Amouage • Ubar • Fragrances

rated 4.0(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 12/28/2011 4:14:00 PM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Enormous, huge floriental that I was driven to think - at the firs notes - it was a chypre. Indeed the chypre notes (a green vetiver/ sandalwood oakmoss accord) are there but they wander, they come and go. Ubar is indeed a huge floral, done with high quality materials and there is no way it will go unnoticed - and you with it.
This is not a frag for the shy ones. Indeed it requires a huge personality or it will wear you and swallow you in an instant!
I get a huge lot of roses here and little to no Lily of the Valley (it is in the notes, though); jasmine is also there and there a pungent note of lemon, very zesty and unusual in the heart notes of a perfume. The base is the best part, with a nice and smooth sandalwood and a tad of vanilla, and of course frankincense (all the Amouages have that note). This is what will last on your skin for hours, and it's quite pleasant as this base is not your typical amber/styrax/vanilla base, it's way fresher and uplifting.
As I said, this is a potion to handle with care. I like it but there is not way I am gonna buy it, seen the exhorbitant price tag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elaborate on 9/5/2011 9:28:00 AM more reviews by elaborate

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Tester insert says: "Echoes of Bergamot and Lily of the Valley complement the majestic damascene rose with the eternal presence of sandalwood."

Opens up with rose - dried rose petals locked in a cupboard for too long, taken up the smell of the cupboard.

Then a blast of tangerine / orange, a bit of zest but the orange juice is warm and spiked with cloves and cinnamon. You might think - mulled wine? But no, not quite there yet.

In the background you can see a bottle of drown Chanel No. 5 (there's a bundle of basenotes often used in Amouage scents that reminds people of No. 5) doused in the aforementioned orange juice, now after being left on the stove on low heat for several hours is a bit dried up and getting stickier and stickier.

Drydown a few hours later is like Agent Provocateur - rose and saffron - twice, thrice times as big. Really strong scent.

Not a fan. Find it confused and non coherent. Would have been 2.5 if they allowed me. Leaning more towards 2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amlang on 8/24/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by amlang

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Huge rich floriental. Opens with very strong rose. Dust and spices in the background—more like fenugreek than cinnamon. Eventually settles down into something like bittersweet chocolate.

Lovely ingredients, talented blending, etc. I am impressed with the quality and the artistry. But this is a big perfume. If I buy an Amouage, it more likely will be Lyric. Wearing Ubar, I felt like a nine-year-old driving a Rolls Royce.

Enormous sillage, tenacious beyond belief.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyc01 on 4/26/2011 5:41:00 PM more reviews by hollyc01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Read all the reviews here and I second them all. Tell me, why oh why did most decently priced perfumes smell something like the Amouage line 20+ years ago? It is sad that good perfume now costs so much more than most people can afford, No wonder there are so many "scent phobes" out there now. All the Amouage smell like they are made of top quality NATURAL ingredients, they never have that "off chemical ping" that can make me nervous I'm poisoning myself. Ubar is fabulous, luxe, rich, sensual and somehow serious. I'm going to own a bottle shortly. Another reviewer here listed Ciel as "department store" fragrance. Well, I suppose it isn't terribly original, but it is unique in its execution and quality of ingredients and is therefore very beautiful and worth owning. I have it and find it most suitable for the summer when I'm looking for a pretty white floral that just gets nicer and nicer and nicer over the many hours it lasts. Same for Reflection even tho Turin reviled them both, he's not always right, after all he gave Bulgari Black 5 stars . . . .hideous. A great way to try the Amouage line is with the 5 sample 2 ml spray set. The Perfume Shoppe in Arizona and Vancouver carries them and the owner, Naz, will give you the samples you ask for if at all possible. Everyone should try these to see what perfume should really be.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenVanPattersonPatton on 1/11/2011 2:10:00 PM more reviews by HelenVanPattersonPatton

