La Prairie • Cellular Treatment Gold Illusion Line Filler • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JIGSAW79 on 11/17/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by JIGSAW79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product forced me to write a review, I am an avid reader here at MUA but I don't write too many reviews until I come across products as great as this primer. I don't wear foundation so I was on the lookout for a primer that makes my face appear smoother without the use of foundation, enter La Prairie Gold Illusion. I read the great reviews and took the plunge. $ 200 for one primer - ouch!! But this one will last almost forever, I only need very little amount to make my huge pores smooth away. I am in love with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dierregi on 11/11/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by dierregi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Among the primers I tried, this one is by far the best one. I also use Benefit primers and pore concealers, but none provides the glow of this product. I also tried Smashbox, which I did not like at all and cannot compare with Gold Illusion at any level.

In fact, I used first Rose Illusion, which is just as good, except for the extra radiance that the "gold" version provides. I like to use this product in winter, on top of the moisturizer and before foundation, because it provides a thin, extra layer of protection against cold weather and dehydration.

A little goes a very long way, so even if it is expensive I will continue to use it. It can also be used on its own, without foundation and you still get an extra glow without greasiness. Excellent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tina60 on 2/2/2013 9:09:00 AM more reviews by tina60

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this duty free after reading reviews, however for me isn't really worth the money although quite a nice product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 10/26/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this about 10 months ago, never used it until lately. It doesn't fill any lines, leave this task to the fdn. Although it has gold speckles, it does not show up glittery. What I love is the moisturizing effect a small dab gives me. The skin is comfortable without any tight feeling an hour later. If possible, give it a little time to sink in before the fdn routine.
For $200 a jar, I doubt if I will give in to that.
EDIT : I gave in & bought a jar, no regret.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 celkin on 10/14/2010 8:21:00 PM more reviews by celkin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have raised my rating to a 4 - and it verges on a 5.
This primer is worth the money for one reason (for me) - it is the only product I have used that truly minimises pores - in an extreme way. I will repurchase for that reason. Also because I am using it for this purpose I only need to apply it to the areas where I have noticeable pores, therefore it will last a loooong time! I have found a new love for this product as I've started using Estee Lauder Double Wear, which I find exaggerates pores tremendously but has amazing staying power, so I'm combating this by relying on the Gold Illusion primer and I have found a winning combo.
Happy!
I have lowered this again, to a 3 although it erases pores I have found a tm that does this and provides coverage - Chantecaille Just Skin, therefore I don't see the point in forking out $200 for a primer than has silicones and doesn't give me tint.

:(

Wouldn't rebuy now that I've found chantecaille.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawbs1 on 8/27/2010 5:14:00 PM more reviews by strawbs1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This was an impulse purchase at a duty free shop in Amsterdam and I'm SO HAPPY I gave into the impulse. Wow! LOVE IT! Only been using is a week but it's fantastic--gives total youth to this 53 year old's skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monchichi on 4/10/2010 6:33:00 AM more reviews by monchichi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I must confess I like this product very much. I never used primers before... Correction: I never bought primers before. I only used samples (also rose illusion from La Prairie) and I always hated the feel on my skin. Too siliconey, too artifical plastic face. Only Sisley has a non siliconey primer, but I hated that product for other reasons (see review). Saying that this product has no silicon feeling would be a lie, but I realise that its a conditio sine qua non for a primer to have silicons in it. In the jar it looks like completely gold shimmer in a waxy texture. On the skin you get a NATURAL canvas skin which feels nice and (for a primer) weightless. Yeah! I use a long holding foundation above it and I can simply say the result is adorable: a subtle glowing perfect skin for hours and hours... This is a good product but it is too expensive for what it is. Please do not believe that this will erase signs of fatigue or what else. It gives you a nice feeling and adds length on your foundation but it is not a miracle. It's a bonus on your skin care- maquillage routine, not a must have. Nevertheless: I will buy again for its finish!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyInPlaidChic on 3/17/2010 2:47:00 AM more reviews by PrettyInPlaidChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As far as primers are concerned, I'm naturally suspicious. If you need too much correction, then you're taking away from your natural beauty and not enhancing it. That said, I've tried a few, and this, hands down, is the ultimate in primers. For comparison purposes, I've previously tried lesser brands such as Smashbox, Clarins and L'Oreal, but have been disappointed. They all soften the skin, but that's where my experience has ended: lacking. However, with this primer/corrector, what you see is a heavily flecked, deeply shimmering gold product in the jar, yet it has a light texture, and blends to a completely subtle finish. The scent is light, and oddly dries down to something chemical-like. Still, it's not overly bothersome. This, in combination with my EL Futurist foundation in Porcelain is the ultimate in non-dressed, perfectly flawless skin for photographing for publicity and special events. Or, as an alternative, a stunning base for a layer of Givenchy's pressed powder. Does it truly fill in lines?. Response: Is the Moon green?. Rather, it plumps and blurs them. A fantastic skin conditioner and treat, worn alone, too. Just a few drops, and you're as good as you're going to get-comfortable and pampered within your own skin. Luscious. If I had a Lonely Planet version of a Skin Guide, this would be its headlining product. No question on that. Yes, it's expensive, but an investment, and a cult favorite, kinda like daytime equivalent to "Midnight Secret".

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 webacat on 12/15/2009 9:52:00 AM more reviews by webacat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I tried it at a La Prairie event and it was great -- gave my skin a smooth texture, reduced the appearance of small scars and even moisturized a bit (I get flaky around my chin). I bought it and it's been great ever since.

Here was an unexpected test: one night I went to the pizza shop and caught myself in the mirror and I thought "ew!" my skin appeared mottled and just not nice. So, the next time I was going to the same pizza shop, I applied my Gold Illusion Line Filler and, lo, I looked fine in their mirror -- natural, but smooth and even. All this from just a dab of Gold Illusion. Yes, it does reduce light nose-cheek area redness. (LP counter lady showed me that applying their powder on top of Gold Illusion further decreases redness.)

The price is not bad compared to other LP products, and it does give nice results immediately. I told the counter lady if it had SPF in it, it would be the perfect product.

(Next year I might even buy their very pricey gold serum thingie. I love LP products, but have to take it easy for the sake of my pocketbook. )

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ncgal on 9/15/2009 11:35:00 AM more reviews by ncgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

If you're over 40, just go buy this. This is the perfect primer if you're a little dry and loosing color in your skin. Don't let the gold appearance fool you. Used correctly (sparingly) no glitter or garish gold appers - only evenly toned skin ready for makeup (or not). I've had no breakouts, oiliness, etc. from this. Just a smooth velvety base that I absolutely adore.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Prairie products

More Primer/ Corrector products