CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(510 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jennychurro on 9/18/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by jennychurro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I first started using CeraVe, I loved it. Before this cleanser, I have been using salicylic acid cleansers (Alba Acnedote, Burt's Bees Acne Cleanser) to help control minor breakouts and to help unclog those stubbon under-skin comeodones. My skin is far from perfect and I have been trying to find a cleanser that will clean my skin without stripping it entirely of all its moisture. I have been struggling with oily yet dry, scaly skin due to my overzealous use of acne products (cleansers, creams, treatments, the works!) during my teenage years. Oh, if I could go back in time I would tell myself to not blast the life out of my skin!

I stumbled upon CeraVe Hydrating cleanser when I was researching cleansers that claimed to clean but not dry out skin. A non-stripping cleanser is essential to me because I hate the feeling of moisturizer on my oily skin. Plus, mositurizers tend to give me clogged pores which drive me crazy because the texture of my skin looks uneven and rough. CeraVe was my miracle cleanser because for the first time in years, my skin didn't feel tight after washing! Fine lines around my eyes and on my forehead were noticeably diminshed and I couldn't get over how great my skin felt. Upon washing, it was soft, supple, and moisturized. I thought I had found the holiest of all holy grail cleansers! The scaly feeling on my cheeks also improved and I was happy to see that my skin looked less like alligator skin.

A few months later, my love affair with this cleanser slowy waned. I began to notice that more blackheads were accumulating on my nose and that I started to get clogged pores on my forehead. This worried me because my forehead has been pretty much clear and I didn't really have an issue on that area of my face post high school. You know how sometimes you feel a bump on your skin and when you pick at it a comedone comes out? I was noticed that I had more of these bumps on my face than ususal, but I didn't want to believe that it was due to this cleanser. Even with the increased clogged pores, I was unwilling to give up on CeraVe because I liked how moisturized my skin felt after washing. What ultimately made me switch cleansers was the buring sensation I got a few months into using this product. This was strange to me because I have been using CeraVe for about six months (maybe longer) and I never noticed a burning sensation when I applied the cleanser onto my face. One night, I was rinsing my face as usual with water and when it came time to apply the cleanser, I noticed a stinging sensation on my face. I thought maybe I exfoliated too much the prior night and I brushed it off. I did notice that my face was a bit redder than usual in the mirror, but it wasn't anything major that would make me toss the cleanser. After a few more tries, I noticed the stinging became more apparent, and my face became more and more splotchy. Also, my jaw line area started to get really bad clogged pores, and at that point, I called it quits. I switched to the CeraVe foaming cleanser, and I'll save my comments on that for my review.

In summary, my initial experience with CeraVe hyrating cleanser was good, but over the long term, it just wasn't right for my skin type. I would recommend this cleanser to people with normal, dry, or sensitive skin because it is a truly excellent gentle cleanser for these skin types. For oily skinned gals like me, it is a hit or miss depending on your degree of oilyness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aemccall81 on 9/11/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by aemccall81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lotion. A crappy warred down lotion. Doesn't lather at all, doesn't remove makeup at all. Doesn't rinse off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 englande on 8/29/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wish this didn't come in such a huge bottle because it isn't working for me. I have somewhat dry skin and was told a hydrating, gentle cleanser is the way to go. I was getting rough skin with lots of those little annoying comedones (really small fleshy bumps). My face never felt clean afterwards or smooth. Although it did very well at moisturizing right afterwards, my skin was more dry than using previous cleansers. Larger under the skin pimples started appearing one at a time. After a couple weeks of use, it never looked or felt as though it was helping fight acne. I quit using after a large pimple had appeared the morning after my 2nd attempt at reviving this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ginjababy on 8/20/2014 7:05:00 AM more reviews by ginjababy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I read it was gentle and non-drying, so ideal to use with retin-a. I had to make sure I didn't buy lotion by mistake because that's what this felt like. I used it for a week with no breakouts, but never felt like my face was really clean. You'd think the lotiony texture would mean that it could possibly remove eye makeup, but nope. Fail there too. I spent $13 on this and didn't want to waste it, so it has now been repurposed as a shaving cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaqi16 on 8/11/2014 2:34:00 AM more reviews by jaqi16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It doesn’t leave a residue behind, seems to clean well, doesn’t foam. I use after pre-cleansing at night and alone in the AM. Also, this doesn’t burn or sting my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paine724 on 8/9/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the BEST cleanser I have ever used! It's almost like applying a lotion to your face and cleansing your face with it. This cleanser was absolutely designed for dry skin and I don't think those with oily skin would really enjoy this cleanser. Also, if you want to use this to remove your makeup you may need to use a greater amount than you normally do. I find that this cleanser works best with the clarisonic and leaves the skin clean and hydrated and very soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SDSok on 8/1/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by SDSok

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this product for about a year in combination with various prescriptions. I have combo very acne prone skin and my dermatologist recommended this to me. I love how it leaves me feeling so moisturized, however for many months I found it didn't adequately cleanse my face. My pores felt sort of clogged and I continued to break out. Note: I live in NYC so theres TONS of pollution, and my breakouts are probably not attributable solely to this (I've been on klaron, epiduo, clindamycin, the works), but recently I've discovered a LIFE SAVER. Every night I wash my face with this, but I use a gentle wash cloth. It leaves my face soft and glowing and clean! Sometimes my pores look a tad large, but that's also attributable to my current prescription (altavera at night and atralin in the morning). In the morning I wash without the cloth, and both day and night I use cerave PM moisturizer. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FeralFairy on 7/31/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by FeralFairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive acne rosacea,seb dermy,dermatitus , dry skin and this cleanser works very well for me. Easy to use gets off my make up when I wipe my face with this cleanser and a cotton ball first and then wash normally with it again to remove everything. Ummm its hydrating does not cause any flares just simple and great . My mom even uses it to and loves how hydrating and gentle it is

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 7/28/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

How I wanted to love this cleanser! I've liked CeraVe's PM Moisturizer so much that I'm on my 4th bottle. I have slightly dry, sensitive skin and don't want to spend beaucoup bucks on pricey cleansing oils and creams that I've used in the past to melt away makeup without stripping. So, I thought I'd try this cleanser.

What a disappointment! Like many reviewers have said, this cleanser doesn't remove makeup AT ALL -- not even slightly did it remove my makeup, and I wear only tinted moisturizer, bronzer and mascara! It has an unappealing slimey texture and, for some reason, it made my face tingle (which I didn't like given that CeraVe is for sensitive/sensitized skin)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yatnil on 7/26/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by yatnil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I absolutely hated this product. I have dry skin and am not acne prone but this was a nightmare. My skin had a film after using it and I have never broken out so badly in my life. It's thick like lotion which I expected to like but I couldn't because of how terrible it was. It couldn't remove my makeup (and I don't even wear waterproof) and I had to use a makeup wipe and then cleanse again with another cleanser. I tried it for a few days hoping it would get better but it never did. Truthfully, I threw the bottle away because I wouldn't even give it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products