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I read over some of the previous reviews and noticed the thoughts about Ubar are similar to mine. I, too, find Ubar to be in the 24, Fabourg realm--and I prefer Ubar. When I first spritzed, I was immediately reminded that there can be a line at which a fragrance crosses from elegant to stuffy. I thought we (Ubar and I) were crossing it. Instead of any citrus or violet, the beginning is as dry as Ms. Charlotte Bartlett. But--like with Ms. Bartlett--there is something underneath that likes a good bit of dirt and a little scandal. As Ubar dries down, it continues to be quite tasteful, though instead of staying "dry" there develops the hint of something animalic underneath a sweet rose. This scent is Ms. Bartlett lost in the streets of Santa Croce with Ms. Lavish; she attempts to maintain a sense of decorum but it's obvious she is enjoying the adventure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 9/14/2010 4:06:00 AM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ubar - what can I say - it's completely it's own personality yet harks back to vintage perfumes like vintage Cabochard by Gres.
A beautiful and dry perfume with a Lily Of The Valley note and civet note that make this a crisp floral oriental with a leather aspect. Vanilla softens the dryness.
It won't appeal to everyone because of the civet and it definitely is not your run of the mill floral. You must sample this first because it's not to everyone's taste or idea of a floral perfume even though it IS big .Lasting power is nuclear. Much better to dab this on than spray .
My favorite Amouage . COMPLETELY different from Jubilation 25, Dia and Gold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poisonpill98 on 8/13/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by poisonpill98

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Ah...Ubar! Even though you can cost me an arm and a leg...and probably more than that these days, I love thee beyond words. I won't even comment on the lasting power of the Amouage line (anybody who's tried it knows). But this scent is special. Think of it as a chypre with a floral (rose) top note. The best part is that it seems "organic" to me (like all amouage fragrances do). They don't just sit on top of your skin so you smell like everybody who's using the same fragrance. They actually blend with your skin chemistry so that the end result is unique to YOU.

I just feel lucky that I was able to get a 30ml bottle off of Ebay for about $30. I stare at this bottle everyday and can't bring myself to use it. Afterall, once it's all gone, I don't think I can pony up the $$$ to buy another one. But OMG do I love it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 6/27/2010 9:31:00 AM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think the reviewers have said it all, and I couldn't agree more. Ubar is lush, refined, sumptuous, luxurious, rich, elegant, wonderful! "Like Jubilation 25 with more spice". Yes, I'd agree with that. However, unlike most of the other Amouage perfumes, beautiful though they are, Ubar stands on its own as a scent. It doesn't smell like a luxe version of Chanel (Gold, Dia) or a classic chypre (Jubilation 25) or the current department store fare (Ciel), but rather a distinct fragrance in its own rite. Though I still favor Jubilation 25 (I like the greater emphasis on florals), Ubar is still wonderful. Update: I decided to order the 6-sample spray kit before I made my $200+ decision on Amouage. Am I ever glad I did! Sprayed, Ubar is VERY strong. Though still beautiful, be wary if you have a small, dab on vial that it may not convey what a BIG floriental Ubar is. I am undecided now between Jubilation 25 and Dia (much prettier in the spray version).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 notalike on 6/3/2010 6:26:00 PM more reviews by notalike

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amouage is one the most extravagant and luxurious perfume houses in the world. Therefore, all their perfumes are extremely lush and decadent. Ubar is no exception - rich, exotic floral perfume. The notes are lily-of-the-valley, bergamot, lemon, damascene rose, jasmine, bulgarian rose, sandalwood, civet and vanilla. There's a spicy note to it which makes it quite unique. It's that spiciness that caught my attention. It's very expensive though - however, because their perfumes are so rich and strong you would only use them sparingly. Lasting power is excellent too. Just a gorgeous, gorgeous perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drvogue on 7/31/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Gold, Dia, and Ubar are all similar in vibe: they're all big florals. Ubar is a bit more spicy than the other two, which I really like. For some reason, I get the same feeling with Ubar as I get with Hermes' 24 Faubourg: gorgeous and heavy. I cannot pick out a single flower or a single note. To my nose, it's all expertly blended. It's definitely worth a try if you like big florals, which I do. Again, as with all Amouage scents, the staying power is superb.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Amouage products

More Fragrances products