CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(515 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MadameButterfly on 11/9/2014 5:00:00 AM more reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- sanitary pump bottle
- large amount of product for low cost
- unscented
- very gentle on sensitive skin
- hydrates dry skin (my skin gets so dry in the winter that it hurts-- this product is gentle and cleans my skin without causing me pain)
- leaves skin feeling smooth and soft

Cons:
- it will probably not remove all of your makeup if you are wearing a lot of it

Clearly a 5 lippie product. A must have for those who suffer from dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Scarlet39 on 11/4/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Scarlet39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This cleanser has replaced Cetaphil as my "go to" gentle cleanser. It's hydrating (although you will still need a moisturizer afterwards), and it rinses off really well. One thing that it does not do well is remove eyemakeup: you will definitely need to use a makeup remover to get off all the last traces of mascara and liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 omgsushi505 on 11/4/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by omgsushi505

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Ehh..
I have very dry skin so I wanted to try this. It isn't really effective at removing anything. I had more dry patches on my face after using this, and it doesn't remove makeup, so I bought an oil cleanser to use along with this. (Garnier oil cleanser is fantastic for cleansing and removing makeup). After realizing that the oil cleanser did more than this did, I stopped using this. This isn't very effective for dry skin and doesn't remove makeup. I would instead recommend the oil cleanser from garnier, it is cheaper than this and much more effective!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahgorn on 10/21/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by sarahgorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This cleanser has seen me through the best and worst of times--clear skin, okay-looking skin, bad acne, drying acne treatments, Accutane, you name it. I'm a big CeraVe fan in general (except for the Foaming Cleanser---ick) and I've used this for several years now and have no plans to switch. I use this every morning and sometimes at night, if I have on no or barely any makeup. This is NOT meant to remove makeup. I like this because it is moisturizing, but not greasy. It rinses clean and doesn't leave a film on my face. This isn't as runny as Cetaphil and I like it a lot better. No fragrance to bother those of you with sensitive skin. It's about $12 but you can always find it on sale and/or print coupons from CeraVe's website.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessicarwx on 10/19/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by jessicarwx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice gentle cleanser. I'm not really a fan of gentle cleansers because I feel like they don't do anything, but I wanted to start using one in my skin care regime to give my skin a well deserved break. I definitely prefer this brand to Cetaphil. The gentle skin cleanser by Cetaphil is too thin for me and I like my cleansers to have more consistency to them. Some people said they feel like a film is left on their skin after rinsing but I don't have that problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 9/24/2014 9:24:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm happy I purchased this with Fall and the colder days to come. I have combination skin so with Winter my skin gets so dry. I love washing my face with this! I feel like it puts down a protective barrier on my skin. First this is more a cleansing lotion for dry skin so it will not lather. I always remove my eye makeup 1st with remover or a foam cleanser. Then I use a few pumps and massage my skin with this. If you have really dry skin it's fantastic because I use a lot of chemical exfoliation and this helps me from peeling. Also when you rinse you may think it's not clean because it's not squeaky which, is really stripping your skin of its natural oils. That causes more oil because the skin has to work to replace what is lost.

With this cleanser I do not have that worry because it balances my skin. My skin feels soft and supple and my serums and moisturizers go on so well. I do use the CeraVe Eye Cream and PM lotion. My sister snatched my A.M moisturizer.;) So for me CeraVe products work very well for my skin. I even use the big tub for my body and during the cold months it's amazing! So for me my skin tolerates their products very well. I love the Ceramides and Niacinamide. This product has not broke me out either and I am totally acne prone. This is also an excellent cleanser if you use Retinoids or anything drying. Recently I have been using 8% Salicylic acid serum, and with this cleanser I have had no peeling.

This is such a nice gentle cleanser that would not do well IMHO with oily skin. Because it puts that protective barrier down I could see myself in the summer when I'm oily not liking this. I would use the one for oily skin then. For winter though this is an amazing product! It gently cleanses, does not strip, and gives the skin moisture and helps repair the natural skin barrier. All while not breaking me out:) I would say to use a separate eye mu remover 1st but after either with my Clarisonic or hands my skin feels so fresh and hydrated. If your skin is on the dry side this is a wonderful cleanser to try.

I would totally repurchase this again when I run out. Or always in the winter that's for sure because you get a good amount for the moola. I love how this makes my skin feel and how gentle it is without breaking me out. I am very happy with this product! Recommended!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aemccall81 on 9/11/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by aemccall81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lotion. A crappy warred down lotion. Doesn't lather at all, doesn't remove makeup at all. Doesn't rinse off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 englande on 8/29/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wish this didn't come in such a huge bottle because it isn't working for me. I have somewhat dry skin and was told a hydrating, gentle cleanser is the way to go. I was getting rough skin with lots of those little annoying comedones (really small fleshy bumps). My face never felt clean afterwards or smooth. Although it did very well at moisturizing right afterwards, my skin was more dry than using previous cleansers. Larger under the skin pimples started appearing one at a time. After a couple weeks of use, it never looked or felt as though it was helping fight acne. I quit using after a large pimple had appeared the morning after my 2nd attempt at reviving this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ginjababy on 8/20/2014 7:05:00 AM more reviews by ginjababy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I read it was gentle and non-drying, so ideal to use with retin-a. I had to make sure I didn't buy lotion by mistake because that's what this felt like. I used it for a week with no breakouts, but never felt like my face was really clean. You'd think the lotiony texture would mean that it could possibly remove eye makeup, but nope. Fail there too. I spent $13 on this and didn't want to waste it, so it has now been repurposed as a shaving cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaqi16 on 8/11/2014 2:34:00 AM more reviews by jaqi16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It doesn’t leave a residue behind, seems to clean well, doesn’t foam. I use after pre-cleansing at night and alone in the AM. Also, this doesn’t burn or sting my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products