaves a sticky residue on my face, and it takes forever to dissipate. As far as moisturizing goes, my skin felt hydrated at first, but eventually felt taut. Another con to this moisturizer, is after I used this for several days, an ingredient in it caused my eyes to slightly sting and water. I experienced the same reaction with purity made simple cleanser. I can't use this anywhere near my eyes. First time I've had a moisturizer irritate my eyes.

This moisturizer isn't a good match for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2015 1:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Philosophy products for a while, and my only regret is that I didn't find Hope in a Jar sooner! The texture of this moisturizer is so light and goes on feeling like nothing, but delivers intense moisture that's perfectly balanced to treat my dry patches while keeping my t-zone at bay. I will probably be using this moisturizer for a while, and I would definitely recommend it!





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 5:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have bought this moisturizer over an half ago, since I needed something that was hydrating enough but not leaving a sticky feeling behind or would take too long to be sucked into my skin.. It did do the last two things that I was looking for, however at some point I didn't feel it hydrated my skin enough and the smell of the moisturizer wasn't really my fave lol. Therefore I do not think I would buy it again.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top